cdayzee - Reviews

1 to 20 of 113 - Page:
8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter : And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father (Not That Any of Them Work)
Review Date: 1/10/2009


This book was given to my DH as a gift. However, he's not a reader, so I decided not to let a book 'go to waste', so I read it. I don't know if it was b/c this was targetted to males/fathers, but the author's humor ran out on me quite quickly & it became annoying. Maybe a male reader would appreciate this more.


The Act of Marriage: The Beauty of Sexual Love
The Act of Marriage: The Beauty of Sexual Love
Author: Beverly LaHaye, Tim F. LaHaye
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 9/21/2008


I found this book to be very conservative & the ideals expressed to be antiquated. If you want something more modern w/ a little more candor, I recommend Dr. Kevin Lehman's 'Sheet Music'.


After You'd Gone
After You'd Gone
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/5/2009


This book was all over the place & difficult to follow. I was about 1/3 of the way thru it when I was finally able to begin piecing together things. It was still very difficult to follow.


All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
Author: Ashley Judd, Maryanne Vollers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/11/2014


She mainly talks about her humanitarian work overseas in dealing with impoverished & brutalized youth.


All the Days of My Life (So Far)
All the Days of My Life (So Far)
Author: Alison Sweeney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/7/2008


eh, it was ok.


Angel Falls
Angel Falls
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 6/4/2008


I thought the writing was immature. I couldnt really get into it.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 5/4/2007


Frank McCourt is an awesome writer! He holds your interest w/ every page. I highly recommend all of his books!


Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl
Author: Anne Frank, B.M. Mooyaart-Doubleday (Translator)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 672
Review Date: 1/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Everyone knows this is a classic. If anyone has not read it yet - I highly recommend it. Also good for a teen IMO.


Approaching Eye Level
Approaching Eye Level
Author: Vivian Gornick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/20/2008


IMO, you must have a highly intellectual/artist's mind to fully appreciate this book.


As For Me And My House: Crafting Your Marriage To Last
As For Me And My House: Crafting Your Marriage To Last
Author: Walter Wangerin Jr.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/11/2008


it took me a loong time before i got into this book. it seemed like it was written for someone highly intellectual. I guess I needed something a little easier to understand. I was able to gleen a little from this book. wish my husband couldve/wouldve read it though. (he hates to read, he's not here, even if he was he wouldnt read it b/c he thinks im always trying to change him.)


The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 518
Review Date: 11/6/2008


I just could not get into this book at all.


Because I Said Forever : Embracing Hope in an Imperfect Marriage
Review Date: 6/30/2008


I really recommend this book. Honest. It gave me hope and validation for my choices. I really felt blessed after reading this.


The Bell Jar
The Bell Jar
Author: Sylvia Plath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 4/19/2007


Sylvia Plath was quite talented...


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 1/7/2008


A lot of ppl love Jennifer Crusie. I decided to ck her out but I guess it's just not my cup o' tea.


Blue Diary
Blue Diary
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 1/7/2008


This one I really enjoyed. I would recommend it.


call me crazy
call me crazy
Author: anne heche
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/23/2007


You too will definitely believe Anna Heche is crazy after reading this book. It wasn't bad; I just didn't care for it.


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 539
Review Date: 4/30/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I was so relieved to finally get to the end of this book. I just couldn't follow it very well and it didn't hold my interest at all.


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 919
Review Date: 1/7/2008


I did get into this book but it was just ok for me.


Review Date: 11/3/2006


Signed by the author!


Created to Be His Help Meet: Discover how God Can Make Your Marriage Glorious
Review Date: 11/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The author is very "strict" for lack of a better term, straight forward and real. Oftentimes I got a bit lost in her scripture explanations but better related to actual stories/emails/letters. I liked it in the beginning but by the end I was very overwhelmed and felt like I didnt measure up to this woman's standards at all and felt I was somehow failing as a wife and mother. I have heard good reviews from this book and her many "fans' are a testament that her methods do work. This is just my opinion.


1 to 20 of 113 - Page: