Doreen O. (dolver) - , - Reviews

21 to 40 of 240 - Page:
Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams--The Early Years 1903-1940
Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams--The Early Years 1903-1940
Author: Gary Giddins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/13/2012


Packed full of information about his family -generations before he was born-, his life and sometimes even history about those surrounding his life ..... BUT it read like a Textbook. Great if you need info on him, not so great if you just wanted an enjoyable biography.


Birthright
Birthright
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 613
Review Date: 12/21/2005


romance and intrigue


Bloodstream
Bloodstream
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 1/22/2006


Medical Suspense. Kids in Tranquility, Maine are becoming killers--why?
Good read- kept my interest up!


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 674
Review Date: 9/18/2006


I love Nora Roberts --but this book took it a whole life further! Excellent book, suspenseful with just enough romance. 5stars


Body Clutter : Love Your Body, Love Yourself
Body Clutter : Love Your Body, Love Yourself
Author: Marla Cilley, Leanne Ely
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If you are already fairly knowledgable in nutrition and exercise, then this book is probably a little too "baby step" for you. I feel it is for the real beginner just starting to learn to "love themselves." Excellent book, but things I already knew.


Body Double (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 4)
Body Double (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 4)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 416
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Good thriller with a little romance thrown in.


Body of Evidence (Bayou, Bk 6)
Body of Evidence (Bayou, Bk 6)
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 10/11/2006


A great suspenseful read!


The Bone Garden
The Bone Garden
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 4/16/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I'm not sure how I feel about this book. It is certainly NOT the Tess Gerritsen I am used to reading! Was it good? Heck yeah! I think I am just used to the gore/thrill factor that is so prevelant in her books. This book was more in line with Historical Fiction. But if you are excpecting the usual TG story (as I was)--you'll be in for a suprise. A pleasant suprise, but a suprise none-the-less.


Book Yourself Solid: The Fastest, Easiest, and Most Reliable System for Getting More Clients Than You Can Handle Even if You Hate Marketing and Selling
Review Date: 2/4/2009


This book is full of ideas on how to book yourself solid with clients/customers. From putting YOUR best foot foward, to how to get their ATTENTION, then their BUSINESS.


The Bride and the Mercenary (Avengers, Bk 3) (Harlequin Intrigue, No 663)
Review Date: 12/28/2005


He died. Now she's getting married. Was that him in the crowd? Nice romance


The Bride in Blue (Wedlocked!) (Harlequin Presents, No 1811)
The Bride in Blue (Wedlocked!) (Harlequin Presents, No 1811)
Author: Miranda Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/25/2006


It was Sophia's wedding day, but she wasn't a happy and radiant bride. How could she feel anthing but blue when she wasn't marrying Godfrey, the man she'd loved and the father of the baby she was expecting? Instead she was wed to Godfrey's yournger brother. Jonathon Parnell was coldly handsome, and ruthless about carrying out the deathbed promise he'd made to Godfrey: to marry Sophia and give their baby legitimacy and financial security


Cake Mix Magic (Favorite Brand Name)
Cake Mix Magic (Favorite Brand Name)
Author: Favorite Brand Name Editorial Staff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/15/2008


All receipes are based on a flavor of boxed cake. Most are very simple.


Can't Help Falling in Love / Hunka Hunka Burnin' Love (Harlequin Duets, No 93)
Review Date: 2/3/2007


Very cute! 2 related stories. Both about Firemen!


Carolina Moon
Carolina Moon
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 1/30/2006


I gave it 5 stars! Romance and Mystery all in one. Excellent read. Kept me up a heck of a lot longer than I planned just to get to the end


The Castle of Otranto (World's Classics)
The Castle of Otranto (World's Classics)
Author: Horace Walpole
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/14/2009


Not exactly a 'horror' story...at least not in today's standards. But I did enjoy it. A story of a family in a castle and the goings on, along with some 'ghostly' happenings. This particular translation does include some helpful explanatory notes.


Cat Seeing Double (Joe Grey, Bk 8)
Cat Seeing Double (Joe Grey, Bk 8)
Author: Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/10/2006


Cute book. The main characters are cats. They are the detectives. Far fetched, yes....but a good read none the less


Cataloochee
Cataloochee
Author: Wayne Caldwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/6/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I really enjoyed this book. The rating before I added mine was 1 star --so I almost just passed it up. Decided to give it 50 pages.....at page 178, I realized I forgot about just giving it 50 pages.

The story is about a couple families in the late 1800-early 1900's in North Carolina mountains. It read kind of like a book on local history - telling stories about the local people and the area. I kept picturing my great-greats while I was reading it!

Read it - you won't be dissappointed!


The Chalice and the Blade (Chalice Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Chalice and the Blade (Chalice Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Glenna McReynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/2/2010


I think you have to be a true lover of Fantasy for this book. I love historical romance, but this book took me 10 days to slug thru. Between the difficult to pronounce names and the very magical happenings, I just couldn't get into it.

Another reviewer mentioned Sex scenes.....I guess if you never read romance the scenes are noticable... but really were very calm for a romance genre. (2-3 paragraphs tops)

I won't be reading #2 in the series.


Cheating Destiny: Living with Diabetes
Cheating Destiny: Living with Diabetes
Author: James S. Hirsch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is for someone interested in the HISTORY of diabetes. The author, his brother, and his son are all Type 1 diabetics. The book uses instances in their life --and also goes back to the "founding father" of diabetes research.

Interesting read to be sure, but I was looking for something along the lines of "do this and this to control your diabetes." This is NOT that book!


Chicken (Cookshelf)
Chicken (Cookshelf)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/16/2008


I guess I'm the only one that didn't care for it. I'll admit, tons of recipes, but most of them had a slightly 'English' bent to them. Beautiful photos though (beautiful photos of chicken I'll never cook!)


21 to 40 of 240 - Page: