Kay R. (Frenchielover) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 12/7/2011


This is very similar to the other stories in this series from Debbie Macomber. It continues the lives of the same people and gets you looking forward to the next book in the series for Christmas.


92 Pacific Boulevard (Cedar Cove, Bk 9)
92 Pacific Boulevard (Cedar Cove, Bk 9)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 369
Review Date: 2/1/2011


I have now read all of the Ceader Cove series and can't wait for the 11th one to come out. Debbie Macomber wrote this series in such a way that you can't read just one or two, you just have to start at book one and go through the series catching up with the characters lives. I loved they way she leads into the next book in the series at the end of each book. It would be possible to read one in the middle as I started that way, but then ordered the previous books and read in order. If you are a Debbie Macomber fan, you will love this series. The author answered several questions from previous books in the series in this book. Read it an find out what happens.


Alaska Twilight
Alaska Twilight
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 5/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I was attracted to this book after reading another one of the author's and enjoyed it. This book kept me on the edge of my seat until the end and I read it in two evenings. I would give up sleep to read a great book, and this one was enjoyable. The plot was good and easy to follow and the characters were believable.


An Amish Christmas
An Amish Christmas
Author: Cynthia Keller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I have read a lot of the books about the Amish by different authors. I was pleased to find this author with a different slant on things. This was one of the best I have read and have added her other books to my wish list.


The Christmas Sweater
The Christmas Sweater
Author: Jason Wright, Kevin Balfe, Glenn Beck
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/28/2011


This book is destined to become a Christmas Classic. It has all you could want in a fiction book that has lots of memories of real life. The authors have hit the mark on this one. You will understand at the end why the little boy then a man has kept the Chirstmas sweater all through the years. It was one I am passing on to friends and family and recommended it to others.


Dark Storm
Dark Storm
Author: Kel Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/31/2011


This book was truly a surprise. It sat on my self for quite awhile before I pulled it out to read. Once I started it, I didn't want to put it down. It is a Christian novel with a lot of suspense and danger on each page. You don't find out until the very end the answers to lots of your questions. It has parallels to the Bible in places linking it to the evils of the world as well as the goodness. You should find something for everyone in this book. A real surprise!


A Distant Memory
A Distant Memory
Author: Traci Depree
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/4/2013


Another good story from Guidepost. The wife of a pastor gets into solving another mystery.


Down River
Down River
Author: Karen Harper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I have found a new favorite author recently and Karen Harper is exceptional and entertaining. I totally become immersed in her stories and am the characters in the book. I stay up late into the night to finish the books and this one was no exception. It keeps you guessing until the last pages. Great book!


Lydia's Charm: An Amish Widow Starts Over in Charm, Ohio
Lydia's Charm: An Amish Widow Starts Over in Charm, Ohio
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 2/2/2011


Wanda Brunstetter has written another good book detaling the life of the Amish life. THe storyline keeps you interested from page 1 to the end. If you like her books, this one is for you.


A Measure of Mercy (Home to Blessing, Bk 1)
A Measure of Mercy (Home to Blessing, Bk 1)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 5/20/2014


This is the first in the series of three books by Lauraine Snelling. She once again writes about the town of Blessing and the Bjorklund family. I have read all three of the books in this series and could not put them down. Astrid was conflicted regarding heading for the mission field in Africa. She is a woman ahead of her times. You will enjoy reading and following her through this series.


The Next Always (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 1)
The Next Always (Inn BoonsBoro, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 10/22/2012


I accidently read the second in the series first. It didn't spoil anything. I enjoyed this book just the same. Nora Roberts keeps you reading and dreading to put the book down until it is finished. This is another hit series for her.


A Rose by the Door
A Rose by the Door
Author: Deborah Bedford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was a real surprise for me. I had never read a book by Deborah Bedford, but I plan to read her others now. I wanted to skip to the end to find out why the son left home. I never guessed the surprise ending until I read it. The author has a real talent for keeping your interest while telling a story of human frailness and strength.


Stolen Innocence: My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs
Review Date: 5/27/2011


The cover of this book drew my interest and this was the first book of it's kind I had read. I learned a lot about the FLDS group that I had not been aware of in the past. I know a lot of LDS members, but they are much different from the FLDS and don't participate in polygamous relations. This was definite a negative look at their lives and religion an I am wondering just how accurate it is for most of the members. I am anxious to read more books about the cult.


Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 1)
Sworn to Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was the irst book in the series and I can't wait to read the rest. It kept me interested to the point I gave up sleep to finish it.


Under the Cajun Moon
Under the Cajun Moon
Author: Mindy Starns Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 5/27/2011


I really enjoyed this book. This is one of several I have read by the author. I think this may be my favorite. Due to the fact my daughter lives outside New Orleans and I visit there, I felt an attraction to the setting. I had a hard time putting it down and read it in one evening.


When Christmas Comes
When Christmas Comes
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/2/2011


It wouldn't be Christmas without Debbie Macomber's heart warming tale of love. A traditional Christmas in previous years was not at all what happened for Emily and her daughter, Heather. Her good friend Faith finds love in Washington while Emily and Heather learn they are ready to move on in their lives. Choose this book for a nice evening by the fireplace with the snow falling out the window.


1 to 16 of 16