Amanda G. (akgreen) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
Acceptable Risk
Acceptable Risk
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 3/12/2007


This book follows the typical Robin Cook formula. I do like how this ties modern day medical issues with the Salem witch trials.


Amanecer (Breaking Dawn) (Twilight, Bk 4) (Spanish Edition)
Review Date: 4/16/2009


This book reads like poorly written fan fiction. One of the worst books I've ever read! It has totally ruined the whole series for me. I am so glad I borrowed the book from someone and didn't waste my money on it. I would give it zero stars if that were an option.

Read at your own risk!


Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, Bk 1)
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 3/9/2007


A wonderful story of a little orphan girl growing up on Prince Edward Island near the beginning of the 19th century. A true classic of fantasy, family, and love.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson, Judith Gwyn Brown (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Funny and touching story of the meanest family in town learning about Christmas.


The Best Little Girl in the World
The Best Little Girl in the World
Author: Steven Levenkron
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 5/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


One of my favorite books when I was in junior high, and still a good read now that I am in my '30's. A powerful story of a girl struggling to survive anorexia, written by a man who has treated many anorexics.


Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


V. I. Warshawski is a tough yet caring detective, willing to do anything it takes to solve the case. I've read all the Warshawski novels, and I thought this was one of the best.


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 383
Review Date: 2/24/2015


Heartbreaking, gripping, and unlike anything else I've ever read - an odd mix of Spanish slang and sci-fi references that detail the life story of not only Oscar, but his sister, mother, adoptive grandmother, grandparents, aunts, friend and sometimes boyfriend of his sister, and the Dominican Republic while under Trujillo's dictatorship.

I have to say, geek that I am, I got pretty much all the sci-fi references sprinkled throughout the book. I have a little Spanish and was able to understand some of the phrases, if only by context alone. But a few references escaped me, and I found a website called http://www.annotated-oscar-wao.com/ invaluable for those.

A difficult read at times, due to both writing style and content, but worth reading.


Carolina Moon
Carolina Moon
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 617
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 4


You'll never guess how this one ends! I usually figure books out before the end, but this one surprised me. I've read many of Nora Roberts' books, and this is one of my favorites.


The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
Author: Denise Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/4/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I did not like this book at all. It has a very predictable and unsatisfying plot. The book is filled with such phrases as "time went as slow as a turtle on Valium." The book is supposed to be Christian fiction, yet the characters never attend church (not even for the title wedding), nor is God even mentioned.


Coraline
Coraline
Author: Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 3/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting, creepy little story. It reminds me of some of the Grimm's stories.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4390
Review Date: 3/27/2007


I couldn't stop reading this book.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1732
Review Date: 3/26/2007


I loved this book - so much better than the movie!


Dragonsdawn (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 9)
Dragonsdawn (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 9)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 3/13/2007


The book that tells how Pern, and those amazing dragons, began. All the Pern books are wonderful. This one isn't my favorite, but I do like how it explains the origin of the dragons and various parts of the Pernese government and structure.


Dream Makers: Untamed / Less of a Stranger
Dream Makers: Untamed / Less of a Stranger
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 3/12/2007


Both stories are cute, fun, and fast-paced. Easy reads for times when you just want to relax.


False Memory
False Memory
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 9/18/2008


Not my favorite by Koontz, but not a bad read. I thought it was predictable, and not chilling so much as it was just ludicrous. Also was much too wordy.


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 4/19/2007


This book can be a bit dry at time, but the information is very important. Everyone should read this book! We are what we eat.


Fine Things
Fine Things
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 9/18/2008


This is typical Steel - a nice fluffy easy read, with the predictable happy ending. A good mindless read for after a long day.


First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind
First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind
Author: Jessie Wise
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/30/2007


I've used the first half of this book this year. I like it, but it isn't a good fit for my son.


Furry Logic: A Guide to Life's Little Challenges
Furry Logic: A Guide to Life's Little Challenges
Author: Jane Seabrook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/12/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is a cute little gift book. It is only slightly larger and thicker than a CD jewel case, and filled with cute animal illustrations along with sayings like "I would be unstoppable if I could just get started".


Ghost Girl
Ghost Girl
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 4/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Quite disturbing in parts.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: