Jennifer H. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 11/7/2011


Loved this book!


Book Reports for Beginners Grades 1 - 2
Book Reports for Beginners Grades 1 - 2
Author: Lynn Inch
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/21/2006


A beginning workbook for the 1st or 2nd grade student. Could also be used for an older child who doesn't like to write much. Black-line reproducible. Lots of variety in the style of reports to arouse interest in the student. This book has never been written in.


Daily Strength for Daily Needs
Daily Strength for Daily Needs
Author: Mary W. Tileston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/31/2006


This Bible-based devitional will point the reader to the Source of daily strength for daily needs. Christ is our fountain for constant restoration!
For each day of the year, editor Mary W. Tileston selected a passage of Scripture, as well as time-proven prose or poetry.


Eternity: Reclaiming a Passion for What Endures
Eternity: Reclaiming a Passion for What Endures
Author: Joseph Stowell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/31/2006


By Moody Bible Institute -- Joseph Stowell is the president.
From the back cover: The reality of Heaven is the cord that keeps pulling us onward and upward in life. Yet, if eternity is not the habit of our heart, life soon becomes hollow and unsatisfying. The frantic pace and seductiveness of this present world threaten to blur our focus on eternity. ...


Jem's Island
Jem's Island
Author: Kathryn Lasky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A boy and his father's overnight kayak trip on an island in Maine.


The Kneeling Christian
Review Date: 12/31/2006


(from back cover) A nameless Christian who has discovered the secret of real success in life -- in prevailing prayer that touches the heart of God and sees effective results - shares the secret here with all who will take time to listen. ... it tells of the mighty strength, assurance, and promises available to the kneeling Christian.


Tuck Everlasting
Tuck Everlasting
Author: Natalie Babbitt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2007


Doomed to -- or blessed with -- eternal life after drinking from a magic spring, the Tuck family wanders about trying to live as inconspicuously and comfortably as they can. Then 10 yr old Winnie stumbles on their secret, the Tucks take her home and explain why living forever at one age is less a blessing than it might seem. Complications arise when Winnie is followed by a stranger who wants to market the spring water for a fortune.

The authors language is elaborate, detailed prose which got to be a bit much as I read it to my younger children, but the older set might enjoy the details and nuances.


Tut Tut
Tut Tut
Author: Jon Scieszka
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 11/20/2007


This book is written in Spanish.


The White Archer: An Eskimo Legend
The White Archer: An Eskimo Legend
Author: James Houston
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 10/28/2006


I read this book to my children as part of a study of Alaska -- it is what I qualify as a "living book" because it captivates the reader while providing incredible insight into the life and times being described. Within the historical and cultural details, the main character overcomes many physical obstacles and demonstrates remarkable courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable obstacles. He is driven by hatred and promised revenge for the people that murdered his family, however, in the end he achieves a far greater triumph than revenge.


1 to 9 of 9