Dalton A. (wanderlust) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 10/16/2011


Not one of my favorites. Thought it would be just be wonderful based on reviews and awards, but, yeah, in my opinion, not the case. I guess I didn't like it because it was much more character driven than plot driven. The beginning is very slow, goes into detail about the character's thought processes.......I did read it through, but all in all, dull and depressing.


The Cat's Table
The Cat's Table
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is definitely a character-driven book instead of a plot driven book. Therefore, I was not too impressed. The ending is also somewhat lackluster. I did finish it, however, which means that it must have held my interest at least somewhat. If you prefer character-driven over plot-driven, then you may like it. Author says that it's fiction, however, I believe it is very much based on his own life.


The City of Falling Angels
The City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 2/19/2011


This book was pretty good, though not as good as "Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil." Berendt does a good job of making a story out of Venice high society and the burning of the Fenice Opera House, which to me, COULD be as dry as stale toast. But he makes it pretty interesting.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 8/30/2011


Great book.....I was a little disappointed in the normality of the plot (I was hoping for something REALLY sordid) but overall, a definite keeper. Kate Morton writes great books if you're into that victorian semi-gothic like I am (The Thirteenth Tale, The Shadow of the Wind, Rebecca.....)


The Gargoyle
The Gargoyle
Author: Andrew Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/11/2011


I'm a fan of gothic literature, so I figured this was right up my alley.....hmmmm. Not so much. When it says the book is gruesome, that is definitely the truth. And trust me, the character's car crash and time in the burn ward is mild compared to what comes later in the book. Around the end of the book he goes into some weirdo Dantesque hallucination crap and it just ends up reading more like some crummy fantasy book. I did find it interesting that at the end, the author lists some of his favorite reading and includes some of my faves: Shadow of the Wind, The Thirteenth Tale, The Name of the Rose......unfortunately Davidson's novel is way too graphic to be considered in the same class with these other books. Just my opinion, though.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1277
Review Date: 6/4/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Okay, so everyone is in LOVE with these books and I'm not sure why. I mean, yes, they do draw you in (eventually) but really, I think if Larsson was actually alive his books would just be another crap beach novel to leave at the beach house after you read it on vacation. First and foremost -- the dude is WAY too into describing violent sex scenes. I mean, my first thought is -- "wow, these sound like LARSSON's fantasies, not his character's."

Second, the guy is pedantic as hell. When you get into the second book (as I am now) he does tedious things like list what styles of IKEA furniture Salander buys for her new apartment, write out her grocery lists, etc. Now, I like food and IKEA furniture as much as the next girl, but really? In a suspense book? How do you say BORING in Swedish?

All in all, I think that they're mildly entertaining, but not worth going out of your way for (trade for them, don't buy them). And I think Larsson had some issues -- mental issues.

PS- If you think the book was graphic, don't watch the movies. (Swedish or American versions, though I do like Daniel Craig) Take my word for it.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2081
Review Date: 6/4/2011


Okay, so everyone is in LOVE with these books and I'm not sure why. I mean, yes, they do draw you in (eventually) but really, I think if Larsson was actually alive his books would just be another crap beach novel to leave at the beach house after you read it on vacation. First and foremost -- the dude is WAY too into describing violent sex scenes. I mean, my first thought is -- "wow, these sound like LARSSON's fantasies, not his character's."

Second, the guy is pedantic as hell. When you get into the second book (as I am now) he does tedious things like list what styles of IKEA furniture Salander buys for her new apartment, write out her grocery lists, etc. Now, I like food and IKEA furniture as much as the next girl, but really? In a suspense book? How do you say BORING in Swedish?

All in all, I think that they're mildly entertaining, but not worth going out of your way for (trade for them, don't buy them). And I think Larsson had some issues -- mental issues.

PS- If you think the book was graphic, don't watch the movies. (Swedish or American versions, though I do like Daniel Craig) Take my word for it.


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 2/7/2013


Loved this book! So colorful, descriptive, imaginative.....really, I can't wait to get the hardcover version to add to my extensive library. Not sure why anyone wouldn't be charmed by this book. I guess if you have a short attention span and a bad memory (there are lots of characters) then maybe it wouldn't be your thing.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1058
Review Date: 5/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Yeah, this book isn't that good. There's only so many times I can read about detailed sexual encounters. It gets really old, really fast. The characters are interesting, but the plot is pretty transparent. I completely agree with one of the other reviewers though. Seems like Mr Goolrick has some sexual issues that he's acting out in his book. Makes me think the guy needs to hire his own prostitute or spend a little more time in the shower. :-D


Siddhartha
Siddhartha
Author: Hermann Hesse, Stanley Appelbaum (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/28/2015


Boring. So incredibly boring. Unless you're particularly spiritual, skip this one.


This Body of Death (Inspector Lynley, Bk 16)
This Body of Death (Inspector Lynley, Bk 16)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/24/2011


Good, as always. Elizabeth George is my favorite mystery writer. Keeping this one to add to my Elizabeth George collection.


1 to 11 of 11