Phyllis M. (emptynester) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Black Hills
Black Hills
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 7/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Well, she has done it again. An excellent book placed in the Black Hills of South Dakota. You think you know what is going to happen, but the ending is a nice surprise! I must say I may be a little partial to this book since I do live in SD.


Blood Game (Eve Duncan, Bk 9)
Blood Game (Eve Duncan, Bk 9)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 6/8/2011


When young people and children die, do they go directly to heaven or become a figment of our imagination, a hallucination, a ghost or a dream? This is what Joe and Eve have to deal with in this book along with a wanna-be vampire. Not one of her better books, but keeps you waiting for the finale' in the live of Eve Duncan. Must read her books in succession to know the entire story.


Bronze Jazz
Bronze Jazz
Author: John Allen Machado
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 10/3/2013


Amazing read!! Unbelievable how the author got the characters intertwined and got it all to 'make sense'. A little bit(very little) of kinky sex, but does not take from the storyline. Never seen the way it ended coming. Quick read!


Cloud Nine
Cloud Nine
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 7/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


An excellent book. Reminds a person what is most important in life: family and home. Highly recommend this book.


Deadlock
Deadlock
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 6/8/2011


Great read. Fast paced, keeps you wanting to read to get to the end to see what happens.


The Dry Grass of August
The Dry Grass of August
Author: Anna Jean Mayhew
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 9/2/2011
Helpful Score: 6


Well, well!! This book was a book that was impossible to put down, kept you wondering: What Next? Beautifully written. We see life in the 50's through the eyes of a 13 year old girl who has a mind of her own(luckily), life in the South and segregation. Highly recommend it!


Fallen Angels With Connections (HRW library)
Fallen Angels With Connections (HRW library)
Author: Walter Dean Myers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/11/2011


Most of the book is about a soldier's time served in Vietnam(a war that the U.S. 'lost') As the back of the book says: I knew Mama loved me, but I also knew when I got back, she would expect me to be the same person, but it could never happen. She hadn't been to Nam. Also letters, poems, speeches of Lyndon B. Johnson and Robert F. Kennedy and other thoughts on the Vietnam War. Found it very interesting and thought provoking.


The First Phone Call from Heaven
The First Phone Call from Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 6/14/2014


Have read all of Mitch Albom's books and most of them would give 4-5 stars, except this one and the one entitled The Timekeeper. This one seemed drawn out with too many characters, but did have an unexpected ending. Will continue reading his books, because love his faith inspired style.


A Friend Like Henry: The Remarkable True Story of an Autistic Boy and the Dog That Unlocked His World
Review Date: 5/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A heartbreaking, uplifting read about a 'hidden' disability--autism. How a family accidentally finds help for their son by connecting him up with a golden retriever named Henry. Was going to keep my copy, just because, but won't be selfish, because there may be people out there who need to read it more than I have to keep it and watch it collect dust on my self. Highly recommend it for people to read who have children with autism and for everybody else, just so we can see what those families go through!!


The Girl on Legare Street
The Girl on Legare Street
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/6/2010
Helpful Score: 4


An awesome read. A book about restless spirits and family tree mysteries. This book could be read alone, but highly recommend reading "The House on Tradd Street" first so you have some background info.


Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 2/9/2010
Helpful Score: 3


If you have read "The Glass Castle", this book is a must. Tells how Jeannette Walls' mother got her rambling streak, but more so, it tells of her grandmother's struggle being raised on the prairie during the depression years. Could read this one first if you wanted the background history first.


Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy's Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Review Date: 4/21/2011


This is an awesome read, could hardly put it down to sleep. True story about a little boy who dies, goes to heaven, but God sends him back, because his work on earth is not done. Still have my copy, getting passed around the family to be read.


I Dared to Call Him Father
I Dared to Call Him Father
Author: Bilquis Sheikh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/27/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This was a very fast reading book. Amazing how God can show Himself and his plans to people if we would just listen. It is about a wealthy Muslim lady who has been called to spread the message of Christianity. My copy is on someone else's wish list, but will be removing it from my TBR list and bookshelf for a while for other members of family to read, including my nephew who will be leaving for Afghanistan soon.


If Wishes Were Horses
If Wishes Were Horses
Author: Robert Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I have read in a long time. Will the magic of "horse therapy" heal the wounds of two families? Can the man whose wife and son were killed by a drunk driver find life and love again? An awesome showing of telling the truth and forgiveness going a long way when trying to deal with the past.


Invisible
Invisible
Author: James Patterson, David Ellis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/18/2015


WOW!! Didn't see the way it ended coming at all. Excellent fast read!


Letters from War
Letters from War
Author: Mark Schultz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/7/2014


Excellent and fast read!! Didn't know if I would be able to finish reading it because it was so true to life about a family(mother, sister, wife and baby) of a soldier that was MIA. Shows what faith in God can do!


Miracle on the 17th Green
Miracle on the 17th Green
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book was out of the norm for Patterson. Short in length, which is good sometimes. More of a love story than a mystery.


Mom . . . Can You Move My Legs?
Mom . . . Can You Move My Legs?
Author: Janet L. Givens
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/26/2010


This book is about a mother's story about when her son gets injured in Iraq and the importance of Christ in a crisis such as this. I consider myself a Christian. Read about the first third and skimmed over the rest of the book. Very little about her son's injury and recovery. The last two-thirds is mini sermons about how to handle our lives. That was not what I was expecting or felt I needed. First time, in I don't know how long, I have not completely read a book.


Out Of The Darkness: The Story of Mary Ellen Wilson
Review Date: 9/2/2009


A heart wrenching read. Astounding how the human race can stick their heads in the sand, hoping that something like child abuse will just go away is happening still--150+ years after this true story occurred. But then how the love and tenacity of one elderly lady can bring it all to the surface.


A Plain and Simple Christmas  (Kauffman Amish Bakery: Christmas Stories, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fast reading book, loved it. A story about family, love, forgiveness and miracles at Christmas.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: