Patrice F. (PatriceF) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
1776
1776
Author: David McCullough
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 11/6/2008


This book made the Revolution come to life. It was well written and interesting. You get to know more about those involved. I would highly recommend it to everyone interested in history or just learning more about our great country.


Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mystery, Bk 5)
Acts of Violets (Flower Shop Mystery, Bk 5)
Author: Kate Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 11/6/2008


This is a cute series. Abby is a flower shop owner and a law school dropout. She has a sense of humor and always seems to be where dead bodies are found. Naturally, she wants to help solve the crime. This is the 5th in the series and all of the books are fun.


The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
The Black Echo (Harry Bosch, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 6


I wanted to try an author I haven't read before and saw Michael Connelly on The Craig Ferguson Show. He was very humorous and the conversation was easy so I hoped that his writing style would be the same. I was not disappointed with this story. I felt that it developed well and I was satisfied at the end, although I had a suspicision of who the real culprit was from about the middle of the book. The main character of Harry Boush is a likeable one and I can't wait to keep reading this series. I would recommend anyone who likes mysteries and/or cop dramas to give Michael Connelly a try.


Decipher
Decipher
Author: Stel Pavlou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 5/9/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This book was very interesting and a good story. It was very, very technically detailed which required some re-reading of information on my part to understand. The comparasions of stories and religious witing I found to be interesting. I recommend this book. The story was good and I feel as if I learned new things!


Green Grass Grace
Green Grass Grace
Author: Shawn McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Anyone who knows growing up in a South Philly neighborhood will get a kick out of this book and the colorful pictures it presents!


The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
The Hunt Club (Wyatt Hunt, Bk 1)
Author: John Lescroart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 200
Review Date: 4/18/2007


This was good. This new character is alsmost as good as Dismas Hardy who also appears briefly in this book. A lot of the same characters turn up in this book as in the Dismas Hardy books. If you are a fan of Lescroart, he's just doing a "spin-off" for a new series


Irish Eyes (Callahan Garrity, Bk 8)
Irish Eyes (Callahan Garrity, Bk 8)
Author: Kathy Hogan Trocheck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 3/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is the last in the Callahan Farrity series. I enjoyed these books and all of the characters, and am sad that there are no other books continuing their stories. This final book wraps up the series but still leaves room for more. Callahan Garrity is a PI and owns and runs a cleaning service, HOUSE MOUSE. She is a former Atlanta police woman. In this book, her ex-partner and good friend (a current Atlanta police officer) is shot after a St. Patrick's Day celebration. The mystery of who and why he was shot is what Callahan investigates. I would recommend this book, but would suggest you start with the 1st book in the series, EVERY CROOKED NANNY, so you can appreciate the characters even more.


The Last Coyote / Trunk Music (Harry Bosch, Bks 4-5)
The Last Coyote / Trunk Music (Harry Bosch, Bks 4-5)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 5/20/2009


I am a big fan of Michael Connelly's detective, Harry Bosch. Both of these books (#4 & #5 in the series) were good stories but TRUNK MUSIC was outstanding. Although all of the books in the series can be read alone, it is best to read them in order because it gives you insight into many of the characters and why they do what they do, especially, Harry. TRUNK MUSIC had a fast moving plot line that takes place in LA and Las Vegas. It was good to reconnect to characters from Harry's other stories. The mob plot line was interesting and lead to a few surprises. I highly recommend this book and all of the Harry Bosch books.


The Secret Pearl
The Secret Pearl
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 5/9/2008


Another good book by Mary Balough. It was a fast read because I became involved in the story quickly and couldn't put the book down.


Storm Front  (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Storm Front (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1158
Review Date: 8/26/2009


This is the 1st in a wonderful series of books about a modern day wizard and his exploits. I was immediately addicted to the character, Harry Dresden, and all of his wacky friends and couldn't wait to read the next in the series ( I believe the total is up to 12 books now). Each one is just as enjoyable as Dresden battles vampires, faeres, ghosts, trolls, wizards, zombies, and all manner of magical and human characters with daring and above all - humor! I absolutely love this series. And, although it was a tv series on SciFi for one season, I tried to watch on Hulu and couldnt get through the 1st episode. It wasn't the Harry Dresden that is in the books. Skip the tv series but DON'T skip this series.


Summer At Willow Lake (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 1)
Summer At Willow Lake (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 9/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book and the two that follow are very good. I love the characters and the way she tells about what went on in the past with them as a back story to how they are relating to others in the current time. THE WINTER LODGE is #2 and DOCKSIDE is #3. The "lakeside series" will continue with future releases.


1 to 11 of 11