Rhea P. (BeachWaves) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress
Author: Dai Sijie, Ina Rilke (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 683
Review Date: 10/18/2009


Book was interesting because I was in China a couple of years ago and listened to stories of people who went through the "reducation process"


Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Had read before many of the research studies that he reviewed. All research was put together in a very interesting way. "You only get to make a first impression once."


Breathing Lessons
Breathing Lessons
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 1/19/2010


Writer lives in Marin County. You get a flavor of life there.


Building Your Baby's Brain: A Parent's Guide to the First Five Years
Review Date: 12/14/2009


Excellent every day guides to stimulating children in the first five years. I used to be a pediatric nurse.


Change Your Brain, Change Your Life: The Breakthrough Program for Conquering Anxiety, Depression, Obsessiveness, Anger, and Impulsiveness
Review Date: 1/13/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting biochemical discussion of the workings of the brain.


The Chill
The Chill
Author: Ross Macdonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2009


good mystery


The City of Falling Angels
The City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 12/20/2008


Loved the arhcitectural and social history of Venice


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 552
Review Date: 3/24/2009


interesting sociological study


Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 1/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


author from Marin County, CA my hometown so I enjoyed the geographical discussions.


The Grass is Singing (P.S.)
The Grass is Singing (P.S.)
Author: Doris Lessing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have finished the book and thought that the description of a woman going mentally ill was spot on. The relationship between the husband and wife seemed quite real. The cast system of the whites and non whites were painfully written , but interesting. I loved reading the book from a literary point of view but if all of her writings are this morose I am not sure that I want to go on with her. There was an utter lack of joy in the book. AT the end it seemed that she was spiraling into a deep split with reality. She was anticipating her death. As I was reading the book I thought that the ending would be that she and Moses would develop a very positive relationship and that in the end she would beg him to deliver her from her misery by killing her. But then the end seems to be a fulfillment of Mose,s rage of how he been treated by Mary. What did you make of the ending? Am I missing something?


The Innocent Man
The Innocent Man
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 9/8/2010


The journalistic review of a most disturbing injustice of jailing the wrong man for murder was very interesting in the second half. There were so many purposely false steps in the prosecution that after a while I got bored with reading all of the things that went wrong. By far the most interesting part to me was the second half of the book which described the unraveling of the false accusations. The work of the Innocent Victim group of attorneys was breath taking. I also enjoyed the end of the book where the author told what had happened in the mean time to the people in the book. The most shocking was that the prosecuting district attorney in the small town is still in office.


Interpreter of Maladies
Interpreter of Maladies
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 710
Review Date: 12/20/2008


I read this book before traveling to India. It had been suggested by my college travel office. Particularly liked the short story about the newlyweds.


The Killer Inside Me (Crime Masterworks)
The Killer Inside Me (Crime Masterworks)
Author: Jim Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/19/2010


Intreging insite into a sociopath.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5704
Review Date: 12/20/2008


As a result of this book have done more reading about Afghanistan and surrounding countries. Such a difficult political condition


Learning to Speak Alzheimer's : A Groundbreaking Approach for Everyone Dealing with the Disease
Review Date: 3/24/2009


This helped me more than any book on the subject that I have read on how to relate to my 92 year old father with Alzheimers


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3367
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


For some reason had a difficult time getting into the book, never did finish it.


The Measure of a Man
The Measure of a Man
Author: Sidney Poitier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 2


What a remarkable man to have risen above the simple upbringing. His sense of dignity was evident throughout the book.


The Messenger (Gabriel Allon, Bk 6)
The Messenger (Gabriel Allon, Bk 6)
Author: Daniel Silva
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 12/20/2008
Helpful Score: 1


loved the art collectors aspect of book


The Murder Book (Alex Delaware, Bk 16)
The Murder Book (Alex Delaware, Bk 16)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 12/20/2008


I love Jonathan Kellerman. His psychological analysis of his characters is most thought provoking.


My Own Country : A Doctor's Story
My Own Country : A Doctor's Story
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 12/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Abraham is an impassioned man of Indian descent and who grew up in Africa. He became a physician and worked in rural US in the beginning stages of the AIDS epidemic. He is now a professor at Stanford University Medical School, teaching the more relationship side of medicine. He continues to write.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: