Irene L H. (NonExistence) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 240 - Page:
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Wisdom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 11/12/2010


This book was a nice respite from all the serious books out there. It was refreshingly origional and fun. Jazz is a heroine who is quirky, fun, and just warped enough to love--and her world is filled with fascinating creatures, bunny slippers who'd give the vorpal rabbit a run for his money, and one sexy, hot vampire love interest.

The plot is a bit slow at points, particularly in the beginning, but Wisdom makes up for it with stylish setting, magical elements, and laugh-out-load funniness.

The book is light as promised, but also has a few thoughtful, serious moments that I really appreciated. Overall a worthwhile read.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 545
Review Date: 7/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is delightful. Yes, it's a little (okay a lot) on the fluff side and you must suspend disbelief to read it,
which I read in another review as a criticism. The woman is a PSYCHIC, people, HELLO? THERE IS NO
HANDBOOK OF RULES. She's funny and loveable and if you want believable and plausible, choose another genre.
Abby is a bit emotionally inconsistent as a character, (hence 3 stars instead of 4) but I'm betting the author
works this out in later books.

I'm putting the 2nd in this series on my list right now and am looking forward to it!


The Accidental Sorcerer (Rogue Agent, Bk 1)
The Accidental Sorcerer (Rogue Agent, Bk 1)
Author: K. E. Mills
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 3/19/2011
Helpful Score: 4


It's like two different stories stuck together.
K.E. Mills has a gift for descriptive writing. Her characters were all physical presences in the story. She also manages to write realistic sounding dialog.

I just have to finish books I start, as a rule. However, the writing in this book was incredibly heavy-handed. The characterizations are very heavy, there's no subtlety involved. This is _not_ a bad read, particularly if you haven't read some of her other works and so don't have high expectations. If you're in for a quick fix of magic and mayhem, then perhaps consider it. If you've got anything better though, leave this one on the shelf. I have picked up the next book in the trilogy to see what mess they will get into next, but I hesitate to start it.


The Awakening (Darkest Powers, Bk 2)
The Awakening (Darkest Powers, Bk 2)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 4/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


It' a pretty cool idea -- a secret cabal devoted to genetically engineering and controlling supernatural creatures like witches and werewolves.

It's a solid novel that lags somewhat in the middle (when it seems like not much is happening beyond bickering). In this installment, there's no sense of plot other than running from the Edison Group, but it has plenty of suspense, a dash of necromantic horror, and likable characters with realistic flaws and self-doubts.

Definitely a good read, whether for teen or adult fans of werewolves, witches and zombies.

Despite these misgivings, I'm looking forward to the conclusion of the trilogy this spring with The Reckoning (Darkest Powers, Book 3).


A Babe in Ghostland
A Babe in Ghostland
Author: Lisa Cach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/13/2009


Yes, another ghost story. The twist is what you look for.
This has that twist. A romance you think? Well maybe.
Ghostbusting is not as easy as it seems.
Take a read. You'll like it.


The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Becoming (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 8/28/2010
Helpful Score: 1


So yes, the story was alright, for the first book in the series. Most firsts have a ways to go. The dialogue needs some work and the outcome was predictable. I would recommend it to someone who doesn't read as much as I do, or doesn't expect much from vampire books. I give it 3 stars because 1) I finished it, 2) 'Casper' intrigues me, and 3) I want to find out how she stumbles about being a vampire on her own without the help of the vanquished Avery. I'm hoping the next book is better than the first. I'm going to giving the next a try.


Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Bedlam, Bath and Beyond (World of the Storm Ravens, Bk 1)
Author: J. D. Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 7/22/2010


YES! Like the Time Travelers Wife you have to suspend your thinking and just read for a while. Go with the flow of the story.

BEDLAM, BATH AND BEYOND is a quirky but richly developed tale. The mythology behind the Kin is fascinating and I cannot wait to read more of this phenomenal new series.

J.D. Warren creates a rather intricate story more along the lines of the sci-fi/fantasy genre. From the very first chapter, I could tell this story was very unique. I was pulled right in and couldn't put the book down. Warren creates a strong, likable heroine as well as other characters that come along to take part in this unusual story.

I assumed the author was a female. J.D. Warren is a man who does a fine and convincing job of portraying the mind and emotions of a young, independent woman.

Book 2: Crate and Peril


Betrayal in Death (In Death, Bk 12)
Betrayal in Death (In Death, Bk 12)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 595
Review Date: 3/24/2009


Nora Roberts is an excellent writter.
Everyone knows her books are always great reads.


Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Betrayed (House of Night, Bk 2)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 918
Review Date: 3/21/2011


Betrayed, the second book in the House of Night series, picks up where Marked left off-Ater a bit of a slow start, Betrayed picks up nicely around fifty pages in or so.

While I did enjoy Betrayed more than I initially thought I would, it could do with a bit of housecleaning to rid itself of too much coincidence and too little realistic interaction among the teens.

But in general I did enjoy the story and I still like the whole idea of The House of Night and creepy undead creatures and people who aren't what they seem to be.

I will read at least the next book in the series to see how the writing progresses. I'm curious to see.


Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Better Read Than Dead (Psychic Eye, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The mystery is intelligent, the suspense in this book was actually quite good and the adventure plot, with Abby
trying to stay one step ahead of the mob. There are several plot threads woven through the story, and none of
them is given less than its due. I wondered how each of the cases would be resolved. And to top it off, all the
threads end up intertwining somewhere along the path--and not in an awkward, coincidental way. I found the
writing style and characters very believable and fun and, all of the characters from the first book remain in this
one. Abby is an intriguing character herself being a psychic gives the whole mystery novel thing a good twist.

I truly enjoyed this book, and I'm planning to latch on the other books written by V. Laurie soon.


Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 740
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Even though the format for each book is basically the same (Vampire meets human, they fall in love and exist
happily ever after), the settings are modern and language is normal speak, which made reading enjoyable for
me. In the style of Sands previous novels - the content is beautifully developed and you'll find yourself
swallowing this book at an expediential rate!! Complete with witty humor, sexy scenes, fantastic plot, great
characters and sub-characters and a great family besides - this one is not to be missed! Julian - you can bite
my neck any time!!!


Bitter Night (Horngate Witches, Bk 1)
Bitter Night (Horngate Witches, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Pharaoh Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 4


It seems I have been reading a few end of the world books lately. This one has been on the shelf for a while now and
was in need of some attention. I love the idea of the Shadowblades and the Sunspears. Also the concept behind what
fuels their powers holds a bit of logic that is often not seen in supernatural books. Overall I think it led to
enough of a tie to the natural to make it seem even more feasible. Not that I have a problem with the suspension of
disbelief, mind you.

Bitter Night is the first book in a new series called the Horngate Witches. In the beginning I was confused as
to why Max was so eager for revenge, but reading further on in the book gave me the full picture. While her character
is an awesome warrior, and clearly has no problem getting a date if she so dares, she's not perfect. She definitely has
anger issues, and she knows how to hold a grudge. In my honest opinion, I think this has only made her stronger in the
long run, despite the not always great outcome.

In addition to the quality of the writing and the story, Max and her fellow soldiers can kick some serious ass. If you
are into bad-ass super-soldiers and like the tough as nails woman that would put the likes of Buffy the Vampire
Slayer to shame, then Max is your lady! She is strong, focused and used to things that would put down a normal
Shadowblade. And your normal Shadowblade is used to things that would put down a normal human by far.

The plot itself was a strong one with enough turns and reveals in it to let you know that this book is only the
beginning. It also sets up the seeds for several plot points in the coming sequels. It also shows the promise of
evolution for the characters in those entries as well. Add this plot to the cliffhanger hooks throughout and the
emotional attachment to the characters and you have a real page turner.

I'm elated to find a new UF that fulfills everything on my wish-list, and my only regret is that Diana Pharaoh Francis
is still writing book two, so I must curb my impatience.


Black Magic
Black Magic
Author: Cherry Adair
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Despite the flavors of adventure, magic, and romance, I never felt particularly engaged by either the plot or the characters. Unfortunately, the bulk of my thoughts after finishing BLACK MAGIC revolved around trying to create some order out of this welter of mythology and sex.

I felt like too much of the book revolved around one of my least favorite romance tropes, with a break up based on lack of communication (made famous in Rebecca, and a thousand romances that followed). Despite later revelations to explain Sara and Jack's behavior, it couldn't make me go back and enjoy the beginning of the book. Outside what is fundamentally my own negative reaction to a common romance plot line, I enjoyed Sara and Jack.

I would not bother with reading this book at all.


Blackening Song (Ella Clah)
Blackening Song (Ella Clah)
Author: Aimee Thurlo, David Thurlo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/22/2011


Though perhaps not as well written or complex as some of Hillerman's better works, Blackening Song was certainly a satisfying read, a little slow and plodding.

I will admit though that there are a couple of effective scary moments-- immediately spoiled by Ella's shrill insistance there is no supernatural agents involved.

It was mildly entertaining if you want a no-brainer type of book. But if you want something you can really sink your teeth into, this isn't it. The characters lack depth and the plot is hokey.


The Blood Ballad (Torie O'Shea, Bk 11)
The Blood Ballad (Torie O'Shea, Bk 11)
Author: Rett MacPherson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I stumbled across this series at a garage sale. This is the first I've read.

Rett MacPherson writes books featuring Torie O'Shea, genealogist, and her family in rural Missouri right on the Mississippi
River. My favorite things about Torie are her independent spirit and her vast love of her husband, kids, mom, town and
very, very large extended family.

When I picked up this mystery and started to read, it just reminded me a little of Charlaine Harris mysteries of Aurora
Teagarden. With family and friends thrown into the mix.

I guess we can all learn something from books this one about (genealogy), I was entertained and in the end, wanted
more. I do like these books and this author.

Family Skeletons (Torie O'Shea Mysteries, No. 1)
A Veiled Antiquity (Torie O'Shea Mysteries)
A Comedy of Heirs (Torie O'Shea Mysteries, No. 3)
A Misty Mourning (Torie O'Shea Mysteries, No. 4)
Killing Cousins (Torie O'Shea Mysteries, No. 5)
Blood Relations
In Sheep's Clothing (Torie O'Shea Mysteries, No. 7)
Thicker Than Water
Dead Man Running: A Torie O'Shea Mystery
Died in the Wool (Torie O'Shea Mysteries)


Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Blood Born (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Howard, Linda Jones
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 6/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book surprised me in many ways, not always in a good way but it did nonetheless. It's the first book in a
new series and as in most first books it has the bitter task of introducing the world and the characters.

The world we are thrown in is nothing totally unique but it worked for me. We have vampires living hidden
between the ignorant humans who are unaware of the danger they live in. Vampires aren't completely the way they
are often pictured in these kind of books but they aren't really something new either. They need the human blood
and the best way to do that is to stay hidden in the dark or otherwise the humble humans would start a rebellion
against the monsters. That's what most of the vampires think. In the last few years a group of rebells formed
and now wants to grab the reigns of the world and form it the way they want it

We also have the immortal warriors who are there to save the human race from the danger that will come. They are
from another world and can only enter ours if invited by a so called conduit, a special human descendant of this
warrior. The conduits are the warrior's only way to get here so it is a logically step for the vampire rebells
to try to destroy this passage. So the conduit hunt begins.

All in all I think the many story-lines and different plot directions distracted a bit too much from the romance
between Chloe and Luca. I was surprised that they loved each other at the end. The world building was nicely done
and the story was interesting. The story didn't grab me as much as I wanted it too but all in all I may still want
to read book 2, Warrior Rising. I'm highly intrigued by both Sorin and his heroine Iklayina.


Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Blood Bound (Mercy Thompson, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 895
Review Date: 1/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


With diverse characters carried over from the first book and a few new ones salted into this one there were no faces I missed. I look forward to more unique and enjoyable characters as the series continues. Her efforts to make Mercy a girl-next-door-who-just-happens-to-be-a-shapeshifter character who is a girl most readers can relate to are spot on. I won't compare her to other characters of books in this same genre because she tops them all in sheer likability.

If you enjoy a good paranormal tale with vampires, shapeshifters, ghosts and the like that won't get lost in between pages of sex scenes this series is for you. While there's still a tantalizing love triangle element I appreciate that Mercy is a very real woman who doesn't sport a harem of Adonis-like fellows at her beck and call. Briggs never loses the story's plot in attempts to hook her heroine up with her heroes.

My eyes could not travel across the line of the page fast enough. You will not be wasting your money reading this book.


Blood Drive (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 2)
Blood Drive (Anna Strong Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Jeanne C. Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Not only is Anna still not accepting she's a vampire, she's let all her vampiric responsibilities lapse.

I get a little irritated with series that never end and only give us a tiny taste of what is to come eventually. The story was well written and entertaining, and can almost stand alone as simply a mystery book. However, I'm going to need a little more plot progression to continue with this series.

I expected to learn a little bit more about Casper. I was also expecting Anna to learn about this legacy people keep mentioning to her. I also thought she would settle some things between her and Max.

More of a mystery with paranormal elements, those elements include Anna and the police chief being vampires and a school teacher being a werepanther. (That's not a spoiler: look at the gorgeous cover art by Cliff Nielsen.)


Body of Intuition (Karma Crime, Bk #1)
Body of Intuition (Karma Crime, Bk #1)
Author: Claire Daniels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Cally Lazar is a recovering lawyer who joined a twelve-step recovery program to make sure she doesn't fall back into practicing
jurisprudence. After she quit the legal profession, she became a masseuse. With some of her patients, she sees auras that enable
her to know what is wrong and how to heal the patient.

I really want to like this book, but I'm torn between recommending it and throwing it through a window. The main character is
interesting and sympathetic, the setting believable, and the mystery and resulting cast of suspects were compelling enough to keep
me reading through the moments-of-serious-wincing.

While the story behind the name is amusing, as for the elements that were interesting the first time and grew annoying with the
number of times they were mentioned-- especially the "forces of darkness" surrounding Cally's ex-boyfriend and the "cane-fu" sparring
between Cally and her lawyer friend.

Cally the energy worker is an interesting premise, and I will read this author again. I just hope that further books in this series
are a bit more even in writing.


The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
The Bride Finder (St. Leger, Bk 1)
Author: Susan Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 7/25/2009
Helpful Score: 1


What makes this book so different from most in the genre is the unique plot, original characters, some alive, others not quite.
The main characters are actually lovable. The relationship that builds between them, though over only a few days does not seem
rushed. The humor which permeates throughout. There are also threats of deadly violence, along with much magic and mystery.
The plot is entertaining throughout the entire book, never getting dull or boring. And finally the climax is suspensful and unexpected.
The author certainly knows how to spin a yarn!
"The Bride Finder" is a winner for all lovers of romance and/or paranormal romance novels. Recommended!


1 to 20 of 240 - Page: