April C. (verbeach) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
29 minutes to dinner
29 minutes to dinner
Author: pampered chef
Book Type: Other
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! I'm always looking for quick and delicious recipes to try. I have already made 2 of them, both were good, and the chicken curry was awesome! There are several more I can't wait to try.


A Blessing from Above (Little Golden Book)
A Blessing from Above (Little Golden Book)
Author: Patti Henderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/31/2010


Being a Christian and an adoptive mother, I really enjoy this book. It's very age appropriate for my 2 year old daughter. It's short enough that she doesn't get bored, the illustrations are colorful and full of animals that she likes to point out. I think books like this are a good way to expose a young adopted child to the concept of adoption.


Fox River
Fox River
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/1/2009


I am always hesitant to spend my money (or credits, in the case of PaperbackSwap) on authors I've never heard of, but I got this one from a friend and decided to give it a chance. I was pleasantly surprised, it was pretty good! There is romance, mystery and murder, as well as a second storyline in this book.


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 8/14/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I was so excited to see a new Audrey Niffenegger book on the shelves, because The Time Traveler's Wife is one of my all-time favorite books. I was so bored and uninterested, I didn't make it past the first 100 pages. What a disappointment!


House of Sand and Fog
House of Sand and Fog
Author: Andre Dubus III
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 807
Review Date: 7/1/2009


This is an incredible book, I recommend it to everyone!


I Don't Have Your Eyes
I Don't Have Your Eyes
Author: Carrie A. Kitze
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/31/2010


I really enoy this book, and my daughter calls it "our special book." It talks about how even though an adopted child doesn't look like their aodoptive parent, their similarities on the inside are what matters. My daughter is at the age (2 years old) where she like to point out the hands, feet, eyes, etc. mentioned in the book, so she doesn't get bored before it's over. I think the book is very sweet, and I usually get a little teary before it's over!


Lady of Skye
Lady of Skye
Author: Patricia Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love historical fiction, and this is one of the best I've read! I love the strong female lead character; none of those simpering, fainting, weak-minded women here! The lead male character is delicious as well. I really like this author's historical fiction; she has also written a bunch of books under the name Meg Cabot (The Princess Diaries series for young adults, for one, and many more for adult readers.)


The Lucky One
The Lucky One
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 7/6/2009


Whether that's a good thing or a bad thing for you. I have read most of his books, and they are a bit cookie-cutter and predictable, but sometimes I like a fairy-tale ending! A fast read, and would be a good beach or vacation book.


Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Mennonite in a Little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home
Author: Rhoda Janzen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 8/14/2010
Helpful Score: 22


I had a hard time deciding how many stars to give this book, because on one hand, it started out on a great note. It was so hilarious I was laughing out loud! About halfway through, however, the theme of the book takes a turn from funny to offensive (for me.) The author spends most of the latter half of the book talking about how religious people are all brainwashed sheep and how offensive they are to her, all except her family, I suppose. If she had kept going like she started the book, I would have given it 5 stars. But being a brainwashed sheep myself, I wouldn't have bought the book if I had known what was in store.


The Mermaid Chair
The Mermaid Chair
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1467
Review Date: 7/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Especially after Secret Life of Bees, which I loved. The main character was annoying and without ruining the plot for those who will read it, I took issue with the character's morals and choices in life.


Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways, Bk 1)
Mine Till Midnight (Hathaways, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 786
Review Date: 7/1/2009


This is the frist book I have read by Lisa Kleypas, and I ordered the sequel as soon as I had finished it! Lisa is a great romance author, and I loved the characters and the plot.


The Pillars of the Earth
The Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1165
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book is definitely in my top 5 of favorite books! I ordered it after seeing it featured on Oprah as her Book of the Month selection, even though I have HATED several of her picks, this one sounded too good to pass up. I wasn't disappointed! I love historical fiction for one, and I loved all of the characters and description of life in the Middle Ages in England.


Portrait Of My Heart
Portrait Of My Heart
Author: Patricia Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I had read several of this author's other books (under the name Meg Cabot) and enjoyed them, so when I found out she had also written historical fiction, which is one of my favorite genres, I requested them all right away! I really like her style of writing; not too sleazy on the romance, and also a great plot. Check out Lady of Skye, also by this author- I liked it even better than Portrait of My Heart.


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3404
Review Date: 7/1/2009


I love, love, LOVE this book! I have read it several times. I love the way Anita Diamant takes a story from the Bible and fills in all the cracks with this creative, passionate story. You'll feel like you're there living it with all of the characters!


The Red Thread
The Red Thread
Author: Ann Hood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This novel was moving, heart wrenching, and beautiful- much like adoption itself. A real tearjerker in my opinion, especially for an adoptive partent like myself. Get the Kleenex! I know it is a fictional story, but it seemed like every adoptive couple in the story had a deep, dark secret, or an ulterior motive. Not all adoptive parents are looking to replace a lost child, or aren't satisfied with the one they have, or gave up a baby in their past. I guess I'm kinda sensitive about the way adoptive parents are portrayed and the generalizations that are sometimes made. Felt like the sex/romance parts were too much- I really didn't need to read about the sex lives of 20 couples.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5494
Review Date: 7/5/2009


I had read some of Sue Monk Kidd's other books and wasn't that impressed, but I definitely changed my mind about her after I read the Secret Life of Bees. It's a beautiful, heartwarming, and also sad story, but still a great one!


Seduce Me At Sunrise (Hathaways, Bk 2)
Seduce Me At Sunrise (Hathaways, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 583
Review Date: 7/1/2009


I loved the prequel to this book, so I ordered this one right away. I really like the Gypsy characters and storyline in this book, as well as the other characters. Win was a little wimpy for me, but shows her stronger side later on in the book. Also has a couple mystery-type elements as well.


Shem Creek (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 4)
Shem Creek (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 4)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 7/1/2009


I really enjoy all of this author's books. Most of them are set in the South, (South Carolina, I believe) and I just love reading about the Southern culture, me being from the Northwest! Great character development, loved the storyline.


Swapping Lives
Swapping Lives
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 7/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love all of Jane Green's books! She has a great modern, witty, and emotional way of telling stories. This book goes a little deeper than most of her other books, in my opinion. I think the moral of this story is that while you might think someone else's life is better than yours, the grass isn't always greener on the other side!


Tell No One
Tell No One
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 730
Review Date: 7/5/2009


This was the first Harlan Coben book I read, several years ago, and I have read all of his books since. This book was suspenseful and every time I had to put it down, I couldn't wait to read more! His subsequent books I find a little generic with many recurring themes, but they are easy, funny reads (especially the Myron Bolitar series), so I keep reading!


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: