Irvina M. (isunshine) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 41 - Page:
Nothing Else Matters (Sam Caey Mystery)
Nothing Else Matters (Sam Caey Mystery)
Author: S. D. Tooley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very good combination of Native American spirituality with a mystery where you will want to know the character better. Should be read after who first book for best effect. I hope S. D. Tooley brings up more on Sam Caey.


Old Souls: Compelling Evidence from Children Who Remember Past Lives
Review Date: 6/28/2009
Helpful Score: 6


Well written excellent read. This book was written by journalist who accompanied Dr Ian Stevenson on his last two trips, investigating the phenomena of children who seem to remember a previous life.

Tom Shroder (author) does not hesitate to bring all sides to this story, including his own skepticism and the hard knocks of the cases that just don't add up. But he also documents all the compelling instances that really should have people looking closer at the subject of reincarnation. The book discusses scientific process as well as the plain mystery of life that boggles even science. Not a dull read, we are brought right into the emotion of the matter.

This book does not "demand" you to change your mind, does not "evangelize": it just naturally engages your brain, heart and interest giving you the information to reach your own concussions.


Oracle of the Dreamtime: Aboriginal Dreamings Offer Guidance for Today
Review Date: 7/5/2008


I count myself to be very blessed in obtaining a set of these cards! So far, I have only done some one card drawings and they have been totally right on the mark. The art work is so different from what I am used to, I was afraid I would not relate well, but I did not need to fear. The cards definitely speak, whether you are from the Southern or the Northern hemisphere! I would highly recommend this kit.


Osho Zen Tarot : The Transcendental Game Of Zen
Osho Zen Tarot : The Transcendental Game Of Zen
Author: Osho
Book Type: Misc. Supplies
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/3/2008


This deck is way beyond beautiful to me. I find it works the best in a 3 card spread of past, present, future or body mind soul, or this person/choice, that person/choice and outcome. Often I do not have to look at the meanings in the book, the pictures speak straight to my spirit. But this is not a traditional set of Tarot by any means and the book definitely takes you into the zen meanings of the cards which is pretty unfamiliar to me. That would be why I think the deck is fantastic!


Out of a Forest Clearing: An Environmental Fable
Out of a Forest Clearing: An Environmental Fable
Author: Randall Beth Platt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/16/2009


Ok, I will admit right up front that I am a sucker for books that allow Animals a voice, that allow us to know what they would think and feel about what goes on in this world. And if the book shows the nobility that I instinctively see when I get a chance to be in the presence of deer, elk, bear, eagle or any of the other four legged, winged, or finned wild ones we share this earth with, then I will be giving that book a 5 star rating. This was a good story, one I did not put down until I was done. Highly recommend it!


Owl
Owl
Author: William Service, Walter Richards (Illustrator)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/14/2010


A lovely little book about a family that ended up sharing their home with a screech owl when the owl fell out of it's nest. William Service shows much sensitivity toward Nature, and his subject, Owl in this account. He is careful to note that he might be biased in some of his observation, in fact he gives accurate and detailed description of Owl's habits and intelligence and pretty much makes the reader very fond of their pet.


Pilgrim's Inn
Pilgrim's Inn
Author: Elizabeth Goudge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Elizabeth Goudge was truly a magician at creating interwoven, flavorful worlds with stories within stories and characters I would love to have for neighbors. Pilgrim's Inn is an old fashioned story about spiritual strengths and weaknesses; about growth, maturity and the child likeness we should all retain. Set in one of those magical places that is so ordinary, a Girls School, it winds its way through to a love story, happy ending. I loved these people and their stories and was very happy that some of them showed up again in other of her works!!


Pluto, the Evolutionary Journey of the Soul (Llewellyn Modern Astrology Library)
Review Date: 2/1/2009


Jeff Green takes us so far beyond the often time flip Sun Sign Astrology that you would have a hard time identifying them as in the same school of knowledge. I feel like I have found the true reason to study the ancient art of astrology...finally. He links Pluto with the Moon's nodes and analyzes every position, every aspect in great depth. I found this book truly fascinating and have returned to it over and over. A book to be studied. For me, a keeper.


Restless Spirit (Sam Casey, Bk 3)
Restless Spirit (Sam Casey, Bk 3)
Author: S. D. Tooley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/17/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first S D Tooley book that I have read and I found the writing style to be very good. Easy read and enjoyable characters. If you like the metaphysical, paranormal or spiritual in your fiction, you might just enjoy this book.


Sea Priestess
Sea Priestess
Author: Dion Fortune
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This was a very readable book for me, one that presented some very spiritual principals in a way that, all at one time, made them easier to understand and surrounded them in a mysterious other world aura. I liked the characters and the writing style very much.


Secondary Progressions: Time to Remember
Secondary Progressions: Time to Remember
Author: Nancy Hastings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/27/2008


Once you know the basics of your horoscope, once you know all be basics, this book is very interesting. I felt this was a very complete book on secondary progressions showing how we are growing human being and our charts do not stay the same either. Several times I had to read a section more than once to feel I understood but I don't think that is the writers fault...the subject is just a bit complex. I have picked up this book several times to use on different charts. When I want to really delve in, this is one of the ones I turn to.


Shapeshifter Tarot
Shapeshifter Tarot
Author: D. J. Conway, Sirona Knight
Book Type: Misc. Supplies
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/3/2008


This is another deck that from the first time I held it, the cards, their images and the meanings in the book all spoke deeply and clearly to me. I have had some of the most accurate and insightful reading with this deck for myself and my family. The Celtic and Shaman slant give it depth...and beauty! I have actually given this deck away to two family members, once giving my own deck away. I could not wait to replace it!! The book has quite a bit of information on Shaman ism shapesifting, also.


Skeleton of a Bridge
Skeleton of a Bridge
Author: Robert Mirabal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/30/2009


This is a book written in the first person by Robert Mirabal, one of the absolutely outstanding musicians I have ever had the pleasure to meet. My boyfriend and I were privileged to be able to attend a concert at the Quinalt Indian Casino where we were part of a small crowd thus we were able to see up close the wonderful performance by Robert Mirabal and his 16 member band, and it was more than just a musical concert. They put on a dramatic show that was breathe taking!

But back to the book. Here's the author's statement from inside the front cover: "The stories and character in this book are in my hear, tapped in by memories of my past. Somewhere in all of us there is Pumpkin, Browny, Scoop and Gregory playing with the pain, joys and love of our hearts"

From this I am taking it that the actual characters are fictitious but that the memories of his childhood are very much intertwined in his stories.

If you have a chance to see him play the flutes he makes, the music he writes, you will love knowing the background, the inside of his heart in his own words.


Stacking the Deck : Secrets of the World's Master Card Architect
Review Date: 8/23/2009


Fascinating book loaded with black and white pictures of the author's creations!!


The Stranger House
The Stranger House
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/10/2011


Another good Reginald Hill book, though quite different from his Pascoe Series. This on has a heroine you have to love if only for how feisty she is! And of course he deftly times the present with the past, making an interesting 'package' out of the whole story. I would recommend this book along with many of his other books.


Tarot and Astrology: The Pursuit of Destiny
Tarot and Astrology: The Pursuit of Destiny
Author: Muriel Bruce Hasbrouck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/28/2009


This book does not have anything to do with Astrology (ok, it uses your birthday) or with Tarot (ok, it uses pictures of the pips). The premise of a 10 day cycle is without solid foundation and very boringly presented. Then it launches into a "pop" type formula format that I found inaccurate when comparing to 12 persons I know well and have drawn up their actual astrological charts. I very rarely review negatively but this book was a big disappointment.


The Triple Goddess Tarot: The Power of the Major Arcana, Chakra Healing, and the Divine Feminine
Review Date: 8/3/2008


There is nothing fluff about this gorgeous deck of cards. And the companion book gives the whole story of the care and the journey these two women went though during the creation process. This is a majors "plus" deck, have 25 Alchemy Cards and 7 Chakra Cards, each one a work of art! The book gives 6 separate ways to read each card including transformation or traditional meanings. It also gives well thought out spreads that make this an inner development tool you will use over and over. I would highly recommend this deck!


The Truth-Seeker's Tarot: Oracle Cards of Insight, Clarity and Wisdom
Review Date: 3/30/2009


This is a very beautiful deck but with some draw backs. The card stock is quite thick and due to that the cards do not shuffle well. They are also fairly heavily coated, which will probably make them last longer but makes them a bit slick. The colors are out of this world gorgeous! I actually am not sure yet how I feel about the gold embossing. The Major Arcana and the Court Cards work very well for meditating on. So far the deck has not proven to be one I will read with. I will edit this if that should change. I would still recommend it for the richness of the colors alone :).


When Women Were Birds: Fifty-four Variations on Voice
When Women Were Birds: Fifty-four Variations on Voice
Author: Terry Tempest Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/9/2016


Terry Tempest Williams shows herself to be a master of language putting each sentence together poetically but still in a way that makes you feel the story as you go. Fascinating and thought provoking all the way through.


Woman of the Dawn
Woman of the Dawn
Author: Wabun Wind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/31/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Wabun truly shows through her own story, which is so honest in showing both the advancements of a spiritual path and all the pitfalls encountered on the way, that following your own Vision is the most important thing of all. If you are interested in native spirituality and the branches of it that have embraced all races, the branches that respect all vision, this will be a great read for you. It also talks extensively about community, living in community, the how-to's and the difficulty of this way of life. I am so glad I read this one!


21 to 40 of 41 - Page: