Donna B. (AppyLover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 91 - Page:
Afterlife
Afterlife
Author: Douglas Clegg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you're really into wierd, you may like this one. Can't say I did.


Almost Dead (San Francisco, Bk 2)
Almost Dead (San Francisco, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 448
Review Date: 8/30/2007


My first Lisa Jackson book. It won't be my last. Keeps you guessing, with lots of twists and turns.


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 650
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed thisbook.


At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 1/3/2007


I recently discovered Kava.....and am a fan.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 754
Review Date: 3/16/2007


At first I wasn't sure.....but a good book.


The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 4/11/2007


The Kansas City Star wrote "Connelly's Bosch could partner with John Sanford's Lucas Davenport. As fictional heroes, these '90s tough guys are a joy." I quoted the Star because I agree. Love the Harry Bosch books!! This one was great.


Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Blindside (FBI, Bk 8)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 524
Review Date: 3/9/2012


When I saw "An FBI Thriller" list of 10 books by a NYT Best Selling Author I definitely thought they were worth looking into. When I read all the reviews I was sure I'd found a new favorite author. NOT!!! I found this book to be terribly disappointing. Her plot wasn't bad, actually it had a lot of potential, but IMO the writing was amateurish. Sentences like "he ate his french fry down to the grease." HUH? He "rolled the window down, stuck out his hand, no rain yet." At the end for some reason the killer and the sheriff somehow managed to switch weapons. Sorry folks, but for my money that just isn't good writing. Speaking of money....what a waste.


Blood Trail (Joe Pickett, Bk 8)
Blood Trail (Joe Pickett, Bk 8)
Author: C. J. Box
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My first Box book. Wasn't sure about it when I started but I enjoyed it have decided I will read more of the Joe Pickett series.


The Bodies Left Behind
The Bodies Left Behind
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 11/18/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I definitely have mixed emotions about this book. There were over 300 pages of hunter and hunted floundering around in the woods at night, which got pretty tiring. Also they things they were able to see in the darkness was at times enough to make me put the book down and walk away in frustration. But, in spite of those irritations, there were several good twists and surprises. IMO the heroine was only semi-likeable but some of the other characters were good. Definitely not one of my favorite Deaver books but something to help kill time on a cold winter day.


Bogeyman
Bogeyman
Author: Gayle Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 7/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


My first by Gayle Wilson. Won't be my last. Very good read. Fast moving and attention holding.


Bone Cold
Bone Cold
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/5/2010


A good book! My first Erica Spindler novel.....but certainly not my last.


The Bone Garden
The Bone Garden
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 12/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of those books that I'd read a few chapters then put it down thinking "where is this going?" then pick it back up again to see. Not necessarily my favorite reading as I like to see a plot right up front, but once it was finished I found myself thinking "hummmm, not too bad". Probably my least favorite of Gerritsen's books for that reason.


Breath of Scandal
Breath of Scandal
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 11/1/2010


A good book but I found myself thinking it read like a Danielle Steele novel (which isn't bad - just different).


Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport, Bk 16)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 2/22/2007


Definitely a great read. I love the Prey books.


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 920
Review Date: 4/3/2008


My favorite of Grisham's books....this one brought me to tears. Much better than the movie.


Charming the Highlander (Pine Creek Highlander, Bk 1)
Charming the Highlander (Pine Creek Highlander, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Chapman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 1/6/2007


Time travel.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 2/1/2010


Very Good! This isn't my normal genre, but for Sparks I'll make an exception. Haven't been disappointed yet.


The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
The Closers (Harry Bosch Bk 11)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 455
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A very good book! Harry Bosch returns to duty after 3 years of retirement. His first Open/Unsolved assignment is a 17 year old murder. This first book after his return from retirement sets the scene for a lot of future cold cases; and I play to read 'em all.


Cold Hearted (Powell Agency, Bk 5)
Cold Hearted (Powell Agency, Bk 5)
Author: Beverly Barton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 9/20/2009


Good book. I'll look for more by Beverly Barton.


The Cowboy (Bitter Creek, Bk 1)
The Cowboy (Bitter Creek, Bk 1)
Author: Joan Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 4/14/2007


The first book in the Bitter Creek series. The Hatfields and McCoys seem tame compared to the Blackthorns and the Creeds....until love comes along. A good series. I've definitely enjoyed it.


1 to 20 of 91 - Page: