Regina C. (flyinggems) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 286 - Page:
100 Strokes of the Brush Before Bed (Black Cat)
Review Date: 2/15/2011


This was a very easy read. It can be finished in one day. The writing is in journal style and does not flow well. The writing is OK. Not a book I would recommend to others to read. Just was not worth the time.

You are reading what is on the mind of a Teenager as she discovers herself and her worth.


1,000 Ideas for Decorating Cupcakes, Cakes, and Cookies (1000 Series)
Review Date: 1/22/2013


It is just pictures of cakes, cookies and cakes. It does not tell you how to decorate or how they created the items.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 4/7/2010


What does a Sarcastic Food Columinist and a Hitman have in Common? You need to read the book to find out. Lots of dead bodies and pink flamingos add to an intresting weekend wedding. The book has many twists and secrets. The characters are very likable. Though you are not routing for all the villians, you still like some of them.

A very good read.


Ain't Too Proud to Beg (San Francisco Dog-Walking Group, Bk 1)
Ain't Too Proud to Beg (San Francisco Dog-Walking Group, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 4/14/2011


This is Trilogy series about a group of Women who work for a Newspaper and come together over a love for their dogs. They become very good friends and watch out for each other. Each of the women is so different.

Aint Too Proud to Beg: Meet Josie Sheehan and her goofy clown of a dog Genghis. Josie is the Obits writer for the paper and her story begins when she meets Gloria Needleman. A widower who shows Josie how to find what she wants.

It is a nice quick read. Not too deep and emotional involved. All the characters are very likeably.

San Francisco Dog-Walking Group Trilogy (Read in order because they start up right where the last one left off)
Aint Too Proud to Beg
The Night She Got Lucky
Not That Kind of Girl


All I Ever Wanted
All I Ever Wanted
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 3/11/2011


This is not my first Kristan Higgins book. I like all her books, they are nice and light to read and have just the right humor added to them. I found this one to be my least favorite of all. This story was drawn out. There was no climax just a bunch of small hills. All her books have the greatest characters and this one did not disappoint.

Meet Callie she works for an advertising agency and has been in Love with her boss since he gave her, her first kiss. She has a knack for dealing with people and is well loved by everyone. She has a bitter older sister, a lost little brother, a grumpy grampy, a cold mother, a creepy stalker and a comfy rocker and those are just some of the characters in the book. Then she meets the one . . .


The All You Can Dream Buffet
The All You Can Dream Buffet
Author: Barbara O'Neal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/10/2015


This book tells the story of 4 women brought together by their passions. Lavender the eldest, late in life discovers that she belongs at home on the farm. Ginny, the cake blogger, discovers that she is ready for an adventure and it is time to live her life the way she wants. Ruby, the vegan chef, still lost at what she wants from life. Valerie, the wine blogger, just trying to find what will repair what it left of her family.

Lavender invites them to the farm to celebrate her birthday. By bringing them altogether, they all find what they really need out of life.

I had a hard time getting into this book. I found it very weak. I kept checking to see if I made it to 100 pages. By about 80 something it started to pick up some. It never picked up enough till the last 100 pages. Then I wanted to finish it. I was a little disappointed at the end, it was too predictable.

I have only read a few Barbara O'Neal books. I find them easy to read but not too engaging. They do not weigh heavy on you when you finish them.


Alpha Wolf (Alpha Force, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 56)
Alpha Wolf (Alpha Force, Bk 1) (Silhouette Nocturne, No 56)
Author: Linda O. Johnston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/1/2010


It was OK, not the greatest. The writing is good but the subject a little out there.

Love between a Vet and Shapeshifter, how perfect. This would make a great TV movie for a Saturday night.


Amazing But True: Stories about People, Places and Things
Amazing But True: Stories about People, Places and Things
Author: D f storer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2012


It was a great book to keep in the car. The stories were about a page long. I was able to read while waiting to pump Gas or while sig. other was running errands. Some very interesting stories.


Amazing You!: Getting Smart About Your Private Parts
Amazing You!: Getting Smart About Your Private Parts
Author: Gail Saltz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/22/2010


My children started asking questions. They are all under the age of 6. This book says that it is for preschool age children, 1-6 yrs of age. My husband was not for this book. He felt some of the information was geared for older children. I think this is more for 8-10 yrs old. After sharing the book with my children they wanted to know more about themselves as babies. They did not ask too many questions about the private part section of the book. The first part goes over private parts. The pictures are illustrated nicely and have what we called "medical" termed names. The next part goes over babies. Yes they talk about eggs and "tad poles" I think we may have shared too much info. with our children all because one child asked the other, "if you show me yours, I'll show you mine."


And the Dying is Easy: All-New Tales of Summertime Suspense
Review Date: 8/11/2016


I swapped for this book because 2 authors I like have short stories in the book.

Both stories were less than 20 pages long.

Never Neck at Niagara by Edie Claire
If you follow the Leigh Koslow Mystery series this short story will fall between
Books 4 Never Kissed Goodnight (2001) and Book 5 Never Tease a Siamese (2002)

Not a Monster of a Chance by Denise Swanson
If you follow the Scumble River Mysteries this short story should fall between books 2 Murder of a Sweet Old Lady (2001) and book 3 Murder of a Sleeping Beauty (2002)


And the Mountains Echoed
And the Mountains Echoed
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/21/2016


The book is about 2 children from Afghanistan. It tells you their life story through them and others.

I enjoyed the way the story of the Kite Runner was written, so I gave this book a try. I enjoyed this book and the characters but found it difficult if I put down and went back to it later. The book jumps character to character without acknowledging what character is telling the story. At times I was not sure who I was reading about till a couple pages in. The story jumps around places and times. You have to tie the stories together. I found many loose ends, this book does not have a bow on it. You will have to finish the stories of many on your own.


Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Animal Attraction (Animal Magnetism, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/17/2015


Jade is happy where she is. She enjoys her office work at the Belle Haven animal clinic. She has promised her family that she will return to the family business. Dell is happy being the player but there is something about Jade. He realizes to late that she is the one.

I found this book more engaging to read than her first. The only thing I did not like was that it stayed really focused on the two main characters and not really introducing too many new ones. I like series with quirky characters, this is not one of those series.

Animal Magnetism series
1. Animal Magnetism (2011) Lilah and Brady
2. Animal Attraction (2011) Jade and Dell
3. Rescue My Heart (2012) Holly and Adam
4. Rumor Has It (2013) Kate and Griffin
5. Then Came You (2014) Emily and Wyatt
6. Still the One (2015) Darcy and AJ
7. All I want (2015) Zoe and Parker


Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Animal Magnetism (Animal Magnetism, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Shalvis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 9/3/2014


Brady is just here to help his brothers. Dell and Adam convince him to stay for a month to help out. Lilah makes things complicated stirring emotions that Brady has learned to keep hidden.

This is my first Jill Shalvis book. It was not bad. I liked the idea of the book and gave it a try.

Animal Magnetism
1. Animal Magnetism (2011) Lilah and Brady
2. Animal Attraction (2011) Jade and Dell
3. Rescue My Heart (2012) Holly and Adam
4. Rumor Has It (2013) Kate and Griffin
5. Then Came You (2014) Emily and Wyatt
6. Still the One (2015) Darcy and AJ


Anyone But You
Anyone But You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 8/2/2007


A quick read! Finished it in 1 day. Can it work if the women is older than the man?


Anything for You (Blue Heron, Bk 5)
Anything for You (Blue Heron, Bk 5)
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/4/2016


This is Book 5 in the Blue Heron series.

This book is about Connor O'Rourke & Jessica Dunn.

Connor is chef and owner of O'Rourke's. He owns it with his sister Colleen. He has been in love with Jessica Dunn since they were in grade school. Jessica is from trailers and Connor is from the nice side of town. Connor is the good guy, Jessica is the one with the reputation. Connor has tried over the years to win Jessica's heart but she will only give it to one other and that is her younger brother who suffers from fetal alcohol syndrome, leaving him with a limited understanding of reality. Connor finally figures out the way to Jessica's heart but is it too late?

This book is full of ups and downs.

Blue Heron Series
1. The Best Man (2013) Faith Holland & Levi Cooper
2. The Perfect Match (2013) Honor Holland & Tom Barlow
3. Waiting on You (2014) Colleen O'Rourke & Lucas Campbell
4. In Your Dreams (2014) Emmaline Neal & Jack Holland
5. Anything for You (2015) Connor O'Rourke & Jessica Dunn


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 7/23/2011
Helpful Score: 6


I was a little concerned when I started seeing reviews that the book was not good. If you like Sara Gruens writing, then read the book. If you are Looking for Water For Elephants part 2, then this might not be the book for you. I really like Saras other books. I like her style of writing, she reminds me of Jodi Picoult. Gruen does her homework on her subjects making the story real.

I am so glad that I did not let the reviews make me miss this book. I felt the book was different then Water for Elephants but this was not a sequel to that but a separate book and should be judged separately. The story is very slow to start but draws you in. I felt that I put my foot on the gas and did not let go and then the end was there. It was a little predictable but that comes when you read 2-3 books a week. You know that authors like to tie up ends and give you pretty packages.

There are many different characters in the book, none are really developed all the way, there is no main characters, they all share the role. You are left with some questions about the past and what the future might hold. I would have liked to see a thicker book with more developed characters.


At the Water's Edge
At the Water's Edge
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/3/2015


This novel is set in the time period of World War II and while most are preoccupied with the what is happening in the world there is a society that feels they are above. Three young socialites go on an adventure to prove ones father right and to return into his good graces. Being naive about their new surroundings, one bends to fit in, while the others do not dare step down from their entitled station. Being in a strange land unknown things are abound.

I really enjoy the stories by Sara Gruen. This one did not disappoint me. When I first started reading I really did not care for the characters but by the end Maddie had another friend.


Awakening
Awakening
Author: S. J. Bolton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/9/2011


I found this book very hard to get into. I did not care for the main character and by the end of the book I still did not.

As the book progressed and she researched the strange happenings in her village, the story draws you in. The writing is not great but it is very descriptive so that you can picture yourself there. By 250 pages in, I decided I had to finish. It gives you many suspects and there are lots of twists. It keeps you guessing till the end.


Baby Needs a New Pair of Shoes (Red Dress Ink)
Baby Needs a New Pair of Shoes (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Lauren Baratz-Logsted
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/9/2010


The writing is OK. I just could not get into the character. She is just a very boring person with no oomph to life. She does the same old day after day. By page 200 you have to finish the book because you want to find out what happens. You really do not have to finish the book because you can probably guess what happens and you would be right. I am not really a shoe person but I did look up the shoes she was talking about. There is no way I would pay that kind of $$$ for those shoes, they are just shoes.


Back to Life (Silhouette Nocturne, No 66)
Back to Life (Silhouette Nocturne, No 66)
Author: Linda O. Johnston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/1/2010


The writing is great. The subject is not my cup of tea. I read her other one Alpha Wolf. I did not care for that one either though I was able to make it through the book.
I usually give books 100 pages. I put this book down at Chapter 2.

She helps to save people or cross them over, she is a descendent of a Valkyrie. From Norse mythology, a maiden of Odin who chose heroes to be slain in battle and take them to Valhalla.


1 to 20 of 286 - Page: