Nikki W. (mommawolf) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


About a man obsessed with his wife who does not love him. It was a little hard to get into, but once I did it held my interest.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 4/24/2007


A look into the life of an Afghan family and the risk a man took to sell books to the people of Kabul.


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 2/17/2009


An interesting read.


Crow Lake
Crow Lake
Author: Mary Lawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 8/3/2007


Beautifully written and very captivating. I loved this book.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4390
Review Date: 8/3/2007


I thought this book was very morbid.


Death of an Ordinary Man
Death of an Ordinary Man
Author: Glen Duncan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A haunting story of a man trying to solve the mysteries of his own death. This story stayed with me for days after finishing.


The Dew Breaker (Today Show Book Club #23)
The Dew Breaker (Today Show Book Club #23)
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/24/2007


I haven't actually read it. According to the flap, this book is about redemption and coming to terms with one's past.


The Dragons of Blueland (My Father's Dragon, Bk 3)
The Dragons of Blueland (My Father's Dragon, Bk 3)
Author: Ruth Stiles Gannett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/17/2009


My daughter loves these books and wants to read them over and over again!


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 8/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book was very captivating. I really enjoyed reading it!


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1891
Review Date: 6/15/2009


This was a good, easy read full of feel-good women friendships. A good summer read.


Ghost Dance
Ghost Dance
Author: Carole Maso
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/1/2007


Here's the synopsis from Amazon.com:

This haunting, often surreal first novel vividly captures the struggles of a young woman, Vanessa Turin, as she attempts to recover her family and her past. At the novel's outset, Christine, Vanessa's talented and tormented poet-mother, has disappeared. In time, both her father and brother also desert her, in separate but equally inexplicable ways. Overcome with loss, Vanessa turns to her inner world, and through her imagination re-creates her life, both past and present. Maso's prose is repetitious and dreamlike, and her poetic images are sharp and evocative. Unconventional and intense, this novel tells a harrowing tale of the human search for love and understanding. Recommended for most fiction collections. Jeanne Buckley, ERIC Clearing House, Syracuse Univ., N.Y.
Copyright 1986 Reed Business Information, Inc.


The Giant's House
The Giant's House
Author: Elizabeth McCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 10/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was a very nicely written book. Completely enjoyable.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A witty book about a thirty-something widow starting over in life.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 8/3/2007


A fun, light read. Good for summer by the pool.


The Jane Austen Book Club
The Jane Austen Book Club
Author: Karen Joy Fowler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 4/24/2007


A peep into the lives of 6 people (5 women and 1 man) who meet to discuss Jane Austen novels. A light and enjoyable read.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5697
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A stunningly written book. It was difficult to get past the beginning, but I'm glad I stuck with it. One of the best books I've read.


The Last Days of Dogtown
The Last Days of Dogtown
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 11/2/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Not as good as The Red Tent but a good book all the same. Diamant is a terrific writer and makes me care about all her characters.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3363
Review Date: 8/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I could not put down this book once I opened it. I could read it again.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 912
Review Date: 4/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A good poolside/summer read. A story about 3 very different women and their experiences with motherhood.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 357
Review Date: 2/1/2008


Loved this book. Couldn't put it down. A beautiful story.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: