Pat O. (PatinCO) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Review Date: 2/23/2010


Possibly if I'd read books by these authors I'd have found the stories more enjoyable. As it was the first three were fairly unfleshed stories. They all started out well, but ended up nowhere. The one by Angela Knight was silly. The only one I really enjoyed was BLOOD LUST by Vickie Taylor.


Cold Snap (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 7)
Cold Snap (Lucy Kincaid, Bk 7)
Author: Allison Brennan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/14/2014


Although this is one book, it contains three separate mysteries which eventually tie together. Patrick is sent to San Francisco, by his mother, to rescue Gabrielle Santana. Sean Rogan and Lucy Kincaid, along with Kate Donovan and Dillon Kincaid are stuck in Denver due to a snow storm, and are involved in three murders. All finally get to San Diego where Colonel Kincaid is in the hospital and Carina is being held hostage.

All-in-all this is the best of the series that I've read so far.


The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
The Countess (Madison Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 2/10/2011


Loved this book. It was hilarious and I was laughing out loud through quite a bit of it. What to do with the body? Who murdered Dicky-George? The scene where Christiana was trying to see Dicky-Richard's strawberry birthmark had me rolling. The ways they thought of to dispose of George's body are funny. It was a quirky romance, and quite enjoyable. Finished it in one day. Pat


Crystal Gardens (Ladies of Lantern Street, Bk 1)
Crystal Gardens (Ladies of Lantern Street, Bk 1)
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/3/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoy all of her books regardless of which name she's writing under.

This one felt like there should have been a pre-quel. If I hadn't read her other books (Arcane, Dreamlight, etc) I think I would have felt like something was missing.

The characters needed to be fleshed out more, however, am looking forward to the other books in the series.


A Curious Affair
A Curious Affair
Author: Melanie Jackson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/16/2012
Helpful Score: 3


This book was not the type of book I usually read, but the story line sounded interesting. It was quirky, the cats were fun and there were some great LOL moments. A different type mystery. She writes like I talk, going off into tangents that really have nothing to do with the story, but for the most part it was a fun read. One thing I enjoyed about the book was 'the story within the story' - THE KISS.


Destined For An Early Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 4)
Destined For An Early Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 4)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 5/11/2012


I've so enjoyed the other books in the series, but was really disappointed in this one. The plot was good, but the constant anger between the two main characters was depressing to me. There were some surprises in the book however and these I enjoyed.


Fall in Love Like a Romance Writer: Your Favorite Novelists Share Their Secret Keys to a Long and Lasting Love
Review Date: 6/16/2012


A fun, quick read by many of the most popular romance authors of our day.

Most have been married to the same man since they fist met, and have weathered the storms of married life.

The book gives a short glimpse and insight into how these authors function in their different capacities - author, wife, mother, widow, etc.

Most met their 'hero' and although the seas got rough at times they weathered it, and are now on the road to 'happily ever after.'


The Glass House
The Glass House
Author: Ashley Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


The series, set in Regency London, keeps getting better. Gabriel Lacey, an ex-military officer, on half-pay, continues to solve mysteries.
The deceased wife of a barrister is found in the Thames. Captain Lacey is sent for and works to to unravel who killed her and why. There are several surprising twists and turns in the book.


Goodnight Tweetheart
Goodnight Tweetheart
Author: Teresa Medeiros
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/18/2011


This book is different from any other books I've read by this author.

Abby Donovan is an author who wrote an 'almost Pulitzer' four years ago and now, trying to write her second book, has writer's block, so her agent set her up with a Twitter account thinking to get her a few fans.

The book, for the most part, is written in tweets and DMs between Abby and Mark Baynard. There were references to movies and TV shows in the book that I wasn't familiar with, but it didn't detract from the story.

All in all, it was an enjoyable book.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 672
Review Date: 3/10/2009


A delightful book to read!!! Not something I usually read. The characters came alive and although the authors didn't go into great depth about their lives, it was enough to make you feel you knew them. Made me want to journey to the Channel Islands.
Written in letters to characters in the book encompassing the time after WWII and flashing back to what those on the island endured during the war.


Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Ice Cold (aka The Killing Place) (Rizzoli & Isles, Bk 8)
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 9/29/2010


Stunning!!! I've read all Tess Gerritsen's books in this series and this was by far the best. Hard to put down. Very suspenseful, terrifying and on-the-edge-of-your-seat read.


Immortal Sins
Immortal Sins
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Although I enjoy Amanda Ashley's books, this one was disappointing. The original story line was good - vampire trapped in painting by wizard father after seducing wizard's witch daughter (who was also trapped in another painting by her father). However, the storyline didn't evolve. It was as if the author didn't know where to go with the story after the first few chapters. It floundered and then abruptly ended.


Lady Maggie's Secret Scandal (Duke's Daughters, Bk 2) (Windham, Bk 5)
Review Date: 5/14/2012


Another good read from Grace Burrowes. Again, she didn't disappoint. I loved that for this novel she gave a Family Tree to try to keep everyone aligned. Maggie loses something and hires Ben Hazlit to help her find it. However, there's more to the loss than Maggie is willing to tell Ben about. This book doesn't have as much backplot as many series novels I've read so for those who don't like plodding through scenarios they've already read, this is a good point and if you haven't read all the previous novels, it's not a sticking point as to having to figure out what you missed.


Open Season
Open Season
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 11/15/2012


I loved this book. It moved quickly and Daisy is a different kind of heroine and Jack Russo was 'gobsmacked'. One of the funniest suspense novels I've ever read. On the order of Rachel Gibson, and parts were laugh-out-loud side splitting.

Daisy Minor is a small town librarian who, at 34 is the typical 'old-maid' who decides to change her image, as she wants a husband and children. She thinks that the way to find one is going to the bars, unfortunately Chief of Police Jack Russo gets in her way and the story just flows from there.


The President's Vampire (Nathaniel Cade, Bk 2)
The President's Vampire (Nathaniel Cade, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Farnsworth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Really enjoyed this book. It's different from anything I'd read before. If you like spy-type, CIA-type books, you'll enjoy this one. It's not for the squeamish however.

It's not really a vampire-type book, but more about what could happen behind closed doors in politics, but on a different level.

It's not necessary to have read the first book, but it would probably help to get the backstory.


Rainwater
Rainwater
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 1/11/2010
Helpful Score: 4


A very different venue for a love story from Sandra Brown. She deals with several subjects in the book - the Depression, racial prejudice and autism among them -- in a very caring and compassionate way. A good book which I really enjoyed.


The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau Family, Bk 15)
The Reluctant Vampire (Argeneau Family, Bk 15)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 6/10/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I love this author and have read all of her books, but this one was lacking a 'good' plot. The substance wasn't there.

Too much time spent trying to convince Harper he was a life mate to Drina. Everyone seems to know they're life mates except Harper. Also too much time spent on the other 'life mates' from previous novels. Didn't feel some were necessary to this book. Did love Stephanie's role in the book however, and hope she's expanded in a future novel.


Rogue Messiahs: Tales of Self-Proclaimed Saviors
Rogue Messiahs: Tales of Self-Proclaimed Saviors
Author: Colin Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/29/2011


Interesting book about messiahs ranging from Christ to David Koresh. Some of the messiahs in the book are well known and some are obscure. It is a book about how these self-proclaimed saviors got where they did, what they did when in power and the final outcome of their lives. It is not a book for the faint-hearted.


Shiver
Shiver
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/3/2013


The only mode of transportation left out of the book was trains. The first 7 chapters were spent in the cab of a tow truck, then we had planes, cars and more planes.

Undercover FBI man - young, single mother tow truck driver who does repo work at night meet under less than perfect circumstances. She has young son (4) and all have to go into protection of US Marshals.

The book starts out great and isn't bad in the middle, but it's like 'ok, we've written 400 pages, now it's time to end it.'

All-in-all enjoyed the book, but would have liked a little more suspense.


Troublemaker (GO-Team, Bk 1)
Troublemaker (GO-Team, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/10/2016


Quirky. This was a little different from other books of hers that I have read and I really enjoyed it. Morgan Yancy has a problem and hides out with his boss's used-to-be half-sister. She doesn't want Morgan to stay and Morgan doesn't want to stay, but the incentive is too strong on both sides. The best part of the story was Tricks, the dog.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: