Carol L. (lepracaun) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Capital Crimes
Capital Crimes
Author: Jonathan Kellerman, Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 11/5/2011


It's not often that two of my favorite authors cooperate on a book. It was fun to see their differing approaches.


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 11/5/2011


A delightful book!


The Complete & Up-to-Date Fat Book: a Guide to the Fat, Calories, and Fat Percentages, in Your Food
Review Date: 11/5/2011


A great reference for those working to keep their hearts healthy.


Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death at La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/16/2009


A good mystery, with the added bonus of being set in Venice. The descriptions of day-to-day life -- the police arriving by boat, for example -- are a lot of fun.


Dreams and Swords
Dreams and Swords
Author: Katherine V. Forrest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Dreams and Swords is a wonderful sampler of Katherine Forrest's writing. The short stories (one is the initial chapter of a novel) range from her well-known mysteries to science fiction. All held this reader's interest; many demanded a re-read or two.

Each story involves at least one lesbian character. In many of the stories, however, the gender orientation of the characters is simply a fact, not the focus of the story.

Readers of Forrest's novels will be delighted to recognize familiar characters. They will also, of course, be delighted to meet new characters. In Dreams and Swords, Katherine Forrest shows her skill with the short story genre matches that of her novel writing.


The Fledgling (Hall Family Chronicles, Bk 4)
The Fledgling (Hall Family Chronicles, Bk 4)
Author: Jane Langton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A fun book, but rather sad in places. worth reading, tho.

Take my advice...read these books in order. I'm not sure how any of them would do as a stand-alone.


My Family and Other Animals
My Family and Other Animals
Author: Gerald Durrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A wonderful reminiscence of days gone by, and a book that will have you giggling throughout.

I first read this when I was in high school, and adored it. I shared it with my mother, who enjoyed it equally.

I'm now older than Mom was then, and have just re-read it -- and still got the giggles!


Never Sleep Three In a Bed
Never Sleep Three In a Bed
Author: Max Braithwaite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/18/2012


A humorous autobiography about growing up a boy in early 1900s Canada. This is the first in a trilogy.

The CBC television series, Wind at My Back, was loosely based on Never Sleep Three In a Bed and on its two sequels.


Santa Cruise (Alvirah Meehan Regan Reilley)
Santa Cruise (Alvirah Meehan Regan Reilley)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark, Carol Higgins Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 11/5/2011


A delightful, Christmas-themed mystery. Enjoy this one, and pass it on!


Vegetables in Patches and Pots
Vegetables in Patches and Pots
Author: Lorelie Miller Mintz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/26/2011


This is a great intro to container gardening. Written for children, it provides great info for willing but unknowing adults, too!

Highly recommended for parents who want to interest kids in growing (and eating!) their veggies.


1 to 10 of 10