Renny S. (jimmysgranny) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Bridge To Terabithia
Bridge To Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 5/27/2006


I read for pleasure and hate a book with a sad ending. Boo for this one.


Henry and Beezus (Henry Huggins, Bk 2)
Henry and Beezus (Henry Huggins, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Cleary
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/19/2005


Book is brand new. A gift that my son was not interested in.


Henry Huggins (Henry Huggins, Bk 1)
Henry Huggins (Henry Huggins, Bk 1)
Author: Beverly Cleary, Louis Darling (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/19/2005


Book is brand new. A gift that is not what my son was interested in.


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1029
Review Date: 6/20/2006


This is a true story of a man who got rid of almost everything he had to invent a new life for himself in Alaska. It is on the National Bestseller list.


Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 10)
Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 10)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 8/29/2012


I love J. R. Ward's BDB series but with that being said I do have a complaint about this book. Although the book is great the F-bomb being dropped as often as it was got old. It reminded me of a teenage boy trying to act tough. The angel dropping it was over the top. Hopefully her next book will be a little cleaner in that respect. 75% of the F-bomb could probably be removed without anyone missing it. The story itself was great.


Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 10)
Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 10)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really like this series and this book was no exception, except (LOL)J.R. Ward could probably have left out 75% of the F-bomb being dropped and the Brotherhood still would have been as macho as they have ever been.


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, Bk 4)
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, Bk 4)
Author: Mildred D. Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 12/10/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book to read to your kids to explain the nastiness of prejudice and how it can effect those around you.


Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Twilight (Twilight, Bk 1)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1262
Review Date: 12/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I had never heard of the Twilight series until Stephenie Meyer was on tv promoting her last book in the series. Out of curiousity I checked the audio out at the library. Although it was a bit mushy with Bella swooning over Edward's "chiseled chest", the book was interesting and I was hooked until I finished the series. I even made part of my family, 2 of my sons and my hubby, listen to it with me on the way to church. Their only gripe was there needed to be a guy's version with less of the mooning over each other done by Bella and Edward. I did notice they all asked for updates on the books when I listened to them by myself. I would recommend the books for an enjoyable read even with the chiseled chest part. Remember, they were wrote for tweens.


Witches Don't Do Backflips (Bailey School Kids, Bk 10)
Review Date: 7/19/2005


The front cover has a permanent bend and someone has stamped discard inside it but the text is fine.


1 to 9 of 9