Leslie L. (genealogygeek) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 48 - Page:
Andersonville Diary
Andersonville Diary
Author: John Ransom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/2/2013


Love first-hand accounts of historical events. A must-read for any Civil War history buff.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 12/29/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book! Couldn't put it down. Did not enjoy the sequel, "Tis" quite as much, but this one was a real winner. Incredible how he writes from a child's perspective at the beginning. I was engaged all the way through.


Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret
Annie's Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret
Author: Steve Luxenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this! Had all the ingredients of a great mystery plus genealogy, historical context, everything! A keeper for my library!


Bernstein
Bernstein
Author: Joan Peyser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Wonderful!


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Who can resist this one? A nice, easy read. Fun.


A Century of Service- The Story of DAR
A Century of Service- The Story of DAR
Author: Ann Arnold Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Excellent history of this important patriotic and service organization. Thoroughly enjoyed learning about the roots of the group.


Charles Kuralt's America
Charles Kuralt's America
Author: Charles Kuralt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I loved Charles Kuralt's style on television; this book captures his warm insights on America in the same delightful style.


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 10/14/2014
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent book! I read it because I had family members affected by the great storm of 1888. Laskin goes into terrific detail about the nature of this weather phenomenon and all the detail of the event, including what freezing does to the human body. Gripping!


The Cholera Years : The United States in 1832, 1849, and 1866
Review Date: 4/2/2013


Fascinating! A bit drier than I expected, but definitely worth the read.


Confederates in the Attic : Dispatches from the Unfinished Civil War (Vintage Departures)
Review Date: 10/30/2013
Helpful Score: 2


This was a tremendous read! Loved Horwitz' approach to meeting every-day people in all sorts of places around the American south. The war truly is not over for many of these folks. Horwitz touches on many aspects of our society and the divide between North and South, and between the races, and yet describes with warmth and humor the individual experiences that tie us to that time 150 years ago. Very highly recommended!!


Dakota: A Spiritual Geography
Dakota: A Spiritual Geography
Author: Kathleen Norris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/12/2014


I liked Norris' writing style and her observations on rural America. Although I was less interested in the spiritual perspective, it did shed light on her view on the world. Very nice read.


The Delany Sisters' Book of Everyday Wisdom
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Warm and witty, fun read.


Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President
Review Date: 10/12/2014


An excellent read... looking forward to more by Candice Millard!


Diana: Her True Story
Diana: Her True Story
Author: Andrew Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/12/2014


For those of us who cannot get enough of the Royal Family, this is a must-read. Excellent.


Duel: Alexander Hamilton, Aaron Burr, and the Future of America
Review Date: 7/15/2013


I enjoy anything by Thomas Fleming. The duel between Hamilton and Burr occupied a very small portion of the text.... the set up in terms of what was going on in politics and society during the early years of our nation made it a worthwhile study. A+


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Should be suggested reading at all high schools. In depth and horrifying details of the US food industry.


Founding Mothers : The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Founding Mothers : The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Author: Cokie Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 12/29/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed "Founding Mothers" by Cokie Roberts. She has an engaging style of writing that kept me hooked in. Loved hearing about the Revolutionary War period through the eyes of the women and their letters, diaries, etc. Very engaging! Now I'm looking forward to reading Roberts' "Ladies of Liberty."


Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Founding Mothers: The Women Who Raised Our Nation
Author: Cokie Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/15/2013


Cokie Roberts has a terrific style of writing. Very engaging. Loved the history and the backstory on each of the Founding Mothers. Great read.


Gracie: A Love Story
Gracie: A Love Story
Author: George Burns
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/12/2014


Warm and wonderful biography of his wife by George Burns.


It's All Too Much: Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
It's All Too Much: Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff
Author: Peter Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/17/2014


A quick read with helpful insight into breaking the absurd attachment to our "stuff." Enjoyed it very much... now to put it to work!


1 to 20 of 48 - Page: