Lisa C. (tarheelcoin) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
The Assassin's Edge (Tales of Einarinn, Bk 5)
The Assassin's Edge (Tales of Einarinn, Bk 5)
Author: Juliet E. McKenna
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/14/2011


Great fantasy series! Lots of action and magic. There was some romance, but it was not the focus of the book and it was not overdone. I appreciated that.


The Aware (Isles of Glory, Bk 1)
The Aware (Isles of Glory, Bk 1)
Author: Glenda Larke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 5/15/2010


Great start to a trilogy. Action, humor, magic, and thankfully, a little romance without excessive sex scenes. I highly recommend this for fantasy fans. I'm looking forward to reading the remaining 2 books as soon as I can get my hands on them!


The Better Part of Darkness (Charlie Madigan, Bk 1)
The Better Part of Darkness (Charlie Madigan, Bk 1)
Author: Kelly Gay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 8/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this book might be a little different from the usual urban fantasy - hard-as-nails heroine wearing kick-ass leather something, with kick-ass weapon of some sort, and constantly lusting after some man. I was wrong. What I found particularly annoying was that Charlie wouldn't let anyone help her, yet she took on guilt for not being able to save everything and everybody. That happens in a lot of UF, but it was particularly irritating to me in this one.


Blackwater I: The Flood (Blackwater)
Blackwater I: The Flood (Blackwater)
Author: Michael McDowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/15/2010


This was a great little southern gothic horror story. The excellence of this book comes from the way the skill of the author depicts horror without delving into a lot of blood and gore. There is a little, yes, but the majority of the chills come from the reader's own imagination. I'm looking forward to reading all the Blackwater books. I simply have to find out what happens!


The Blade Itself (First Law, Bk 1)
The Blade Itself (First Law, Bk 1)
Author: Joe Abercrombie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 12/27/2012


Loved this book, especially the excellent character development. No cookie-cutter characters here. Everyone has good qualities and bad, but they are all quite interesting. I'm definitely looking forward to reading the next in the series.


Bleak History
Bleak History
Author: John Shirley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/5/2013


I enjoyed it. Very descriptive world and lots of characters, however, I would have liked more about the Shadow Community.


Blood Oath (Nathaniel Cade, Bk 1)
Blood Oath (Nathaniel Cade, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Farnsworth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/2/2011


When I read the synopsis of this book, I was really looking forward to reading it. Unfortunately, I didn't enjoy it all that much. It wasn't the plot that disappointed me - a vampire under sworn oath to the President, helping to defend the country against bad stuff sounded like an enjoyable and different spin on vampire novels. However, the way the book was written came across as little more than a glorified screenplay (not surprising, since Christopher Farnsworth is a scriptwriter). This made the writing choppy and simplistic, and greatly detracted from my overall enjoyment of the book.


Blood Prophecy
Blood Prophecy
Author: Stefan Petrucha
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


"Blood Prophecy" was...ok. The plot wandered and dragged and there were elements of it that needed some additional explanation. Overall, it held just enough interest for me to not put it down.


Bone Song (Tristopolis, Bk 1)
Bone Song (Tristopolis, Bk 1)
Author: John Meaney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/20/2014


I have not read a book like this. I'm glad, too. I'm always up for something new and this was definitely something new. A little steampunk, a little science fiction, a little horror, a little fantasy, a little thriller, a little mystery - even a tiny bit of romance... all blended together with a nice little twist at the end. I loved it!


Child of a Dead God (Noble Dead, Bk 6)
Child of a Dead God (Noble Dead, Bk 6)
Author: J. C. Hendee, Barb Hendee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/8/2011


Fantastic addition to the Noble Dead series. Lots of action and plotting, excellent characters.


Chimes From a Cracked Southern Belle
Chimes From a Cracked Southern Belle
Author: Susan Reinhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2013
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderful, funny, sweet book! It's full of Susan Reinhardt's trademark wry humor, with a touch of snark. It also demonstrates Susan's ability to tackle some of life's more serious issues, with compassion and empathy. Like the cover blurb states, you don't have to be from the South to enjoy this book!


A Companion to Wolves
A Companion to Wolves
Author: Sarah Monette, Elizabeth Bear
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/2/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I thought I would love this book, but I was mistaken. It started out great, but about 1/4 of the way in, it devolved into thinking about sex, wanting sex, and then having sex. Lots of it, both wolves and humans. The interaction between the wolves and the humans took a back seat. I got about halfway through, then thought "why am I wasting my time on something I'm not enjoying?" I abandoned it. There are too many other wonderful books out there to read.


The Companions
The Companions
Author: Sheri S. Tepper
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 6/7/2011


Good, enjoyable science fiction without a bunch of technical description of ships, weapons, etc., and very little romance. I have nothing against romance, I just get tired of it overwhelming a good plot. I really liked the description of the alien races in this book.


Confessions of a Demon (Allay, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Demon (Allay, Bk 1)
Author: S. L. Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 3/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Meh. This book had an interesting premise, but it was just too convoluted and not that well written.


The Crimson Sword  (Legend of Asahiel, Bk 1)
The Crimson Sword (Legend of Asahiel, Bk 1)
Author: Eldon Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/23/2013


Pretty darn good effort for a first novel. However, I didn't finish it. I liked most everything about the book except for the main character, who was annoying, thickheaded, and just plain made stupid decisions on a continual basis, after which, his friends (much more interesting) had to risk their lives to rescue him. I managed to finish around 2/3 of the book, then just got too annoyed, and I put it down.


The Daemon Prism (Collegia Magica, Bk 3)
The Daemon Prism (Collegia Magica, Bk 3)
Author: Carol Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/25/2014


(This review is for the whole trilogy). One of the best trilogies I've read. Memorable, well-developed characters and a fine plot. I'm hoping the author might return to this world and write some more with Ilario as the main character. He was my favorite!


The Dark Glory War (A Prelude to the DragonCrown War Cycle)
The Dark Glory War (A Prelude to the DragonCrown War Cycle)
Author: Michael A. Stackpole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/18/2012


I didn't care for the way this book was written. It was rather stilted and ponderous. I lasted about 3/4 of the way through, then just gave up. It bored me.


The Dark Storm (Dark Storm, Bk 1)
The Dark Storm (Dark Storm, Bk 1)
Author: Kris Greene
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


There were a lot of characters introduced in this book and it got a little dizzying when it went back and forth between them all. I figured there was a reason for all of this, so I stuck with the story. I'm glad I did. I enjoyed the book, even though the author can use some "seasoning". Looking forward to the next in the series.


Dawnthief (Chronicles of the Raven, Bk 1)
Dawnthief (Chronicles of the Raven, Bk 1)
Author: James Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/11/2013


Excellent character development, lots of action and magic, and a fast pace made "Dawnthief" a treat and I'm looking forward to continuing the series and reading more of James Barclay's works.


Death Most Definite (Steven de Selby, Bk 1)
Death Most Definite (Steven de Selby, Bk 1)
Author: Trent Jamieson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/14/2011


The terminology in this book was a bit confusing and the writing was on the choppy side. I've read better.


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: