Jennifer (SailorFigment) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Artemis Fowl & Atlantis Complex
Artemis Fowl & Atlantis Complex
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2013


I was super excited to get this book, especially after Time Paradox. Sadly, this book was not as gripping. It seemed to be missing a lot of the nuances that make Artemis Fowl. I understand Artemis was not himself thoughout most of the books, but the world around him didn't seem much like his world. The same characters were there, but it didn't feel the same. It wasn't till the end of the book that things got back to AF-normal (not just because Artemis did).

The best part was Angeline Fowl's phone call to Artemis! I laughed myself silly.


The Dragon's Son (Dragonvarld, Bk 2)
The Dragon's Son (Dragonvarld, Bk 2)
Author: Margaret Weis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good follow-up to the first one, it left me almost salivating for the 3rd book. I just found the ending a little confusing as far as the physical location of the action taking place. I had to go back and read it 2 more times to finally get the scene straightened out in my head.


The History of the World According to Facebook
The History of the World According to Facebook
Author: Wylie Overstreet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/6/2013


Just like reading a bunch of Facebook status updates, this book got annoying after a while and it was time to put it down and do something else. I'm not writing that as a bad thing, just that the author got the Facebook flavor.

The book definitely requires a knowledge of history or the willingness to look references up. The jokes aren't funny if you don't know what he's talking about.

I did find myself wondering if the specific dates he gave for some events were correct. Obviously Lincoln at Ford's Theater and JFK in Dallas were right, but I wondered about some of the more obscure references. Also, the profile pics were pretty well matched, but someone didn't do all their research. For example: the picture of Pharaoh for the Israelite's exodus from Egypt was a picture of Akenaten. Ramses II was the pharaoh of the Exodus. That bugged me.

I also thought the book could have been a little longer. With not much text on a page he could have added more historical events both past and present.

Overall I did enjoy the book, hence the 4 stars.


The Murder of King Tut: The Plot to Kill the Child King
The Murder of King Tut: The Plot to Kill the Child King
Author: James Patterson, Martin Dugard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/17/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Maybe it's because I already know the story, but I didn't find this much of a thriller or a murder mystery. I didn't like how he broke the action up or jumped around with the chapters. The characters seemed like stereotypes: the evil villain, the plotting general, the doomed king. I applaud his research, but the few chapters about it seemed like filler.

If you would like to read about the murder of King Tut, I recommend The Murder of Tutankhamen by Bob Brier.


Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead
Nefertiti: The Book of the Dead
Author: Nick Drake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/6/2017


I love the Amarna period and I'm glad the author did his research, the little details really brought the setting and characters to life.

As for the story, it was just okay. Our hero Rahotep solved the mystery halfway through and it was like the book went 'now what? Oh yeah, history! Here's what happened.' Or at least the author's proposal of what happened. Poor Rahotep and the reader were dragged along for the ride. Unless you are trying to read every Nefertiti book out there, you can skip this one.


Ophelia's Shadow Theatre
Ophelia's Shadow Theatre
Author: Michael Ende
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2007


It is a nice, short big kids picture book, however the topic isn't something that is easy to deal with with children: death and where do we go when we die? Will we be accepted by those who have gone before us? The ending is very sweet and comforting. I think this book is as much for adults as it is for children.


The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Red Pyramid (Kane Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Rick Riordan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 6/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Love it! All my favorite Egyptian stories come to life before your very eyes! The action never stopped. Gripping, but it got a little tiring for both me and the characters. Can't wait to get the next one.


The Secret Secret Passage (Clue Books, No 2)
The Secret Secret Passage (Clue Books, No 2)
Author: A.E. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/1/2007


Great mysteries using the 'Clue' characters and the game. Fun puzzles for any age.


Seven Days to the Sea: An Epic Novel of the Exodus
Seven Days to the Sea: An Epic Novel of the Exodus
Author: Rebecca Kohn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/7/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A wonderful book along the same lines as 'The Red Tent'. Miryam and Tziporrah each tell the tale of their very different lives and how they came to be with Moses. The women are very well-fleshed out, but Moses and the rest of the characters aren't given as much attention to detail. The ending seemed a little abrupt. Overall, a very good book and highly reccommended read.


The Tea Planter's Wife: A Novel
The Tea Planter's Wife: A Novel
Author: Dinah Jefferies
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/3/2016


Set mostly in the 1920s, The Tea Planter's Wife tells the story of a young English woman, Gwen, who moves to Ceylon after marrying the owner of a large tea plantation. She soon discovers the family is hiding many secrets, including the truth about the tragic death of her new husband's first wife. Soon, our heroine has her own dark secret to keep, one which nearly tears her apart. The ending is not quite what the reader is expecting and the truth makes Gwen's actions all the more heart breaking.

One of the things the author does well is describing the Ceylonese landscape. Having been to that part of the world, I remember the vivid greens, the deep blues; the smells of the flowers... Her descriptions of the cities and the people are exactly as I remember. The setting is as much a character in the story as the people themselves.

The author did leave a few unanswered questions, however they had to do with side characters and side stories and weren't central to the plot.

Fans of Lisa See would enjoy this book, as well as fans of Downton Abby. I look forward to reading the author's other works.

I received a complimentary copy from Library Thing Early reviewers.


1 to 10 of 10