Tanya A. (CampSunshine) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 30 - Page:
365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
365 TV-Free Activities You Can Do with Your Child
Author: Steve Bennett, Ruth Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/5/2006


This book is filled with wonderful things to do with children!


B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
B is for Burglar (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 2)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 12/3/2006


Another fun adventure with Kinsey Milhone! I am absolutely loving this series!


Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 4


This book provides a chilling look into the struggles of individuals who have been molested. It will keep you guessing who the "bad guy" is throughout the book.


C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
C is for Corpse (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 3)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 166
Review Date: 12/17/2006


Another excellent thriller in the Kinsey Millhone series. Grafton has taken on a new twist with this one and has Kinsey working to solve a mystery for a man who is dead.


Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)
Carved in Bone (Body Farm, Bk 1)
Author: Jefferson Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 9/24/2006


This book was amazing! It's a wonderful mystery/thriller with lots of twists and turns that will keep you guessing. The characters are realistic, complete with human frailties and as well as talents.


Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 8/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This story is a heart-rending tale of a child who is truly unwanted and unloved. Her mother dies soon after her birth, and Mah is labeled as "bad luck." Her father remarries a very mean-spirited woman and does nothing to protect his children from her cruelty.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book is written from the perspective of a teenager with autism. The story is beautiful and draws the reader in to the life of an individual living with autism. Not only do you see events from the child's perspective, but the author brings to life the real problems and struggles of caregivers.


D is for Deadbeat (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 4)
D is for Deadbeat (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 4)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 436
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Another Kinsey Millhone adventure! I loved this one. It's fun getting to know the character better as I work my way through the series.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 6/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I have to admit that this book took me awhile to get into. But, once I did, I couldn't put it down. It was interesting to learn about Chicago in a time so alive with new inventions and exciting events. Add a little murdering on the side, and you've got a good read!


E is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 5)
E is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 5)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Grafton does it again! This book follows Kinsey Millhone on another adventure, but this time Kinsey is doing the work for herself. She is being framed and doesn't know why. But, as always, she finds out and gets her man!


Families Who Laugh ... Last
Review Date: 8/9/2006


This book provided a very humorous look at the life of a large family. Anyone with kids (whether they have one or fifty) should read this in order to remember why they began a family in the first place.


Home to Harmony (Harmony, Bk 1)
Home to Harmony (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Philip Gulley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 8/10/2006


This book gave great insight into the life of a small-town preacher. The characters are fun and engaging and the writing is wonderful!


A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 506
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book will keep you guessing until the end. I love the characters and the realism that Grafton creates. You see the characters as truly human-- complete with weaknesses and flaws.


The Last Juror
The Last Juror
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 6/2/2006


Grisham provides another thriller, this time from a small town setting. Complete with murder, dishonesty, and racial injustice, this book will keep you flipping pages till the very end!


Life's Little Annoyances
Life's Little Annoyances
Author: Ian Urbina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/10/2006


This book was hilarious! The authors definitely delved into the little things in life that are really annoying and the creative ways people have handled them.


Mafia to Mormon: My Conversion Story
Mafia to Mormon: My Conversion Story
Author: Mario Facione
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/10/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is an amazing look at how God can change a person's life. Facione transforms before your eyes from being a hard-core mafia member to joining one of the most conservative religions around!


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2664
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Sad, funny, and full of love. My heart went out to this young girl for all she suffered during her lifetime.


Middlemarch
Middlemarch
Author: George Eliot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/12/2007


I had a hard time with all the description in this one. The main story line was good, but I just wanted Elliot to get to the point!


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Review Date: 6/2/2006


I loved this book! It provided a glimpse into the daily life of individuals in Botswana. Instead of viewing them as foreigners who were much different from me, I began to see them as real people with many similarities as well as differences.


No Place Like Home
No Place Like Home
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 253
Review Date: 6/2/2006


I loved this book! It was a murder mystery without any sex or foul language. It was wonderful. The book is about a young girl who accidently shoots and kills her mother. The girl is sent to live with distant relatives, changes her name, and tries to hide from her past. Then, many years later, her husband unknowingly buys her childhood home. She has hidden her past from him, but now must face it. Strange things begin happening when she returns home.


1 to 20 of 30 - Page: