Brodi W. (farfella68) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
101 Dressage Tips: Essentials for Training and Competition (101 Tips)
Review Date: 1/6/2009


I really liked this book. However, I am relatively new to dressage and some of the terms or phrases were ones that I never heard of before. It listed other books to read that would point you in the right direction of learning more about dressage. The book is also the perfect size that you could take to the barn or toss in your bag. It had really nice pictures and diagrams. I would recommend this book to someone who has been riding for a while so that the terms and key words can be understood.


Always and Forever
Always and Forever
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/18/2009


I thought that this was a really good book. Mel is a working mother who decides to quit her job and be a stay at home mom. Daisy feels that it is time to try to have a baby. Cleo wants to run the family hotel. Mel always thought that women who stay home to take care of the children have it easy. When she decides to stay home, she realizes that it isn't what it is all cracked up to be. She feels like people think she is stupid or doesn't have anything meaningful to contibute to the world. However, she is lucky to have a wonderful husband that truly cares about her feelings. Daisy has been with her boyfriend for almost 10 years. They were trying to have a baby and then Alex got sick so they quit trying for a while. Now Daisy wants to go see a fertility doctor but Alex doesn't seem too keen on the idea. Come to find out, Alex has been cheating on her with his secretary for over a year. Cleo has been going to hotel management school so she can run the family hotel, The Willow. She wants to take over the business and make radical changes. Her brothers, however, have different ideas. She also meets a man, Tyler, who has a love interest in Cleo, but she is blind to it. I really like this book because all of the stories seem so separate and then become intertwined when the women meet at a spa. I was really upset when I read what Daisy's boyfriend did to her. Why cheat on a woman instead of breaking up with her? He just kept leading her on. I thought that this book kind of sounded like a romance novel, but it is definitely not that.


The Arms of God: A Novel
The Arms of God: A Novel
Author: Lynne Hinton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is very good. The storyline takes place in the 1930s and 1940s. It first starts in the present, where a woman Alice, meets her mother Olivia, that she hasn't seen since she was 4. Olivia dies, and her daughter goes to get her belongings from where she was living. As mentioned above, the majority of the story takes place during the depression era. Alice learns of all the hardships that her mother has faced. When you first start the book, you feel sympathy toward Alice. When you finish the book, you feel sympathy for Olivia. It is a book filled with expression, and the harsh realities of the South during this period of time. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone.


The Bad Boy's Wife
The Bad Boy's Wife
Author: Karen Shepard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. I was kind of worried at the beginning because it was hard to keep the past and present straight, but it became easier the further I read on. The book begins with Hannah and Cole already divorced, and he is remarried and has a son. His wife Georgia is in a car accident and is on a coma. From there, the book switches back and forth about what is happening in the present and what has happened in the past. I find myself feeling sorry for Hannah, but at the same time wanting to shake her because Cole sounds like a jerk. He spends most of their marriage sleeping with other women. Of course, Hannah isn't so great. She also has an affair. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good love story, though it is a strange type of love story.


Beaded Treasure Purses: Tubular Brick Stitch Designs
Beaded Treasure Purses: Tubular Brick Stitch Designs
Author: Deon Delange
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/6/2009


I liked the book because the charts and patterns are very clear and easy to follow. I am going through all the patterns and making them one at a time. I think that any beader would appreciate this book. The book describes all of the steps to learning the brick stitch pattern and has concise pictures. I especially like the color photos that accompany the finished pieces. I believe that this book is a must for all beaders!!


A Beader's Reference
A Beader's Reference
Author: Jane Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/6/2009


I absolutely love this book because it has so many different patterns to experiment with in it. It has all sorts of patterns for all sorts of beading techniques. All of the ideas serve as inspiration to create your own designs. When you purchase this book, you will want to just get started and make all the projects. Some books just have a few different patterns, but this book has so many to choose from. You may not know where to start when you get this book. This book is a must for anyone who wants to use some new patterns in their work or for someone who is just looking for inspiration.


Beading Her Image
Beading Her Image
Author: Margie Deeb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/19/2008


I have always really liked Margie Deeb. The designs and colors she portrays in the book are absolutely phenomenal. The diagrams are easy to read. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys peyote stitch and likes working with lots of bright colors.


Beading with Herringbone Stitch : A Beadwork How-To Book (Beadwork How-To series)
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 2


When I bought this book, I thought that it would have quite a few projects in it, but it does not. It contained information about the history of the stitch, which is facinating, but not what I was looking for. It did show the basics of the stitch. It also contained a lot of gallery photos, but sadly, no understanding of how the items are made.


Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I thought that this was a really good book. Mr. Bohjalin always writes controversial issues for the readers to contend with, and this book is no exception. It is about a young girl who shoots her father one night, mistaking him for a deer. Her father is an avid animal rights activist. The different perspectives of what happened that night are entwined throughout the story so it is not fully revealed until the end. The book keeps the reader entrigued and hungry for more.


Belinda
Belinda
Author: Anne Rice, Anne Rampling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I thought that the book was a little slow to start off with. It seemed that it took forever for the author to get to the exciting parts, though I am not sure that you would call a romance between a 16 year old girl and a man who is old enough to be her father "exciting." It offered an interesting perspective of what a child growing up in the limelight of movies and Hollywood may be like. I thought that it was okay, but I haven't read very many of her books to be able to rate her as an author.


The Birthdays
The Birthdays
Author: Heidi Pitlor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/29/2009


I am not really sure if I understood this book to its full extent. A family meets on an island by Maine to celebrate the father's 75th birthday. The oldest son, Daniel, is in a wheelchair. His wife Brenda is pregnant with their first child that isn't really his because he cannot have children. This fact bothers him a lot. Jake, the middle child, and his wife Liz are pregnant with twins from IVF treatments. I didn't like this guy at all. He was a very immature and selfish character. Hiliary is the youngest child. She is six months pregnant and doesn't know who the father is. Jake is constantly yelling at her to take responsibility for her life. He is very mean to her. Ellen is the mother. She has taken a strange liking to the widow of her friend. Sometimes she sits and fantasizes about this man. The father, Joe, seems to be the only normal one in the bunch. I almost feel sorry with this character because he has to deal with these people.


Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 4/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't really see the point to the collection of stories. I thought that they would all have something in common in the end, but no such luck. Each story seemed more depressing than the first. The tragedies that occurred in the blackbird house were very sad and made me feel sympathetic toward the characters. I don't believe that this was her best book.


Book Doctor
Book Doctor
Author: Esther Cohen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really did not like this book. I couldn't even finish it. It is about a lady who reviews books for people and tells them if they are any good or not. When I got to page 110, I wasn't really sure as to what was going on in the book. I found the book dreadfully boring and lacking in imagery.


Breathtaker
Breathtaker
Author: B. Hollis Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was okay. It is about a race horse who is stolen and carted off to Mexico. His owner Jess is chasing behind to get his horse back. Jess meets a man who is trying to help him retrieve Breathtaker. Jess eventually gets the horse back and races him. The horse is then retired to stud. It kind of reminded me of The Black Stallion books. This book is only 187 pages, so if you like a good short horse story, this is the story for you.


By the Light of a Thousand Stars
By the Light of a Thousand Stars
Author: Jamie Langston Turner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This book is written in 4 different people's point of views. It starts out with Catherine, who can't stand anyone who talks about the Lord. She has a horrible homelife and her three children are out of control. The next person is Barb. She and her family have moved next door and trying to help Catherine's family meet the Lord. The next point of view is Della, who is Catherine's sister-in-law. She moves in with Catherine because her house burns down. The last view is from a hair stylist named Dottie. It is very interesting to see how the author entwines all of their lives, while bringing out the importance of God.


A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
A Cat in the Manger (Alice Nestleton, Bk 1)
Author: Lydia Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book in the series. Alice goes to catsit at a couple's house that she has known for a long time. When she arrives, she finds Harry murdered and Jo, Harry's wife, in shock with grief. It looks like a random burgarly, but Alice doesn't think so. Jo and Alice decide to try to find out who killed Harry, but are almost run over by an alleged drunk driver in the process. They decide to cool off the investigation for a couple of months. Alice is looking for the groom from Jo's farm that seems to have disappeared when Harry was murdered. Alice goes to the racetrack and has no luck but acquires a lover instead. When she does eventually catch up with Ginger the groom, she finds her murdered. She can't figure out how all of the murders tie together. I really liked this book because I couldn't figure out who the murderer was. There was also another mystery intertwined with the murder case involving calico cats. I thought the whole book was very interesting. It made me want to read the whole series.


A Cat in Wolf's Clothing (Alice Nestleton, Bk 3)
A Cat in Wolf's Clothing (Alice Nestleton, Bk 3)
Author: Lydia Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 2


These books just keep getting better and better. Alice is on the trail of 17 murders that are supposedly linked. Every single person had a cat and eah person got a rare wind-up mouse toy left in their apartment. Alice is hired by a special police force called Retro. They are supposed to find out who the killer is. When Alice presents her theory, the team laughs about it, and she is literally pushed into a small corner cubicle where is later fired. She goes on in search of the killer herself, along with the help of Tony, who has left his family because he wants to go into theatre. Tony and Alice become lovers. I don't want to give away the details of the story. You will never guess the ending to this mystery.


A Cat of a Different Color (Alice Nestleton, Bk 2)
A Cat of a Different Color (Alice Nestleton, Bk 2)
Author: Lydia Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Alice is investigating a murder of one of her acting students. Bruce seems to be in love with her. He gives her a beautiful white Abyssinian-like cat. Then Bruce gets murdered in what appears to be a drug deal gone wrong, and the cat is stolen from Alice. Alice finds Bruce's girlfriend Risa and starts asking questions about Bruce's life. Bruce is the grandson of a famous theatre star, but he hated her and all of her friends. Alice is led on a wild goose chase, where she starts following three old men who turn out to have all of the answers. I always enjoy reading her books because it is hard to figure out what is going to happen in the end. She always keeps you guessing.


The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern (Cat Who...Bk 2)
The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern (Cat Who...Bk 2)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 2/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second book in the wonderful series. Qwill and KoKo are on the trail of a jade thief and murderer. Qwill is supposed to be writing about interior decorating when he comes across a dead interior designer. Well, actually KoKo leads him to the designer. Throughout the book KoKo starts to act strange by eating different types of wool, which in the end proves to solve a case. This is the book where Yum Yum comes into the picture. I really liked this book. I can't wait to read the next one.


The Cat Who Could Read Backwards (The Cat Who...Bk 1)
The Cat Who Could Read Backwards (The Cat Who...Bk 1)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book in the series of the famous "Cat Who" novels. I must say that it was really enjoyable. The main character, Jim Qwilleran is a newspaper reporter. He is trying to figure out who killed the art gallery employee when someone else dies. He is trying to figure out if the deaths are connected when suddenly his landlord turns up dead as well. His landlord is the owner of a special Siamese cat that has taken a liking to Qwill. I don't want to give away any of the mystery to the story, but I recommend this book for anyone who likes the series.


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: