Cathy J. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
The Best of Sean Patrick: Memories of Growing Up Catholic
The Best of Sean Patrick: Memories of Growing Up Catholic
Author: Sean Patrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/8/2010


This book contains stories which bring back those earlier, simpler times when respect, honor, and being your brother's keeper were normal and how friendships between people of different backgrounds were possible. Sean Patrick wrote these stories for the Catholic Digest and I subscribed to it just to read them. I LOVE his writing, which often brought me to tears. Heart-warming! You won't be sorry to read this one.


The Body in the Basement (Faith Fairchild, Bk 6)
The Body in the Basement (Faith Fairchild, Bk 6)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Wasn't quite what I expected, but I did finish it and enjoyed it. Light reading. I'm copying the recipes that are printed at the end of the story.


The Carriage House (Texas Rangers, Bk 1)
The Carriage House (Texas Rangers, Bk 1)
Author: Carla Neggers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 3/26/2007


This was a fun, light mystery to read.


CASE OF MURDERED MAC
CASE OF MURDERED MAC
Author: E.V. Cunningham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An easy and enjoyable read. I read it in one sitting because I liked it and couldn't wait to see what happened. The detective is Masao Masuto and he brings his Zen Buddhist background into his work. This reminds me of Sherlock Holmes/Watson or Hercule Poirot/Hastings genre.


Cat on the Edge  (Joe Grey, Bk 1)
Cat on the Edge (Joe Grey, Bk 1)
Author: Shirley Rousseau Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Joe Grey is a cat who learns that he can understand and speak. He witnesses a murder and for some strange reason, the killer recognizes something about him and tries to kill him, too. Joe eventually meets another cat who has the same "problem" and is also pursued by the same killer. It was a fun and entertaining story.


The Cat Who Robbed a Bank (Cat Who...Bk 22)
The Cat Who Robbed a Bank (Cat Who...Bk 22)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 10/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Love all her books! Clean & fun to read.


Creature Cozies
Creature Cozies
Author: Jill M. Morgan (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/12/2007


Eleven stories by eleven different authors. If you like animal stories, you should like this one.


The Demon in the Teahouse (Samurai Detective, Bk 2)
The Demon in the Teahouse (Samurai Detective, Bk 2)
Author: Dorothy Hoobler, Thomas Hoobler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/9/2007


Sequel to the "Ghost in Tokaido Inn," which is the winner of many awards. I read it in one sitting. It's very light reading. Someone is murdering geishas and setting fires and Seikei and Judge Ooka are once again on the trail of a murderer.


The Famous DAR Murder Mystery (Borderville, Bk 1)
The Famous DAR Murder Mystery (Borderville, Bk 1)
Author: Graham Landrum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/4/2008


Light, clean, good reading. Won't keep you up at night and may even bring a laugh or two!


The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn
The Ghost in the Tokaido Inn
Author: Dorothy Hoobler, Thomas Hoobler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/26/2007


Although a book for "young adults," I enjoyed it. It was a light read but full of old-time Japanese culture customs. A good book to read just for fun, but had a good story, too.


Glimpses of Heaven: True Stories of Hope and Peace at the End of Life's Journey
Review Date: 9/11/2013


This is a very inspiring account of people who made the transition from life to death. Written by a hospice nurse in short, concise stories. Nothing macabre here. Very good read. Sorry I can't post it just yet. It is making the rounds among my friends.


Journeys Home
Journeys Home
Author: Marcus Grodi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/14/2012


Love to read inspirational stories and this book is full of stories of people who were so anti-Catholic and how they came to see the truth of the Church's teachings.


Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Knit One, Kill Two (Knitting Mystery, Bk 1)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 10/4/2008


Light reading ... heavy on coffee drinking and knitting. But I still enjoyed reading it.


Lovely in Her Bones (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 2)
Lovely in Her Bones (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 2)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 4/9/2008


First book I've read by Sharyn Mccrumb and I didn't know how well I'd like her story, but it was well written and kept my attention.


Miss Seeton Sings (Miss Seeton, Bk 4)
Miss Seeton Sings (Miss Seeton, Bk 4)
Author: Heron Carvic
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/21/2007


Retired art teacher Miss Seeton steps in where Scotland Yard stumbles. Armed with only her sketch pad and umbrella, she is every inch an eccentric English spinster and at every turn the most lovable and unlikely master of detection.


The Quickie
The Quickie
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/29/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Could not get into this book as quickly as other James Patterson books, but the action picked up along the way. Can't say it's one of my favorites. But it is a study in how far a person will go to save him/herself and you feel the pressures Lauren, the main character, goes through. In addition, there is a message that you never know what a person is really like.


The Saving Graces
The Saving Graces
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 3/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good "chick" book about friendship between four women over a period of ten years and how they grow together.


The Sensational Music Club Mystery (Sensational Music Club Murder)
Review Date: 10/4/2008


Another light mystery that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.


Summer Getaways: Spring in Paris / Wall of Stone / River Runners / Sudden Showers
Review Date: 11/17/2008


Four different stories of romance. Each one different ... light, easy reading. Christian book.


Thursdays at Eight
Thursdays at Eight
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 4/9/2008


This is the first book I've read by this author. I really like her style and the storyline. I'll be looking forward to reading other books by her.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: