Jennifer L. (jenluxy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Angel Cafe
Angel Cafe
Author: Jill Morrow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/26/2010


Ugh....not a bad premise, but then dives in the the unbelievable and never resurfaces! So bad.


Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet
Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet
Author: Joanne Proulx
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/23/2009


I really liked it! Read it in one sitting in about 4 hours.


Assisted Loving: True Tales of Double Dating with My Dad
Assisted Loving: True Tales of Double Dating with My Dad
Author: Bob Morris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/4/2009


Cute, but a bit indulgent.


Case Histories
Case Histories
Author: Atkins
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/12/2011


The prose is excellent, but the structure is not for me. She wanders...she'll start with an event and then bring in another character and go on a tangent for pages, before coming back to the event. It's frustrating when the plot is good, but it keeps getting interrupted.


The Cheese Monkeys: A Novel In Two Semesters (P.S.)
The Cheese Monkeys: A Novel In Two Semesters (P.S.)
Author: Chip Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/22/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't get thru this book, not because it was difficult, I was just bored and couldn't get into the characters. I didn't care about them enough to follow their lives.


China Lake
China Lake
Author: Meg Gardiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Quick read, good writing and interesting characters, this particular story's subject matter was just was a bit off for me... religious zealots, government conspiracy, no one believing the main characters.... not my thing, but still well written and a fast read.


A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
A Discovery of Witches (All Souls, Bk 1)
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 3/30/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I don't usually write reviews, but I hated this book so much I had to.... Here's a brief synopsis of the book.... SPOILER ALERT!!!!

I'm a witch, but I don't use my powers to get ahead, I'm a strong independent women who's worked hard for everything I've accomplished. Oh look, a ancient book that many witches and vampires and daemons are looking for... I'm in Danger! Big stong brooding vampire please save me!! You're alpha male, I'll do anything you say....

It just goes on from there.... but that's about 200 pages in!!! By the time I got to 300 pages, I thought it's got to get better, they've got to get back to the main story about the book she found... nope.

If you like Harlequine romances, but with vampires, then this is for you.


Heartsick (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 1)
Heartsick (Archie and Gretchen, Bk 1)
Author: Chelsea Cain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 4/26/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Pretty good. Writing is basic, not great, but not bad either. The characters are really good and you get sucked into their lives and the twist at the end how she wraps everything up, is nice!


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 3/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the Time Travelers Wife, but this one is bad. You can see the"twist" coming from a mile away, plus it doesn't even make sense. Very disappointed.


In Their Blood
In Their Blood
Author: Sharon Potts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Ok murder mystery. Easy read, pretty interesting, ending a bit fast and lame. But all in all, a good beach or airplane book.


The Intruders
The Intruders
Author: Michael Marshall
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/9/2008


Good book! Jumps a bit from character to character and that's a bit hard to follow sometimes, in the same genre of King and Koontz


Kicked, Bitten, and Scratched : Life and Lessons at the World's Premier School for Exotic Animal Trainers
Review Date: 8/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Most animal books are filled with warm heart tugging stories, this book is written by a journalist and you can tell. It is very straight forward and dry, almost like a text book giving the facts and information behind EATM. I was hoping for more of a view from one of the students rather than an outsiders view. I don't know that I would recommend it to people who like animal stories...


The Passage (Passage, Bk 1)
The Passage (Passage, Bk 1)
Author: Justin Cronin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 4/6/2015


Very disappointed. Thought this would be similar to Stephen King's The Stand, and the concept is, but the story telling is not. This book is around 750 pages and the story isn't finished, it's the first book of 3. Had I know that I would have never started it. The story starts out with a cast of characters that you become involved with, then 1/3 thru the book, it changes scenes, characters and story. Now you have to learn all about this other group. Then again another 1/3 of the way in, they bring back one of the characters from the beginning, and at this point, I just hoped they'd all die. Then of course, you get to the end... and there's no ending. Really frustrating to put in that much time and get nothing.


A Reliable Wife
A Reliable Wife
Author: Robert Goolrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 5/29/2010


A book with wonderful prose, beautiful, sweeping descriptions and a look inside an era and area we don't know much about. But I thought the actual plot was weak. Not sure if I would recommend this one to a friend.


The Rosie Project (Rosie, Bk 1)
The Rosie Project (Rosie, Bk 1)
Author: Graeme Simsion
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/3/2014


It's basically Sheldon (From the Big Bang Theory) looks for a wife. A lot of fun!!


The Tenderness of Wolves
The Tenderness of Wolves
Author: Stef Penney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 3/19/2009


This isn't my normal type of book, but I liked it alot. The writing is great and the characters really stay with you. A nice slow, languid read. Even if you put it down for a couple of days, you get right back into the story. I would recommend.


True Mom Confessions: Real Moms Get Real
True Mom Confessions: Real Moms Get Real
Author: Romi Lassally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/28/2010


Read the website... this book is so lame, it's not worth the point.


Twilight
Twilight
Author: William Gay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/19/2016


I had a hard time getting into this story. The writing is very good, but I started the book 3 times and just couldn't get into it. It meandered from one person to the next and it never "grabbed" me. Maybe if I could get past page 40 it would have picked up, but I just couldn't do it.


We Thought You Would Be Prettier : True Tales of the Dorkiest Girl Alive
Review Date: 3/2/2008
Helpful Score: 3


An ok book... it reminds me of a blogger I read occasionally. Sometimes I think it's pretty funny, other times I'm really annoyed at the blogger and her nagging, whining etc. This book is similar. Sometimes she's pretty funny, other times she really annoying. Overall, not bad, but I don't know that I would read another one of her books.


When Will There Be Good News? (Jackson Brodie, Bk 3)
When Will There Be Good News? (Jackson Brodie, Bk 3)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 7/31/2009


There won't be.... Not a bad book, 3 stories some how intertwine, but they don't... not really. Just ok for me. I liked the little girl character, but I kept waiting for something big to happen, and it just never came thru for me.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: