Bryan L. (bjlowe) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 104 - Page:
The 13th Apostle
The 13th Apostle
Author: Richard F. Heller, Rachael F. Heller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 7/11/2014
Helpful Score: 3


This is the Heller's first fiction work and they got it right the first time!

In a world of mostly jaded literature they have come up with a genuinely original historical concept. After reading this book you will wonder " what if? ".

I am sure "The 13th Apostle" will raise the ire of some fundamental Christians... but it's entertainment, not dogma.

Good characters, plenty of action, thought-provoking plot, and plenty of twists and mysteries. What more could you want?


2012: The War for Souls
2012: The War for Souls
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 11/28/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is by far the most original, most intriguing 12/21/12 book I have read yet. And I have read several.
Whitley Striber always seems to come up with unique ideas and new ways of looking at things, and "2012" is one of his best efforts yet.
Combine the Myan calender,parallel universes, reptilian invaders, Heaven, Hell and the end of the world. Plop a family, or two parallel families, right down into the middle of it all and you have a winner. I could hardly put this book down!
But be forwarned, "2012" is one of the most convoluted, confusing, aspect-changing, and original books I have ever read. I was lost for the first third of the book, trying to keep up. It is well worth the effort.
If you enjoy this type of book you will love "2012", especially if you are a Whitley fan already. Don't let this one get away!


After Shock
After Shock
Author: Stephen Kyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/24/2013


This is a pretty good look at how the government is always looking for a weapon... from any source. And how wrong it can go.

The theory smacks of Tesla. He had the same basic idea early in the 20th century. Back then, though, we were able to see potential danger in the unknown and realize we might not always be able to control it.

The characters are well developed and easy to identify with. The family dynamics are all too familiar and the plot has enough twists to keep an otherwise straightforward story interesting.

I also enjoyed the Native American and supernatural elements of the book. All in all, a pretty good read.


Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Ancient Shores (Ancient Shores, Bk 1)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 1/19/2016


Yet again, we have found a passage to another world or universe. Granted this is nothing new in Science Fiction, but McDevitt has added one little twist... it belongs to Native Americans.

This is a unique look at what would happen if...

I won't give anything away, but I think this is McDevitt's best work to date. If you enjoy this author's work read this.


Ancients (Event Group Thrillers, Bk 3)
Ancients (Event Group Thrillers, Bk 3)
Author: David Lynn Golemon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/13/2012


The Event Group rides again! This an incredible non stop action romp around the world and through the centuries cumulating in one of the most intense endings ever. Goleman at his very best. Little romance, little real politics, no comments on the state of the world, just action. It does, however, require a pretty robust suspension of disbelief. If you read this one you will have to read "Leviatian" or the one loose end will drive you nuts. These novels are pretty strong stand alone novels, but you should take the time to read them in order to get maximum enjoyment from them.


Antarktos Rising (Origins, Bk 4)
Antarktos Rising (Origins, Bk 4)
Author: Jeremy Robinson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/14/2014


I Love this Book. I am most definitely not a gusher, but... I LOVE THIS BOOK!

I have read a couple of Jeremy Robinson's books and they were good, but "Antarktos Rising" is one of the most original, interesting and unique books I have read in a while.

The whole concept of the book is so far out in left field that you just never see what's coming. The action is non stop. The characters are very well developed. Although the end is a little predictable.

In my opinion, this book elevates Robinson to writing royalty along with Preston, Child, and James Rollins.

If you like escapist literature which really makes you escape you need to read this book! Just be sure and budget plenty of time because it is almost impossible to put down.


Area 51 (Area 51, Bk 1)
Area 51 (Area 51, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Doherty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 12/8/2014


This is my second Area 51 book and I must say these books are entertaining, well written and fun. It's like Strieber crossed with a military genius.

The weaponry is amazing, as is the concept of ongoing interaction with an alien species. The plot is interesting... if a bit fantastic.

The writing is solid and the characters are well developed. There is a bit of tongue-in-cheek involved which makes these books even more fun. I will definitely read the rest of them over time.


Area 7 (Scarecrow, Bk 2)
Area 7 (Scarecrow, Bk 2)
Author: Matthew Reilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 12/18/2015


Reilly is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. His over-the-top action sequences are fast paced and exciting, if a little unbelievable some times. Additionally, there a lot of "happy coincedince" but that just makes the reading more fun.

This book has a great premise, with the heart transmitter,the timers and planted explosives. The characters are mostly old friends from earlier books which continue develope.

I already have the next book which I plan to read very soon


Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Author: Michael Laimo
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/29/2012


If Joseph Waumbaugh met Whitley Striber in a bar and they got falling-down drunk and wrote a novel on cocktail napkins I would expect "Atmosphere" to be the result.
While this is not exactly a bad book, it does leave a hole in your mind when you read it. Starting like a common police novel it slowly morphs into an alien conquest of the planet,albeit a very limited conquest, which apparently encompasses only a few blocks of New York City.
There are several really original ideas, especially testosterone for rocket fuel, but I feel as if they are simply not well written....or particularly well tied together. It's almost like a collection of back stories.
But I'm not really a critic;this is about the most negative review I have ever written. So I would suggest you read it for yourself rather than blindly accept
my opinion.


Bestiary
Bestiary
Author: Robert Masello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/28/2013


Although not advertised as a sequel to "Vigil", several characters are revisited and references to events from "Vigil" are present.

"Bestiary" is a well written and fairly original work. The characters and locales are well developed and the writing is good. There are many interesting scenes.

As a centuries-old Middle Eastern family tries to preserve a group of now-extinct animals, problems seem to come out of the woodwork. How does it end? Truefully, I don't really know.

Despite good writing and original ideas, this books seems to be a cluster of unrelated storis with tenous connections at best. I am still confused as to why it was written. The plot is conspicously missing. Finishing this book is like eating at an upscale restaurant... the food is good but you are still hungry.

Out of respect for Masello's other work, I am giving this book three stars, but it will never be one of my favorites.


Review Date: 1/30/2013


If you are a serious rider who likes to work on your own bike, this book is for you. This new edition covers every aspect of repair/maintenence/adjustment and improvement for practically every type and brand of bike.
The indexing is great, the text is clear and concise and the pictures are clear and relevent.
I have several repair manuals but I like this one best. It is not so techincal as to confuse the casual mechanic yet informative and concise enough to walk you through any repair. There is even a chapter devoted to tools you will need to perform your own work.
The book is used-friendly and a must have if you are going to do your own work. One or two simple repairs made yourself as opposed to taking it to the shop will pay the price of the book.


Black Order (Sigma Force, Bk 3)
Black Order (Sigma Force, Bk 3)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is a pretty standard Rollins adventure in which the Sigma Force and a few hangers-on once again save the world from yet another group of madmen--this time a bunch of left over Nazis.
Of course, there is the obligitory near death of a couple of the heroes who are saved at the last second against all odds and a couple of the secondary characters have to die.
The action is intense and the premise is a little suprising....kind of out of left field. Our heroes, through bad intel, bad luck, or bad planning continuously find themselves in one jam after another and ill-prepared for what they get into, but always succeed by the skin of their teeth and ultimately destroy the bad guys and their plans for world domination.
If you like Rollins, you'll like "Black Order" as Grey, Monk and the gang lead you on yet another world encompassing romp.
One thing though, I thought the mystical Nazi "bell" was a UFO!!


Black Rain (Danielle Laidlaw, Bk 1)
Black Rain (Danielle Laidlaw, Bk 1)
Author: Graham Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/17/2012


"Black Rain" is a pretty straight forward and well written thriller. On a refreshing note, the mission is pretty much a failure but the journey there is interesting and quite original.
The characters are well thought out and complete. There are some unusual aspects incorporating the early Myan culture and artifacts as well as a bit of time travel. And it is all done without forays into string theory or other heady scientific mumbo jumbo.
This is a good engrossing read and I look forward to Graham Brown's third book. ( read the second one first)


Black Sun (Danielle Laidlaw, Bk 2)
Black Sun (Danielle Laidlaw, Bk 2)
Author: Graham Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


"Black Sun" is a good solid thriller with fairly well developed characters and an interesting storyline.

Graham Brown comes up with some original 12/21/12 and end-world ideas and a time travel link to the Myans which kind of attacks you from the rear.

A group of uneasy heroes manage to save the world from magnetic shifts and nuclear war with the help of Myan prophecies and stones from the future.

Of course the good guys win in a mostly feel good ending, except for the loss of one central character. And of course the government handles the whole problem poorly. Our heroes find themselves fighting the US government as well as a couple of groups of bad guys.

It is a good page turning read and an all round good thriller.


The Blood Gospel (Order of the Sanguines, Bk 1)
The Blood Gospel (Order of the Sanguines, Bk 1)
Author: Rebecca Cantrell, James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/21/2014


It was with some trepidation that I started this book. Although James Rollins is one of my favorite authors I didn't know what to expect from a partnership with Rebecca Cantrell. I expected a watered down or romanticized writing style.

Boy, was I wrong! This is one of the best yet from Rollins and I have to believe Ms. Cantrell had something to do with that.

The plot and storyline are original, the characters are deep and believable, and the action is incredible, cover to cover. I mean, vampires working for the catholic church... wow.

I'll say no more because I don't want to give any more away but if you like James Rollins read this book.


Bloodline (Sigma Force, Bk 8)
Bloodline (Sigma Force, Bk 8)
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/6/2013


When it comes to action/adventure books, James Rollins is the man.

Once again, Sigma Force and some of it's uneasy allies are charged with saving the world from The Guild. And once again, they do.

Several loose ends from ealier books are addressed and we get to meet a couple of new characters.

Some might say that all these books are the same, and they are right... they're the same great stuff every time. I love 'em. The good guys win and the earth moves on.


The Book of Summer
The Book of Summer
Author: James F. David
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/3/2014


This book is a departure from David's normal writing. At first, I was tempted to stop reading as this is not my normal reading fare. But I kept reading... and I'm glad I did.

This is a really good book which incorporates elements both new and unexpected.

Love,slavery,adventure,spirituality and revolution are all encompassed in this romp across the planet of America. While parts of this story contain the adventure you have come to expect from James David, other parts are a new and exciting direction.

Take the time to read this book and you will be glad you did. I know I am.


The Bridge
The Bridge
Author: John Skipp, Craig Spector
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/27/2013


Although I have read books by these guys before and enjoyed them I must say this is one of the worst books I have ever read!

No plot, no storyline, no characters. If I could, I would give it negative stars.

At first I wondered why they wasted the time to write it. Now I wonder why I wasted the time to read it.

If someone weren't waiting for it I don't know if I would even list it. Be afraid, be very afraid.


The Cabin in the Woods: The Official Movie Novelization
The Cabin in the Woods: The Official Movie Novelization
Author: Joss Whedon, Tim Lebbon, Drew Goddard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/18/2015


After watching the movie I was confused about a few things. This book is a good read and gives a good bit of clarity to the storyline and the plot.

I did notice a couple of small departures from the screenplay, but nothing significant.

I feel like another watch of the movie is now in order.


City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
City Infernal (City Infernal, Bk 1)
Author: Edward Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 2/9/2015


This was my first book by Edward Lee, and I must say it was a delightful, fun read.

Dante's Inferno meets the 21st century.

This book is original, insightful and just plain fun. The characters are well written and lovable, even the ones from hell.

The story is so far out in left field it actually makes you think a bit. I couldn't put it down. A really enjoyable experience.

I understand there is a sequel. I'm going to order it now.


1 to 20 of 104 - Page: