Frances H. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Black Silk (Avon Romance)
Black Silk (Avon Romance)
Author: Judith Ivory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 12/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


The author has a gift for describing places and action very vividly


Censored 2004 : The Top 25 Censored Stories (Censored)
Review Date: 7/17/2009


Through a arduous and thoughtful process, Project Censored chooses the top 25 under-reported stories each year. I found these books, well-written, informative, and, frankly, unsettling. But it was all things I needed to know.


Devilish (Malloren, Bk 5)
Devilish (Malloren, Bk 5)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 12/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Jo Beverly gets me every time! I just cannot put her books down and this one was another wonderful trip into the past.


Good Dog, Bad Dog
Good Dog, Bad Dog
Author: Mordecai Siegal, Matthew Margolis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/9/2007


This was the first dog book I every bought. the book taught me a great deal about dogs, and helped me socialize and re-home about 30 dogs so far!


Her Man of Affairs
Her Man of Affairs
Author: Elizabeth Mansfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/8/2011


this is one of my favorite regencies. Elizabeth Mansfield was one of the first to introduce real-life problems and character imperfections into the genre. She did not however subscribe to the idea of any description of intimacy beyond a kiss or two. that her books are still so very entertaining, decades after being written, and without much erotic description, speaks worlds about her talent. I enjoy her characters' predicament and this one and the trials and tribulations they encounter on their way to the happy solution.


Love's Charade
Love's Charade
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/9/2007


Jane Feather draws one into the story with her textural detail and deft character building.


The Magnificent Masquerade
The Magnificent Masquerade
Author: Elizabeth Mansfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/8/2011


Elizabeth Mansfield, in reality Paula Scwartz, English teacher, is at her witty best in this comedy of errors. The characters are engaging and a bit exasperating. Of course, everything turns out fine in the end, but it is an interesting and entertaining journey to that happy eneding.


The Man Who Listens to Horses
The Man Who Listens to Horses
Author: Monty Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/9/2007


This is a life chanign book. Not only will you learn about the spirit of horses, but it teaches a great deal about the spirit of humans. It was a New York Times bestseller and made into a movie--that's how wonderful this true story is.


Silent Clots: Life's Biggest Killers, Lockstep Medicine's Conspiracy to Suppress the Test That Should Be Done in Emergency Rooms Thr
Review Date: 6/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Be careful of the information in this book. Dr. Privatera was sanctioned by the California Medical Board after he prescribed Heparin for a woman in his waiting room. She had a head ache. She died from a massive intracranial hemorrhage. The California Medical Board site states the following:

" * Heparin is not a rational treatment for a headache.
* In standard medical practice, heparin should not be prescribed without testing the patient's clotting status, which Privitera did not do.
* The test Privitera usedcommonly referred to as live blood cell analysisis not a valid test of clotting status.
* The amount of heparin he prescribed was excessive."


1 to 9 of 9