Lesley F. (knitter) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 65 - Page:
All the Pretty Horses
All the Pretty Horses
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/16/2009


What a surprise! This is a beautifully written book by a master of the English language. I can see why it is a prize winner. But this only adds to an interesting story of two young Texas boys off on an adventure in Mexico during the early 1940s. Try it - you'll like it!


Atlas of Unknowns
Atlas of Unknowns
Author: Tania James
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/20/2012


Wonderful! All along I thought this book deserved 4 stars, but the ending was so perfect I had to give it five. Beautiful writing with great character development and plot. Also a good book for a book club, with lots of possible themes to discuss. Read it! You'll be glad you did.


Bee Season
Bee Season
Author: Myla Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 6/11/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I loved this book. I did not see the movie but the book has GOT to be better. It is not just about the girl Eliza but also her mother, father and brother in this strangely disfunctional family. They are Jewish but probably could have been any religion and you don't have to be Jewish to enjoy the book. I'm going to recommend it to my book club because the characters and plot are so well developed and the writing is exquisite.


The Binding Chair : or, A Visit from the Foot Emancipation Society
Review Date: 10/4/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I can see why this book is on so many wish lists instead of being readily avaiable. I'm going to keep my copy for awhile and recommend it to my book club. Supurb writing and character development, a fascinating, intimate story of an intermarriage family in China in the early 20th century.


The Birth of Venus
The Birth of Venus
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 752
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


If you like historical novels (Italian Renaissance) this is for you.


The Blood of Flowers
The Blood of Flowers
Author: Anita Amirrezvani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 5/8/2010
Helpful Score: 3


The title of the book, The Blood of Flowers, is drawn from a poem called "Ode to a Garden Carpet", and carpets are at the center of the novel. The story takes place in Isfahan, Iran about 1620 when Iranian carpets were prized around the world. The story is about a poor country girl who loses her father at a young age and is then forced, with her mother, into a different life than that she had hoped to have.


The Calligrapher's Daughter
The Calligrapher's Daughter
Author: Eugenia Kim
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 5/21/2012


I really wanted to like this book. It takes place in a foreign country during an historical era (early 1900's), two things I really enjoy in a novel, but after 60 pages I had had enough of the style of writing. I just could not continue reading Korean history (and other things such as childbirth), from a child's viewpoint. It would have been so much more enjoyable if the author had written it in the third person. Just another in a long line of books BADLY in need of an editor with a big, fat, red pencil.


City of Light
City of Light
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 1/31/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I can't remember the last I read such an intriguing historical novel. It has everything; The history of Buffalo, NY circa 1900, the development of hydroelectric power at Niagara Falls, the Pan-American Exposition, political plotting, two murders, children born out of wedlock (GASP!) unrequited love, whispers of lesbianism, and a narration by an intelligent woman born too soon for her ideas. Well written, to boot! I wish there were more by this author.


City of Thieves
City of Thieves
Author: David Benioff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 10/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Once you start this book you won't want to put it down. It takes place around St. Petersburg, Russia during the German siege of that city during WWII when two young men are sent on an impossible mission. There is much that is grim and much that is funny and some that is sad, but the story is a real humdinger. I'm sure this will be made into a movie, especially since the author is already an accomplished screen writer.


Clara and Mr. Tiffany
Clara and Mr. Tiffany
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/29/2013


How thoroughly enjoyable! The story of the famous leaded-glass Tiffany lamps, but also a peek into New York in the late 1800's and early 1900's which saw the end of the Victorian Era, electrification supplanting gas lights, the first NY subway, changes in construction, bicycles for all, and the beginning of the women's movement. This is a delightful read based a great deal upon recently found letters written by the real Clara Driscoll because all the historic Tiffany records had been destroyed by fire in 1957. They really should be called Driscoll lamps.


Cockatiels
Cockatiels
Author: Nancy Curtis, Barbara Bonham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Everything you need to know to raise a happy, healthy cockatiel. Mine lived for 23 years and was a very entertaining pet.


Consumption
Consumption
Author: Kevin Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/1/2012


Can I give s book 6 stars? I loved this book. Yes, the heroine, a Canadian Eskimo, contracts TB as a child, but the book is about how her entire life is affected by being sent away for 6 years to a sanitarium at the age of 10. It is also about how the Eskimos are changed by the white man's culture, how the Eskimo once lived on the land, and there is also some very interesting medical information. Beautiful writing. Fascinating story. And some geography lessons as well if you care to look up the places mentioned on maps.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 4/26/2007


Facinating! "Murder, Magic and Madness at the Fair (Chicago) that changed America" Meticulous research by an excellent author.


Don't Stop the Carnival
Don't Stop the Carnival
Author: Herman Wouk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/29/2007


If you've ever listened to Jimmy Buffett's CD "Don't Stop the Carnival", this is where he found the story about Norman Paperman. I heard the CD first, then found this book on PBS and was curious. I'm happy to say the book is very entertaining, fast reading, and is a perfect match with Buffett's music.


The Dress Lodger
The Dress Lodger
Author: Sheri Holman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 5/28/2007


My copy has a different ISBN # but the system refused to take it any other way. Has the same cover, paperback, A-1 condition, Atlantic Monthly Press, 291 pages. If you like gritty, historical novels, this is for you. It is about the cholera epidemic in England circa 1830.


The Dress Lodger
The Dress Lodger
Author: Sheri Holman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/27/2007


Totally different topic and style of writing from her Mammoth Cheese. Set in 1830's England during a cholera epidemic, this book is for those who enjoy history in their novels.


Finbar's Hotel
Finbar's Hotel
Author: Dermot Bolger (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/4/2007


Seven stories by seven famous Irish authors about the people in seven rooms of seedy Finbar's Hotel in Dublin.


A Good American
A Good American
Author: Alex George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/21/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I almost gave this book 5 stars. The writing is just wonderful, not for it's beauty but for the perfect word or phrasing just where it belongs. An effortless read with quirky but very believable people and no real plot (it's a fictional family's history) but plenty of twists and turns and a totally unexpected surprise ending. It lost 1/2 a star for changing in the middle from one story to another which left me rather perplexed. However, it did come together in the end. Read it. You can't help but enjoy it.


The Good Thief
The Good Thief
Author: Hannah Tinti
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 4/14/2010


A little bit gory at times, but a wonderful adventure tale beautifully written. Takes place in New England in the mid 1800's.


Graceland (Today Show Pick January 2005)
Graceland (Today Show Pick January 2005)
Author: Chris Abani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/3/2009


Very different and insightful. We know much too little about life in the cities of Africa - or African history. I'm glad I read this book.


1 to 20 of 65 - Page: