Brent R. (twomonkeys) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
+Anima, Vol 2
+Anima, Vol 2
Author: Natsumi Mukai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the thicker in the series, but it isn't because the story is longer. Only about half of the book is the story, the other half, are just little short stories about the characters. It was still a lot of fun to read, but just to let you know, that is why this volume is longer than some of the others. I would still recommend it.


A Cedar Cove Christmas
A Cedar Cove Christmas
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 2/20/2009


This is a wonderful story that parallels the nativity tale. It is great to read around the holidays. I do have to say though, that I found the story to be very predictable. Other than that, it was very sweet and endearing. I am just one of those people who prefers stories that are a little more unpredictable.


The Cool Girl's Guide to Knitting
The Cool Girl's Guide to Knitting
Author: Nicki Trench
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/15/2009
Helpful Score: 8


This is a great book if you are just getting started. It has more tips than it does patterns. Don't get me wrong, there are still quite a few basic patterns in this book. It was my first knitting book. So if you are just starting out, and want some fun and helpful tips along with some good and fun first patterns, then this is the book for you!


Cosmo's Aqua Kama Sutra : 25 Sex Positions for the Tub, Shower, Pool, and More
Review Date: 1/17/2010


A book that is full of fun sex positions that have to do with water. The book is even waterproof, just incase it is close by when the action is happening.


The Curse of Doone
The Curse of Doone
Author: Sydney Horler
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/17/2010


A wind has sprung up. It rattled the windowpanes and swept eerily down the long, dark corridors outside her bedroom door. Now, and not for the first time, it seemed to be the voice of a mocking fiend.
Cicely's heart leapt into her mouth as the single candle made grotesque, flickering shadows on the walls. Horror-stricken, she looked towards the door, ready to flee.
But the fear of what hid in wait for her out there made her pause. For Cicely knew that one of the un-dead of Doone Hall could be lurking in the shadows -- ready to kill again, despite the fact that it had been buried with a stake in its heart 200 years ago!


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2417
Review Date: 1/19/2010


I have to say, that I had bought the book before the show came out, but not started reading it. After starting to watch the show, I decided to start the book. I was so glad that I did! Not only was the book good, but it was in my opinion even better than the show True Blood! I highly recomend this book. I am a HUGE Twilight fan, but this series may yet to bee better, and become my fav!


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 8/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Such a wonderful place to escape to. I found myself getting lost in the forgotten garden. Such a magical tale. You truly fall for the characters. Bittersweet at times, but all together such a hope filled story. I can't bear to part with this book, I would rank it in my top five books that I have ever read. I can't wait to read more by Kate. I feel like this is the type of book that you could read over and over, and discover new things each time. Don't let the length put you off, it is so hard to put down, that when you hit page 500, you are sad that it will soon be over.
Also, I love that they included some of Eliza's fairy tales throughout the book, it just made it that much more magical. :)


Illusions (Wings, Bk 3)
Illusions (Wings, Bk 3)
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/11/2011


Let me start by saying that I LOVED the first 2 books in this series. However, this one was a bit of a disappointment to me. I felt like the majority of the book was Laurel going back and forth on which guy was for her.
In my opinion, she doesn't deserve Tam. She has strung him along and hurt him so much, that I really think he deserves someone better.
And then poor David, she breaks up with him, but then still wants to string him along too.
There was a plot line, but it was overshadowed by Laurel's indecisiveness. I really feel like reading this one was a waste of time. Hopefully the next one will be better.


The Man Who Loved Pride and Prejudice: A modern love story with a Jane Austen twist
The Man Who Loved Pride and Prejudice: A modern love story with a Jane Austen twist
Author: Abigail Reynolds
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Such a great story. You will get butterflies as you read this book. You really feel for the characters, you feel their frustrations and their joys. A great journey!


Out and About at the Planetarium (Field Trips)
Out and About at the Planetarium (Field Trips)
Author: Theresa Jarosz Alberti
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/8/2009


This is such a great book! Should be on school library shelves everywhere! Would be a great one to read to your students before going on a field trip, helps them review and know what to look for.


Papillon 1 (Papillon)
Papillon 1 (Papillon)
Author: Miwa Ueda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/9/2010


This is a story about the typical sibling rivalry. Except the popular sister plays dirty. The illustrations were very pretty, but I kept getting so irritated at the popular sister, that I found it hard to enjoy the story that much.


The Photograph
The Photograph
Author: Virginia Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/31/2011


Wow! Such a wonderful story. You fall in love with all of the characters and feel like you know each of them. This story truly sucks you in, and envelops you. It will have you smiling and crying. Such a wonderful journey to go on!


The Reader's Digest Children's Songbook
The Reader's Digest Children's Songbook
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/14/2011


Such an amazing book! This has so many great songs in it. Alot that I remember from my childhood. It even has songs from different cultures. If you have kids, or teach, or just love songs, this is a great collection!


Romantic Hand Knits: 26 Flirtatious Designs That Flatter Your Figure
Review Date: 5/2/2011


This book has beautiful photos, but the patterns are not as pretty. The best one is called Casablanca, and the hats are nice too. Those are really the only nice things that I can say about this book. Most of the designs seem to be out dated. The book itself is very pretty to look at, but the projects are not.


The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/12/2009


A great summer read! Very similar to the movie, but you get more insight on the characters. I found myself trying to figure out which one each of my friends in high school would have been. I am in my early twenites and it brought back great memories of when I was younger and saw my friends more frequently.


TExES PPR w/ CD-ROM (REA) - The Best Test Prep for the TExES (Test Preps)
Review Date: 7/22/2010


Just so everyone knows there is only one practice test for each test level (EC-4, 6-12, etc.) The test that are on the cd are the same ones as the practice test in the book. It just offers you more than one way to take them. This can be nice, since the test is offered both ways in reality. They break down each domain and competency. It also provides a sheet that you can use to enter which questions you got right and which ones you got wrong, on the same sheet you get to see what domain each of those questions falls into, so you know which domains you need to study. I found this very helpful.


Tsubasa: Those with Wings Volume 1
Tsubasa: Those with Wings Volume 1
Author: Natsuki Takaya
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I was pleasantly surprised. This is a very good story. It has adventure and a side of romance. Set in the future, very hope filled story. I could see guys and girls enjoying this story. I can't wait to get volume 2~!


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5133
Review Date: 9/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is amazing! I read the whole series in 5 days. I really did not expect to like it as much as I thought. I fell in love with the story and with the characters. I really don't want to say a ton about the story because I went into, not knowing a lot about the story line. So all the twist and turns made it even more enjoyable to me. Plus harder to put down since I didn't know what was going to happen.

WARNING: This book may cause reading late into the night. One of my friends who I got started on it sent me a text the next day that said, "I am SO mad at you! I was up until 1am reading Twilight." Needless to say she got through the series pretty quick too.


Wake Up, Sleepy Bear
Wake Up, Sleepy Bear
Author: Greg Shaw, Christine Morton-Shaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/12/2009


The illustration's are adorable. The story is simple, but sweet. I still just can't get over how cute the little bunnies are in it!


Wings (Laurel, Bk 1)
Wings (Laurel, Bk 1)
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I was expecting it to be an okay read, but something that I wouldn't want to keep. (Also I had no idea it was a series, I thought it was one book in itself when I picked it up) Boy was I wrong. This is one that will be staying on my shelf. The beginning was a tad slow, but not too bad. Then it gets to the point where you don't want to put it down. I think the only reason it was compared to Twilight is because there are 2 guys who both want the girl, so there can be a Team David and a Team Tamani. The chemistry isn't quite as good as the Twilight saga, but it does get close. I got to the last page, and was on my way to the book store to get the next one!


1 to 20 of 20