Karen S. (wisteria) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Bean Trees
The Bean Trees
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 518
Review Date: 3/24/2009


I loved this book! I have several bean trees in my own yard. Just goes to show that people are placed in our lives for a reason and that we need to be open and available to them.


Bridge of Sighs
Bridge of Sighs
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 12/1/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Richard Russo starts off at a slow meadering pace and gently draws you into the story until you reside there anticipating what will happen next. I wasn't sure about this book in the beginning and now that I have finished it I am not sure I can part with it because I know it is a book that I will want to read again and again. Richard Russo once again takes normal every day living and makes it something you do not want to miss and something you want to be apart of. I highly recommend this book. I am afraid you will have to get it from someone else because I am not willing to give up my copy yet!


Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Dinner with a Perfect Stranger: An Invitation Worth Considering
Author: David Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 3/24/2009
Helpful Score: 7


The kind of book that makes you step back and take a look at your own life. When I finished I had my own conversation with God and listened hard to hear what he had to say. I liked this book and have decided to keep it as a part of my permanent library to share with others.


Evening Class
Evening Class
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 264
Review Date: 7/29/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this book. I loved the way Maeve Binchy writes from one persons point of view and then changes to another persons point of view in each chapter. She draws you in to each persons life. By the end of the book you feel as if you know each person and then she weaves them all together. At the end of this book I found myself reflecting on how our lives are interrrelated in so many ways, ways that we do not even know. Good summer read. Definately worth the time


In the Company of Others (Father Tim, Bk 2)
In the Company of Others (Father Tim, Bk 2)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/14/2011


I loved this book! It was like taking a summer vacation without leaving home. I felt like I was living the experience, the characters were so real. I was sorry for it to end. I have already loaned it to someone else to read! I think Jan Karon's writing gets better and better. This book is my favorite of hers so far.


Just One More Thing: Before You Leave Home
Just One More Thing: Before You Leave Home
Author: David Gudgel, David Gudgel, Bernice Gudgel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/15/2014


I gave this book to my sons girlfriend the night before she left for college.


Ladies of the Lake
Ladies of the Lake
Author: Haywood Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/22/2012


Loved it! I was right there on the lake with the ladies. I kept relating each experience to my experiences with my own three sisters. The book was so well written. I just dived right in and went on a vacation with them. Now I am missing them....!


Light from Heaven (Mitford, Bk 9)
Light from Heaven (Mitford, Bk 9)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 1/9/2012


I loved this book! Once again I fell right into life with Father Timothy and Cynthia. It felt like I had just seen them and it was great to spend some more time with them.


The Shadow of the Wind
The Shadow of the Wind
Author: Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Lucia Graves (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 783
Review Date: 9/19/2010


This book embodied what good literature is all about for me. It grabbed my attention from the very beginning. The author gives you enough information for you to feel like you really know the characters. I was on the edge of my seat to find out what happened next in the story and I was sorry when the book ended.


The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Tale
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 9/24/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! I read it in 3 days. It was a fascinating story with plenty of twists and turns that left me wondering what could possibly happen next. When I was finished with it, I gave it to my 19 year old daughter who also read it straight through. A fun light read that will leave you wondering every time you put it down.


1 to 10 of 10