Reviews - Marian C. (cakrafter)

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
Annulment: The Wedding That Was : How the Church Can Declare a Marriage Null
Review Date: 8/30/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is a must read for every catholic yearning for an understanding into annulments within our catholic church. It was, for me, a great source to learning, coping and dealing with the end of my 20 year marriage.

A must read for every catholic going through the pain of annulment."


Auto Focus: The Murder of Bob Crane
Auto Focus: The Murder of Bob Crane
Author: Robert Graysmith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/24/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Robert Graysmith really captured the essense of this murder in graphic detail. This book left the reader to decide who or what led to the demise of this wonderful human being. Guess it just goes to show you that no matter how much you hold a star on a threshold, you never ever know the underlying secrets behind the facade.

I would rather let my memories of him starring in Hogan's Heroes as his epitome. Whether good or bad, he did not deserve the ending he recieved. Rest in Peace Bob."


A Beautiful Child
A Beautiful Child
Author: Matt Birkbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/10/2008


"This is one story that will have you up till the wee hours. This young girl lived her short life in a living hell---hard to imagine this is true. Harder still to know it still goes on....."


Because You Loved Me
Because You Loved Me
Author: M. William Phelps
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/12/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wow-what a read. True to the style and candor of author M. William Phelps, this book describes in vivid detail the disturbing facts of this very very sad story.

How a young girl could be completely taken in by the charm and charisma of a self centered young man to the point of aiding in the murder of her own mother? I couldn't believe this! It is just too sad and very difficult to comprehend. But it is all true. Even worse? She met him over the Internet."


Cradle of Death: The Chilling Story of a Mother, Multiple Murder, and SIDS
Cradle of Death: The Chilling Story of a Mother, Multiple Murder, and SIDS
Author: John Glatt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/28/2008


"I will not soon forget the impact this book had on me. These 10 little angels were doomed at conception by their own mother. To this day no documentation exists explaining what propelled this woman to destroy her own blood. Chilling--absolutely chilling!"


Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 12)
Cross (Alex Cross, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 9/24/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"His books just keep getting better and better. This one kept me glued. A must read for all Patterson fans."


Darkness, My Old Friend (Hollows, Bk 2)
Darkness, My Old Friend (Hollows, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 7/20/2012
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very deeply plotted and complex story. The characters literally jump off the page and grab your attention. Fascinating plot, well written story, page turner. A complete and utterly surprising ending. WOW!"


Dead Wrong (Joanna Brady, No 12)
Dead Wrong (Joanna Brady, No 12)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 8/12/2007


"If you like some reasonably fast action and stories that do not get hung up on long descriptive passages, you will likely appreciate J. A. Jance."


Death of a Dream (48 Hours Mystery)
Death of a Dream (48 Hours Mystery)
Author: Erin Moriarty, Paul LaRosa
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/4/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a powerful story of which I still cannot figure out Who Done It. Sure they arrested, tried and sentienced someone---but I doubt it was he at all. The sadness is in the loss of a beautiful and talented young girl, seeking fame and success in New York and to have it just as quickly destroyed.

A "Can't Put It Down" book for sure."


Desire Turned Deadly: The True Story of a Beautiful Girl, Her Teenage Sweetheart, and the Love that Ended in Murder
Review Date: 7/21/2009


"It is frightening to see how ones' selfish desire can overshadow their basic human morals. Two young people, with their whole world ahead, decide to murder the girls family in order to fulfill their lust and need for each other. Sad story with a tragic ending for these two."


East of Eden
East of Eden
Author: John Steinbeck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 8/24/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"As gripping today as when I read it in the 50's. An Oprah Book Club selection a few months back as well--good choice Oprah! The movie boasted a brilliant cast all of whom kept me mesmermized till the final scene.
5 Stars!"


Elizabeth
Elizabeth
Author: J. Randy Taraborrelli
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/10/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I knew about her many marriages and affairs, but reading this book helped me to understand more fully the woman behind those beautiful violet eyes. A child driven by a mother who taught her to seek and demand only the best into a woman consumed by self doubt and low self esteem. A thorough writing on a most misunderstand woman."


Fool Me Once
Fool Me Once
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 8/13/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was so enjoyable especially with those cute lil puppies always underfoot. Fern Michaels always delights her readers with her stories which are written without a whole lot of descriptive phrases. Don't miss this wonderful read."


A Good Woman
A Good Woman
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/31/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A well written story with likeable characters, this book was enjoyable and fast paced. Follows a young lady overcoming impossible odds who triumphs at the end. Easy, casual summertime reading at its best by one of the best authors."


History's Greatest Scandals
History's Greatest Scandals
Author: Ed Wright
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 8/19/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Smart, educated and accomplished people, the pillars of our society try to cheat the stystem in the most convoluted and fascinating ways. This book has it all from adultery, perversion to greed theft and deception, scandals that have brought down presidents, clergy and famous people. This book had me riveted as I read of careers destroyed through greed and indescretion. There are 28 scandalous stories of people such as Thomas Jefferson, Catherine the Great, Bill Clinton, Jimmy Swaggart, Roman Polanski, etc. This is a great book which I found at Barnes & Noble which is also the publisher."


If I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister's Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation
Review Date: 11/27/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was not to my liking. Very little background leading up to the murder. Limited information on the character of the persons involved. I got nothing from reading this book and cannot, in all honesty recommend it."


If I Can't Have You, No One Can
If I Can't Have You, No One Can
Author: Don Lasseter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/21/2009


"A triangle turned deadly. Stalked by her ex boyfriend, the girl tragically dies and her new boyfriend is paralyzed for life. This book, writted in graphic detail chronicles the mind of a very disturbed young man."


The Kennedy Curse: Why Tragedy Has Haunted America's First Family for 150 Years
Review Date: 12/9/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I felt sure I had read all the news and gossip surrounding this well known family. But being a Kennedy follower since JFK first appeared on the horizon, I decided to read yet one more story. It begins generations ago, where the beginnings of greed and power first sprouted its ugly head. Through the years the fight for power, being competitive with everyone including your own kin, along with disregard and total disrespect for anybody's feelings except theirs, left me breathless.

They say children suffer the sins of their fathers. I feel it is so with these people.

It may not be a curse but rather coincidence, but it made me wonder. I'm sure it will give you yet another insight into this large and complicated family.

Great book. Does not disappoint."


Kill Me If You Can
Kill Me If You Can
Author: James Patterson, Marshall Karp
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 9/16/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I usually wait for the paperback but this book just drew me to it saying "Buy me, read me."This story by James Patterson had more twists than a pretzel. Simple plot-right? An art student suddenly finds $13 million in diamonds. Simple-yes? Hey, we're dealing with James Patterson here, remember? Enter, The Ghost, the greatest assassin in the world and let the chase begin. This book should fly off my bookshelf before the sun sets."


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5318
Review Date: 9/19/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this in one evening. Couldn't put it down. Beautifully written with compassion and feeling. I was mesmerized from the first page to the dramatic ending. Kim Edwards wrote a truly spectacular novel."


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: