Cindy C. (CD0927) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Ashes of Roses
Ashes of Roses
Author: Deirdre Purcell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/20/2010


This was a delightful read and a well-told story.


Asking for Trouble
Asking for Trouble
Author: Elizabeth Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 10/9/2012


A funny story of a single girl tired of being pressured by her family to find a man. The movie The Wedding Date is loosely based on this novel.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 1/25/2012


A wonderful story about the power of friendship, no matter how much time has passed. This book is worthy of the woman who wrote Good in Bed!!


Best Friends Forever  (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 1/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Great story of friendship, even when that friendship has been damaged.


Review Date: 9/28/2012


The first of Jen Lancaster's books, it's so funny, yet you really feel what it's like to be just barely hanging on after both Jen and Fletch lose their jobs.


The Black Rose
The Black Rose
Author: Thomas B. Costain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/6/2009


This is a well-written story of love, friendship, and adventure toward the end of the Dark Ages. Your heart will go out to the characters as they encounter dangerous obstacles both in England and abroad.


The Book of Names (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/27/2016


Very entertaining!


The Book of Questions
The Book of Questions
Author: Gregory Stock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 8/26/2010


A good book to use with my students to get them thinking.


The Boy Who Dared
The Boy Who Dared
Author: Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/17/2012


A wonderfully told story of actual events during World War II.


Breathe My Name
Breathe My Name
Author: R. A. Nelson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/1/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This book was very hard to put down!! Amazing twist toward the end. Makes you wonder what goes on in the mind of the mentally ill who have children.


Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times
Author: Jennifer Worth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/26/2014


Wonderful story of life in post-war London. Fascinating look into the lives of the midwives in the 1950s.


The Cat Who Brought Down the House (Cat Who...Bk 25) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/29/2014


I have been enjoying this series for years. I haven't read them in order, but I still enjoy them and don't feel lost in any way (unlike how you can when reading some series). This series is more like being a fly on the wall in a small town and that is part of why I love it.


The Cat Who Went Bananas (Cat Who...Bk 27)
The Cat Who Went Bananas (Cat Who...Bk 27)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 2/10/2014


I enjoy The Cat Who series. They are just fun books to read about a town full of interesting, quirky people.


Doomed Queens: Royal Women Who Met Bad Ends, From Cleopatra to Princess Di
Review Date: 8/23/2014


This was an interesting look at royal women from a wide range of countries, yet one thing remains the same...it's hard to be a woman in charge (or next to the person in charge).


Durable Goods
Durable Goods
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/16/2015


I read Joy School first, not knowing it was the second book in the series. This series is a very sweet & sad look at becoming a young woman without a mother to give you guidance or support.


Finding It: And Satisfying My Hunger for Life without Opening the Fridge
Review Date: 3/21/2012


I think her first book was better.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1388
Review Date: 7/1/2012


This was a wonderfully moving story about life in Guernsey during Nazi Occupation & of how life continues after the horrors of war. Best book I've read so far this year.


How to Be Lost
How to Be Lost
Author: Amanda Eyre Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 551
Review Date: 8/28/2009


This was a powerful story of what it means to be lost. The ending could have been stronger, however.


I Love Everybody (and Other Atrocious Lies): True Tales of a Loudmouth Girl
Review Date: 9/1/2009


This memoir was so funny; I was laughing out loud while I was reading!


A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
A is for Alibi (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 1)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 11/17/2014


A quick read. I had seen this series for years and so I read this one. I think I would read others in the series if I was on vacation and needed a quick read.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: