Linda B. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 150 - Page:
2020 Vision
2020 Vision
Author: Roy S. Neuberger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2012


This was one of just a few novels that have kept my attention from the moment I opened the first page (And I was up until three in the morning to finish it! This is a great book if you are interested in a different look at end times scenarios....this one from a Jewish prospective. Great fiction for Jews and Christians alike.


After America (Disappearance, Bk 2)
After America (Disappearance, Bk 2)
Author: John Birmingham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/29/2012


This was a very good follow-up to the book titled "Without Warning"

Intense action on several fronts, some of it quite ugly if you have a good reading imagination but probably not much worse than what can be found on TV or internet, mostly contained inside what used to be the USA, tied the characters from the first to this title well.

I was pleasantly surprised to read that there is supposed to be another with some of the same characters....probably the ones who survived? I plan to read same when/if I can find it.

If you have read or plan to read "Without Warning" you will want to read this one!


Aftermath (Aftermath, Bk 1)
Aftermath (Aftermath, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Sheffield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/22/2012


This was a great read! Post Apocalyptic story - modern science fiction at its best and a good story line. I will not say that this ranks up there with the Greats of the 20th Century....but the writing is close.

I liked this one enough to order more of Sheffield...say no more?

If you are just starting out reading sci-fi, try this one....not way out there in the impossible, quite plausible.


Alone in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 5)
Alone in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 5)
Author: William W. Johnstone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/18/2012


The 5th in this series brings a new threat to the survivors and the hero is once again involved with dealing with enemies. The latest enemies are violent outlaws who have gathered groups of "followers" - making prisoners of the peaceful.

The author continues the storyline and reminds a forgetful reader of the previous volumes using reflections of the hero....much easier to read than breaking the flow with flashbacks.

Again, there is violence on a similar level to the previous volumes. Again, I recommend the series to those who enjoy apocalyptic/post-apocalyptic novels.


The American Apocalypse: Is the United States in Bible Prophecy?
The American Apocalypse: Is the United States in Bible Prophecy?
Author: Terry James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/11/2013


American Apocalypse was published in 2009. Given that, the reader has the ability to compare the writer's interpretations of "future" events with what has actually happened or been revealed to the world during the past 4 years since publication.

For the most part, I think the interpretations are fairly well matched. There are definite signs of economic problems - certainly there are signs that Christianity is less well regarded by many and that many who claim to be Christians no longer practice their faith. And the list goes on.

I am not convinced by a theory of pre-tribulation rapture although I will agree that there is Biblical prophecy to suggest either. The author has provided chapter and verse for any reader who wishes to consult their own Bible. Given that the original was not written in English, I would suggest having more than one Bible to consult....translations differ, sometimes drastically.

If you are interested in knowing more about the future as interpreted by this author and his research, I would reccomend the book.


Anarchy in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 3)
Anarchy in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 3)
Author: William W. Johnstone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/5/2012


This, the third in the Ashes series continues to hold my attention and take away my time that should be spent more productively. I do not know if the series will hold my attention for the entire duration....only time will tell.

Slightly different in style than the previous 2 volumes - there are frequent flashbacks to scenes that took place earlier in time....sometimes this creates displacement in the natural flow of things but on the other hand, it also allows the reader to "remember" some of the earlier action. Helpful especially if there has been some time passed from one volumne to the next.

The storyline is continuing on the path with the hero, Ben Raines a major player in the action. As with the previous books, there is some violence that could be somewhat graphic for a younger reader but that is not something I can judge...to be honest, there is much more violent content to be found on the television at any time of day or night.

On the whole, I am liking the series enough to have ordered the next few titles in the series. So, all in all, I would recommend this book to others who enjoy apocalytic fiction.


And They Shall Be My People: An American Rabbi and His Congregation
Review Date: 5/30/2016


This is a very interesting account of a year in the life of a Rabbi employed by a Conservative synagogue in a small city in the US.

The author is a professional writer who tracked the Rabbi during what is described as a typical year in the life. We see the Rabbi as he attempts to keep balance between professional and personal life and get a reasonable look at the burden carried by other family members, willingly or not.

It takes the reader somewhat "behind the scenes" in his dealings with congregants, employees of the synagogue's day school, "the board" and unattached Jews in the general population.


Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End
Apocalypse 2012: An Investigation into Civilization's End
Author: Lawrence E. Joseph
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 6/2/2012


Do not let the fact that this was published a few years ago get in the way of reading this book....this is great reading for anyone interested in learning about the various multiple scenarios for a potential serious change in the world as we know it.
Mayan prophecy is only one of the many theories (and science based fact) that this book explores. You may not believe that something big might happen this year but you also might come away from this a believer!
Frankly, I could not put it down. Written by a journalist without bias...presents it as he has heard it from the experts.


Apocalypse Burning (Left Behind: Apocalypse, Bk 3)
Apocalypse Burning (Left Behind: Apocalypse, Bk 3)
Author: Mel Odom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/10/2012


An excellent continuation to the story that began with Apocalypse Dawn.

The author gives continuity to the characters that appeared in the first two volumes and brings in new characters that allow the story to move forward. There is resolution to the problems faced by several characters in the previous two volumes and enough ambiguity that we can only look forward to reading how the author will bring closure.

I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to read an offshoot of the Left Behind Series. I will not say that the series is suitable for all ages, there is violence and you may not wish your younger children to read these books...however, to be very blunt, the violence written in these books are NO LESS than what is shown on television on the news everyday.


Apocalypse Dawn (Left Behind: Apocalypse, Bk 1)
Apocalypse Dawn (Left Behind: Apocalypse, Bk 1)
Author: Mel Odom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/9/2012


I read this book and the second of the series after reading the entire original end time series written by Lahaye and Jenkins.

The first two books are written at least partly, from the point of view of a non-believer soldier on the front fighting in one of the wars taking place during the time of Tribulation.

Lots of action and some very moving moments.


The Aquitaine Progression
The Aquitaine Progression
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/22/2012


I have read most of Ludlum's very early books but I think this will be my last.....I need new storylines to keep my interest and the author's material is just too "more of the same"....(most especially now that some of them are appearing in movie format).

As a stand alone story and if you are not overly familiar with Ludlum's work....I think that this will hold your interest.


Armies of Pestilence: The Impact of Disease on History
Armies of Pestilence: The Impact of Disease on History
Author: R. S. Bray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/13/2012


A historical review of the major disease epidemics and outbreaks. Well researched and documented with a very good bibliography. Should be of interest to anyone wanting to know more about how infectious diseases have impacted various groups of people during peace and war over the course of written history. Written by a doctor but you do not need a medical background to find this book an interesting read.


Battle in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 17)
Battle in the Ashes (Ashes, Bk 17)
Author: William W. Johnstone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/15/2013


This is the 17th in the series about Ben Raines, his Rebels and their attempt to re-build America after a nuclear and germ war that has pretty much destroyed the world as it was.

Here we have our first real introduction to the new Nazi army that has been built by descendants of Adolf Hitler. The army is huge, out-numbering the Rebel army many times over. They are led by a fanatic named General Jesus Mendoza Hoffman.

I am reading the 18th right now....I guess I have to keep recommending the series....lots of military type action set in a future that we can only dread.


The Beginning Of Sorrows (Omega, Bk 1)
The Beginning Of Sorrows (Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Morris, Gilbert Morris, Alan Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/8/2012


First of an intended trilogy....the publisher cancelled the third volume but do not let that deter you reading the first two books.

The USA has taken the path of a "Man and the Biosphere Project" and most of the country has been cleared of people so that the land be returned to a more natural state. People live in "zones" and it is illegal to live anywhere else.

The sitting President has died in a plane crash and the new President takes the country to the brink of extinction, allowing the country's technology to be destroyed by Europe's most powerful country and its leader...the USA is dark and chaos is everywhere.

Enjoyable read...recommended!


Black Monday
Black Monday
Author: R. Scott Reiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/18/2012


A well written futuristic thriller about oil and our dependency upon same. Gives a "possible" outcome of how quickly the organization of this country and the world would deteriorate after losing control of usable energy supplies.
Recommended to anyone who enjoys reading modern science fiction and anyone who wants to be provoked into thinking.


Blood in the Ashes (Ashes Series)
Blood in the Ashes (Ashes Series)
Author: William W. Johnstone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/18/2012


This title is the 4th in this series and with this book, the author has changed the writing style back to something closer to book # 2, flashback sections are again worked into the continuing story rather than breaking the flow by being treated as "separate pages/paragraphs".

As I have written in previous reviews, the series continues to hold my attention. This volume brings another set of "enemies" that the hero must deal with - with the added spice of the leader of this enemy group being a person our hero knew in the distant past - before the bombs.

The level of violence is similar to the previous books and concerned parents should take action appropriate with their own judgment. I still recommend the series to anyone who enjoys apocalyptic fiction.


The Breach (Travis Chase, Bk 1)
The Breach (Travis Chase, Bk 1)
Author: Patrick Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 7/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


First of a series of modern science fiction with quite an interesting plotline. Fairly light reading took me perhaps 4 hours...kept my interest and did not put the book down until it was finished.

Enjoyed this book sufficiently to being ordering the next one in the series which features the primary male and female characters.

Good read!!


By the Green of the Spring: A Novel (Loss of Eden)
By the Green of the Spring: A Novel (Loss of Eden)
Author: John Masters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/11/2016


The third and final book of the Series called Loss of Eden does not disappoint. It continues the stories of the characters introduced in the first two volumes and covers the period 1918 thru 1919 as they come home from war, reunite with their families and deal with the loss of friends and family and with the much changed circumstances of their lives.

The flap on the book cover ends with the words "These characters, and many more, create an epic novel that cannot be put down".

I can only agree wholeheartedly with that statement.


Caravans
Caravans
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/2/2016


An early novel from James Michener and a very interesting one. This provides an look at Afghanistan that existed what seems a long time past and we realize that the time period is not even a century ago. Dated? Yes but still a very good story from a great storyteller.


Caravans
Caravans
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/11/2012


I think that this is the first work of James Michener that I ever read and it made me a Michener reader to this day.

The book provided me with information, albeit partly fiction, about an area of the world that was merely a place on a globe.

Since my first reading, I have read the book a couple more times and it still sits on my shelf.


1 to 20 of 150 - Page: