Stephanie O. (teminy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Bones and Silence (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 11)
Bones and Silence (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 11)
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/6/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Interesting and complex murder mystery/British police procedural. A good book in this series!


Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 7/24/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute, frothy, quick read with likeable characters.


Cold Truth (Truth, Bk 1)
Cold Truth (Truth, Bk 1)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 250
Review Date: 6/19/2006


Pretty good police/serial killer mystery set at the Jersey shore.


Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 7/7/2006


Fun, breezy chick lit. A very quick read, and very entertaining.


Family Happiness: A Novel (Perennial Fiction Library)
Family Happiness: A Novel (Perennial Fiction Library)
Author: Laurie Colwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/6/2006


Laurie Colwin at her finest. Simply a great book.


Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver, Bk 1)
Fellowship of Fear (Gideon Oliver, Bk 1)
Author: Aaron J. Elkins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/15/2006


Pretty good espionage/mystery book from the 80s.


Frommer's Seattle 2004
Frommer's Seattle 2004
Author: Karl Samson
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/17/2006


Excellent reference for Seattle.


Garnethill: A Novel of Crime
Garnethill: A Novel of Crime
Author: Denise Mina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/21/2006


Very disturbing murder mystery with a lot of real life grit. Also has a very heavy depiction of the aftermath of sexual abuse - a great, but chilling, read.


Hanging by a Thread (Needlecraft, Bk 6)
Hanging by a Thread (Needlecraft, Bk 6)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 2/5/2006


Cute little mystery book, but not *too* twee, if you know what I mean. Recommended.


I am Not Myself These Days: A Memoir
I am Not Myself These Days: A Memoir
Author: Josh Kilmer-Purcell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 7/27/2006


Funny and sad account of one drag queen's unusual relationship with a handsome, loving hustler/crack addict.


Illywhacker
Illywhacker
Author: Peter Carey
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/7/2006


Peter Carey is a genius. This book is his masterwork. What a great read!


I'm the One That I Want
I'm the One That I Want
Author: Margaret Cho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/27/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Starts off strong and funny, but about halfway through becomes convoluted and difficult to follow. Cho is very funny, but her accounts are people with so many underdeveloped characters that it's tough to draw a bead on who they are, where they came from, and why they're even being mentioned.


Maisie Dobbs / Birds of a Feather (Maisie Dobbs, Bks 1 & 2)
Maisie Dobbs / Birds of a Feather (Maisie Dobbs, Bks 1 & 2)
Author: Jacqueline Winspear
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent! Even better than the first Maisie Dobbs book.


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1912
Review Date: 1/7/2006


David Sedaris is always funny. A must-read!


Panicking Ralph: A Harpur  Iles Mystery
Panicking Ralph: A Harpur Iles Mystery
Author: Bill James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/21/2006


More of the usual brisk dialogue, bent coppers and oddly human villains in this Harpur & Iles mystery. I can't decide if I love these or hate these, but I keep reading them, so I guess it's closer to love.


A Pinch of Snuff (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 5)
A Pinch of Snuff (Dalziel and Pascoe, Bk 5)
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/6/2006


Via Amazon.com
Splitting a main character into two parts that compliment and confound each other has worked well for mystery writers from Conan Doyle to Rex Stout (and for non-mystery writers such as Patrick O'Brian in his Aubrey/Maturin sea stories). Reginald Hill's unique contributions to this form are his books about two policemen in an unnamed city in Northern England, Detectives Dalziel (pronounced "Dee-al" in the TV version) and Pascoe. Both get to show off their strengths and shortcomings in this wonderfully macabre second book in the series; Dalziel's brawn and instinct meets Pascoe's intellect as the two investigate pornographic "snuff" films in which the actors really wind up dead.


The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries, Vol 1)
The Princess Diaries (Princess Diaries, Vol 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/28/2006


Cute, but probably best for a young teenager. Meg Cabot is a gifted author.


Shadow Family
Shadow Family
Author: Miyuki Miyabe, Juliet Winters Carpenter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Interesting Japanese police procedural about 2 murders and the odd connection to an online role-playing game in which the participants pretend to be a family.


Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Shakespeare's Landlord (Lily Bard, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 8/7/2006
Helpful Score: 2


First of an interesting series. Lily Bard is not as engaging as Charlaine Harris' other heroines, but her wary ways and mysterious past are entertaining nonetheless. This one has the backstory of what exactly happened to Lily that made her so circumspect and slightly antisocial. A good, fast read!


Six Feet Under (Inspector Luke Thanet, Bk 2)
Six Feet Under (Inspector Luke Thanet, Bk 2)
Author: Dorothy Simpson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/19/2006


A pretty good little English mystery.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: