Alexis T. (Kyrissaean) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 165 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 6/22/2007
Helpful Score: 16


This was great! It was fast and fun, and I was really annoyed with myself for starting it at bedtime so I couldn't keep reading it all the way through. I'm not a big fan of mysteries, but this isn't just a mystery. It's got a lot of other things as well - a bit of romantic tension, suspense, humor, and Abby's pyschic abilities, which really make this story. There's a matter-of-factness to Abby's talents that made me accept them right away as a reader. Her talents also sound like a lot more fun than psychic abilities usually do. Hers are some of the first I've heard about that I wouldn't mind having myself! I wonder if she always knows the plots of books and movies before they're over....now that I wouldn't like. But anyway, very good book, and I'm definitely interested in continuing on with the series and finding out what happens to all the characters long-term!

Oh, and it says in the back that the author "drew from her career as a gifted clairvoyant and police psychic to create the character of Abigail Cooper." Hmmmmm.... Very interesting!


Alex Jordan: Architect of his own dream
Alex Jordan: Architect of his own dream
Author: Doug Moe
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


The Authorized Biography of Alex Jordan.

When Alex first started building the House On The Rock, a lot of people thought he was crazy. However, he was courageous enough to take a chance and pursue his dream and we are all bettor for it. This is your invitation to mee the dreamer, the creator, the builder -- Alex Jordan.


American Reich
American Reich
Author: Douglas Muir
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/16/2005
Helpful Score: 1


The troops were poised and ready, the stars and stripes emblazoned on their shoulder partches. They were volunteers from all across America, standing at attention while the band played partiotic tunes.

Behind the scenes a sinister group waited to give the final orders. Orders that would signal the end of American democracy, and the beginning of a bloody coup.

It couldn't be happening here. But at least one man knew that it was. And he had to stop it - no matter what.


Angel In Your Eyes (By Request 3'S)
Angel In Your Eyes (By Request 3'S)
Author: Dallas Schulze
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/23/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Three complete stories in one book!


Everything But Marriage

Loner Devlin Russel might have saved Annalise St. John from a watery grave, but he had no intention of letting the fragile beauty into his heart. Little did he guess that a life saved would be a love earned...

Charity's Angel

Charity Williams had heard of mercy dates, but Gabriel London was going overboard. After her accident, the sexy stranger never left her side, appointing himself her guardian angel. But with Gabriel around, the only thing on Charity's mind was earthly pleasure...

Angel And The Bad Man

Angie Brady didn't have a reckless bone in her body...until dark, dangerous Travis Morgan rode to her rescue. When he pulled her onto his bike, something hot and irresistibly exciting sizzled between them. And Anige was suddenly tempted to find out just how good being bad could be...


The Arms of the Law (Harlequin Intrigue, No 488)
The Arms of the Law (Harlequin Intrigue, No 488)
Author: Jenna Ryan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/25/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Psychiatrist Nikita Sorensen was shaken by the unexplained deaths at the Beldon-Drake Hospital - and unsettled by the too-sexy homicide cop sent to investigate the crimes.

Officer Daniel Vachon's bold approach toward suspects squared him with Nikita, who was bound to protect her patients' privacy. But it was soon clear someone at the hospital - a doctor with a secret, a patient out of control? - was a murderer after Nikita. And only in the protection of Daniel's strong arms did she feel safe. Only in his eyes did she see that his commitment ran beyond his badge.

Would their love have a chance with a killer closing in...?


Baby Boomer Spirituality: Ten Essential Values of a Generation
Review Date: 9/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Miller explores baby boomer issues, such as downward mobility, loneliness, the rediscovery of the family, millennialism, environmentalism, and supernatural faith, in a way that enables you to see this generation in a new light. Going beyond the headlines, he defines the spirituality of a generation which is ready to make a difference in this world.


Bad Boys Online
Bad Boys Online
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 9/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was pretty good - sort of medium in the range of the Bad Boys series, and good for a nice quick smutty read. These novellas are definitely more erotic romance than just regular romance.

For anyone who's not familiar with the series, the novellas are like romances that skip right over the getting-to-know-you phase and jump straight to the bedroom, where nobody seems very shy!

I liked "Hard Drive" best too, and "User Friendly" was fine. "Press Any Key" didn't work as well, but it was still okay.


Bad Boys To Go:  Bringing Up Baby / The Wilde One / Going After Adam
Bad Boys To Go: Bringing Up Baby / The Wilde One / Going After Adam
Author: Nancy Warren, Janelle Denison, Lori Foster
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 9/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


These Bad Boys books are great for sneaking in a quicky hot romance read without feeling like you're cheating on the TBR pile too much! I never used to care much for novellas, but in this case they work just fine. :)

That said, these were a bit more tame than usual - a little closer to regular romance stories. Still fun, but the boys weren't especially bad! I liked the third story the best, although that one was the least "bad boy"-like. Recommended for fans for fast fluff!


Beguilement (Sharing Knife, Bk 1)
Beguilement (Sharing Knife, Bk 1)
Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I have yet to read a Bujold book I didn't love! Each of her series has it's own unique flavor, but the characters are always unique and fully realized. This series is more fantasy romance then her others to date, and sure enough I'm completely hooked!


Bellwether
Bellwether
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 6/23/2007


This was very good! Quick, and cute, and kinda made me miss the world of academia a bit, in spite of all the silly meetings and paperwork!

Connie Willis is such a gifted writer. You really get a feel for how much research she does, even for her shorter novels. Her characters are fully and completely alive within their environments, with no nuance or detail missing -- everything about them is in place. I feel like I should be able to email the main characters, or find articles they've written in scientific journals somewhere because they just seemed so much like real people. Yet the story isn't slowed down by this at all, unlike many books that just end up getting bogged down when they include a lot of detail.

I would definitely recommend this book! And what do you know? The cover actually works with the story! Even the fiery butterfly! I was wondering what a bellwether was, and know I know. But don't worry -- I won't tell!


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 6/22/2007
Helpful Score: 9


I loved, loved, LOVED this book!

It would be so easy to babble on and gush about this story, but I'll try to keep myself from writing too much and giving things away. The beginning seemed to have a little bit of a flat quality (not much, since I never wanted to put the book down!), but looking back at it now it seems perfectly appropriate. But once the story takes off there's a lot of action! This is very well plotted! I especially loved how the other characters seemed to grow and evolve as Elena's perception of them changed. Ah, the things we want to see, and the things we refuse to see -- very well done!

I may have to go buy a copy of this for my personal collection, and copies to hand out to others. I may have to go back to upstate New York, and look for wolves... :)


BloodAngel
BloodAngel
Author: Justine Musk
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Let's see, how to sum this up.... I wasn't too impressed with the first chapter, but things improved a lot after that. I liked following Jessamy, Kai, and Ramsey's characters and storylines, and the story kept me interested even when I found the overall picture kind of bleak (this is, after all, a horror novel). The bleak feeling isn't my favorite, and I didn't really care much about Lucas or Asha's storyline (I prefer a more ambiguous demonic presence, apparently! Like Del's, for example...), but I liked the writing and the pace.

This author shows promise. This definitely doesn't read like it's her debut novel! The plot is approached a little differently then the norm for me, but I'd definitely recommend it to fans of the genre.


Body Of Evidence  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 2)  (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/1/2007


Unabridged library edition, 10.5 hours on 7 cassettes.


Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 9/30/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This was very cute! The whole thing is written in various forms of modern correspondence -- instant messaging and email mostly, with some personal journal entries and the occasional note, memo, transcript, or store receipt to round things out. That did give me a slightly removed feeling at first so it took a little while to feel like I knew the characters. By the end I was flowing right along and wanted more! This is a very fast, easy, and fun read.

And I may have to give some of Ida's recipes a try! The gingersnaps are calling to me....


Call Down the Moon (Delaware and Montagu, Bk 3)
Call Down the Moon (Delaware and Montagu, Bk 3)
Author: Katherine Kingsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 9/15/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Light and fun historical romance, which I would recommend for fans of the genre looking for a happy, easy read. The supporting characters are really good, especially Meggie's eccentric aunts! The description makes it sound darker than it is - I found this to be a sweet story.

Description from the back of the book:
With a shadowy past and only dreams for her future, Meggie Bloom was tending the lost souls at Woodbridge Sanitarium wen the handsome stranger's cobalt gaze awakened her to a woman's desire. Suddenly the mind-reading gifts that made Meggie an outcast deserted her. She couldn't read Lord Hugo Montagu, yet her haunted her dreams. Then he magically returned to offer her freedom - if she would become his wife....

Marriage was unthinkable for the notorious rake Hugo Montagu - until her lost everything on a bet. Meggie Bloom didn't know she was about to inherit a fortune. But he did. Nothing could have prepared him for the deep passions and surprising mysteries Meggie's innocence would unlock in him. But could an extraordinary woman's love transform him into a man of honor and make him worthy of a wife who could see into his soul, make him believe in the impossible and.... Call Down the Moon


Caught in the Act (Men to the Rescue, Bk 3)
Caught in the Act (Men to the Rescue, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 10/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Lori Foster's always a safe bet! I don't usually go for the shorter Harlequins, but when it's an author I know I like.... ;)

Pretty good! But I must not be in the mood to forgive and forget, because I'm still mad at Mick for the "big misunderstanding" part of the plot. (Yes, this book has one of *those* plots.) If I were Del, he'd still be toast! But other than that, this was a fun read. I really liked the crazy researching mystery writer idea for Del's character -- enough that I think this would have made a good longer book, with some of her research technics and/or research assisting characters written about in more than just passing detail! I also liked that she's not the helpless type -- she's actually got a head on her shoulders, and can think on her feet when needed.


The Charmed Sphere (Lost Continent, Bk 1)
The Charmed Sphere (Lost Continent, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Asaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 8/23/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this! It's a light and easy read, the characters are fun, and the action moves along nicely without any lags. It was also just what I was in the mood for! I've heard Asaro's sci-fi novels referred to as "space operas" and she certainly was able to juggle the four main characters here.

This is a very entertaining story which could be enjoyed by both adult and young adult readers. I will definitely be looking for the next book in the series!


The China Garden
The China Garden
Author: Liz Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This was charming! It's a lovely coming of age story with a dose of otherworldy magic. I especially loved the setting - there's nothing like an English country estate with a long, mysterious history for great atmosphere! I do wish we'd gotten to know Mark a little better, and I'd be a bit worried if some of the geneaology escaped into real life (yikes! LOL!), but those are more observations than complaints. Good story, characters, setting...quick read.... Yup, definitely recommended, both for young adults and adult fans of YA literature!


City of Fire (Dungeons & Dragons)
City of Fire (Dungeons & Dragons)
Author: T. H. Lain
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2005


Book Description:

The fourth novel based on the new edition of the Dungeons & Dragons game.

In the sands of a great desert, a once-heroic paladin has turned to evil and enlisted an army of gnolls to help retrieve a powerful relic, reputed to be kept in the vaults of the City of Fire. If they find it, the world will never again be at peace.

Can a party of four stop an army of hundreds?


Code Name Cassandra (1-800-Where-R-You)
Code Name Cassandra (1-800-Where-R-You)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/30/2007
Helpful Score: 3


What a great series this is turning out to be! Jess is so spunky and fresh. She's wise-cracking, sarcastic, funny, and always dealing with her "anger management issues" without ever being mean. And the storyline in this book was just as fast and fun as the previous one! If I had the next book sitting here I'd pick it up right away! I'd highly recommend this series to anyone who likes YA reads. Psychics, fast plots, love interests, and stuff even blows up -- what's not to love?


1 to 20 of 165 - Page: