Virginia F. (sweetgenny) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
After Anna
After Anna
Author: Lisa Scottoline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/12/2018


I admit I have read very few of Scottoline's books, but this one caught my interest. I am sooo glad it did!!!

Really kept me reading "just one more page." Sometimes I was not sure of how she manipulated situations a little unrealistically - but all in all a good read.

I will now have to give some of her others a chance!!

Gengie


Alter Ego (Jonathan Stride, Bk 9)
Alter Ego (Jonathan Stride, Bk 9)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/6/2018


Really, Really good. Much better than last few.

Keeps you reading longer than you should!!!

engie


The Bad Daughter: A Novel
The Bad Daughter: A Novel
Author: Joy Fielding
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/11/2018


Not sure I care to read another book by this author. WAY too verbose. If Robin said "I'm sorry" one more time, I was ready to scream. She spent most of the book with no backbone and apologizing constantly. Melanie needs to meet up with someone with a worse attitude than herself - though not sure there could be anyone.

Too many other great ones waiting out there for me - will not waste time on another like this one.


Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Breaking Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 11/26/2011


This 3rd book with Kate surely continues to keep her in the forefront for police chief of the year.

I love the setting in Amish country as well as her continuing battles to handle a police department made up mostly of men.


The Castaways
The Castaways
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 5/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is my third Hilderbrand book I've read, and every one seems to get better.

This was soooooo good! So many twists and turns concerning each character - and every new twist very believeable - nothing false about any of the book.

Characters all become real people to me and I hated to see the book end.

But, ready for the next one now.


Everything She Ever Wanted
Everything She Ever Wanted
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/13/2009


Did not finish the book - did not like it at all.


Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 8/7/2009


I had never read a book by Mr. Flynn. I did not finish the book, as I found it quite wordy and did not hold my interest.


Goodbye to the Dead (Jonathan Stride, Bk 7)
Goodbye to the Dead (Jonathan Stride, Bk 7)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/27/2016


I was really glad to read this book - explained a lot of Stride's past history with his wife. Also, it was quite a good story. Gengie


The Lake of Dreams
The Lake of Dreams
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/6/2011
Helpful Score: 4


Afraid I agree with other reviewer - this book not worth trying to trudge through it - waiting for something interesting to happen.

I was very disappointed, since I loved Memory Keeper's Daughter.

I bought it new because I was so anxious to read it and am sorry I wasted my money on it.


The Last Thing She Ever Did
The Last Thing She Ever Did
Author: Gregg Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/28/2018


Really good one. Sucked me in fast and made me worry about possibly making some of the same bad decisions characters made if I was pushed into a corner.

Really recommend this one.

Gengie


The Outsider
The Outsider
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/6/2018


I don't read all of Stephen's books, but this one caught my attention from the beginning and was like Stephen's old books - real creepy!!!

Loved it.

Gengie


The Perfect Couple
The Perfect Couple
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/7/2018


I have read every one of Elin's Nantucket books and loved each one!!

This one goes to the top of the list - really great story lines, lots of surprises, and even a murder mystery!!

I honestly don't read as much as I want to each time I sit down because I hate for the book to end!!!!


The President is Missing
The President is Missing
Author: President Bill Clinton, James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/23/2018


As another reviewer said, please waste neither credits nor money on this book - go to the library or borrow is from a friend. Very unrealistic and goes on forever about nonsensical details.

I expected sooo much more from both of them.

Gengie


Red Leaves
Red Leaves
Author: Thomas H. Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


WOW!! What a page turner!!! Really a seriously good mystery with lots of family drama.

Ending will grab you!!

Loved it.

Gengie


Shadow Man (Smoky Barrett, Bk 1)
Shadow Man (Smoky Barrett, Bk 1)
Author: Cody McFadyen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 3/21/2011


This is about the most detailed, thrilling, action packed book about a serial killer I have ever read - and this type of book is about all I read.

Love Smoky Barrett and her personal history with killers.

I have rounded up the next three and can't wait to read them!!!

If you enjoy "murder and killin' " you'll love this!!


Silver Girl
Silver Girl
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 3/19/2012


I became a Elin-Hilderbrand girl when I read one of her books for the first time - having since read every one!!!!

I am always transported to Nantucket Island and always dropped back into my real life when I put the book down after reading a few pages or the whole book!!

Love the stories of friendships because I am still very close to 5 high school friends - I can always picture us going through the same things together.

Very good book because it comes from today's headlines - another ponzzi scheme, but this time you have an inside edge to the story.


Summerland: A Novel
Summerland: A Novel
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/6/2012


I have read every other book by Elin and could not wait for this one - even bought it new.

But, alas, I was disappointed. Not up to all the others. Hated the ending.

Characters all seem to be shallow and boring.

Sorry, but I wish I had my money back.


Winter Stroll
Winter Stroll
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/10/2015


I'm afraid for the first time I am disappointed in Elin's latest book. Could have been written on about half the pages. And, none of the main characters are able to make a reasonable decision when it comes to making a decision about their own life. Sorry, 'cause I have read every one of her's and loved them.


1 to 18 of 18