Judy B. (QMJudy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
101 Ways Feng Shui Can Change Your Life
101 Ways Feng Shui Can Change Your Life
Author: Nancilee Wydra
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/26/2011


Lots of good ideas for decorating and organizing your home. It may be hooey-fooey, but it's fun and helps you think about just what your goals for life are.


50 Ways to Meet Your Lover : Following Cupid's Arrow
50 Ways to Meet Your Lover : Following Cupid's Arrow
Author: Cathleen Rountree
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A nice collection of anecdotes of how couples met.

I don't think the title is a good one, though - it has no advice on how to meet someone. Since some of the stories are almost a century old, it would be difficult to re-create them.


Backyard Songbirds: An Illustrated Guide to 100 Familiar Species of North America
Review Date: 8/30/2009


Beautiful pictures in large format. Great for keeping out on the coffee table.


The Bipolar Advantage
The Bipolar Advantage
Author: Tom Wootton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/17/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I hoped for some positive thoughts to help deal with a relative who is Bipolar. Got nothing from this book.
I think the author needs to go back on his meds.


Birds of North America: A Guide to Field Identification (Golden Field Guides)
Review Date: 7/13/2011


Excellent book for the beginning birder. Descriptions of each one. Pictures in groups of similiar birds (with sizes noted) so that you can compare.
My 1986 edition has a blue cover with a circle containing three songbirds. Definitely my take-along book for trips.


Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 8/17/2010


Way too graphic for me. Take out the sex scenes and there's barely any story left.
That said, I DID read the whole thing. But domestic abuse and personality disorders are NOT my idea of topics for a good novel.
Sugar Daddy was so much better, in my estimation.


Breeding Zebra Finches
Breeding Zebra Finches
Author: Mervin F. Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/27/2008


Good info on these little birds. Helpful hints and information.


Clearing the Clutter for Good Feng Shui
Clearing the Clutter for Good Feng Shui
Author: Mary Lambert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/23/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This is an extremely simplistic book.

Summed up: Clutter is bad. Tidy it up.


Colors Insulting to Nature
Colors Insulting to Nature
Author: Cintra Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/24/2012


I found the first 20 pages of this book to be poorly written. I found the subject matter to be tasteless.
After 22 pages, I tossed it into the trash.


Draw Dinosaurs
Draw Dinosaurs
Author: Doug DuBosque
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/30/2009


Looks good. Gave it to my 13yo grandson and he seemed pleased.


The Face of the Waters
The Face of the Waters
Author: Robert Silverberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/5/2012


Just re-read this one and was pretty engrossed. I've not been reading much sci-fi lately. There are lots of water-creatures described, a total fantasy world of water and artificial islands, a little violence and gore, a little sex, a little romance, a little religion/philosophy. Something for everyone. (Except the kids, a fair sprinkling of not-for-kid words.)


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 945
Review Date: 10/27/2008


Evanovich just keeps rocking. Stephanie Plum keeps on keeping on.


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 10/28/2011


Shades of Marabel Morgan! Although the ideas here have a ring of truth, they still leave me unsatisfied.


God Never Blinks
God Never Blinks
Author: Regina Brett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/11/2014


This little book has so much good advice and is easy to read. Little things, but very profound. Like "Just take the next right step." Great advice for getting through life.
I'm keeping a spare copy on hand for gifts. Just sent one to my BIL who's struggling with chemotherapy. I've shared it with my daughter, who loves it too.


God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours
God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours
Author: Regina Brett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/9/2014


Inspiring but practical. I've given away copies to several friends. Great advice in each chapter. My favorite is: Overprepare, then go with the flow.


God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours
God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours
Author: Regina Brett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/7/2011


So many really down-and-dirty inspirational stories. Not pie in the sky. My favorite is "Overprepare, then go with the flow". A great philosophy.


God's Guest List: Discovering the Surprising Purpose of the People in Our Lives
Review Date: 10/31/2017


I was mildly disappointed with this book. It was much too specific to the authors life,; It really did not speak to me.


Good to a Fault
Good to a Fault
Author: Marina Endicott
Book Type: Perfect Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This story about a women who takes on the care of a family while the mom is hospitalized is an engrossing, real tale. No one dies. No one has graphically described sex. Just real life.


Happy for No Reason: 7 Steps to Being Happy from the Inside Out
Happy for No Reason: 7 Steps to Being Happy from the Inside Out
Author: Marci Shimoff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/8/2015


This is one of the books that I keep in order to pull out and re-read from time to time. There is wonderful advice in here. Good ways of changing one's perspective.
Highly recommended.


Inside the Not So Big House: Discovering the Details that Bring a Home to Life (Susanka)
Review Date: 9/11/2012


Loved Susanka's first books, but this one, not so much. I'm thinking the co-author had too much hand in the prose. The ideas and pictures are good, but the text, no thank you.
If I never read the phrase "thoughtfully designed" again, I'll be happy. I mean really, design is ALWAYS thoughtful.
And "honest trim"? Come on, have you ever seen "dishonest trim"? And it sounds as if you couldn't tell the dining room from the living room unless the ceiling "signaled" a change.
Oh, please!


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: