Freda M. (arkydoodlebug) - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
An Amish Christmas
An Amish Christmas
Author: Cynthia Keller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 6/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


An Amish Christmas is a very sweet story. It is well written. This is not an intense book; but is worth a read. A good story for younger readers, also.


Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 8/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Born in Death starts out very fast, but about midway thru becomes somewhat draggy.
This was my first J.D. Robb reading; I may never read another one.


But I Trusted You (Ann Rule's Crime Files, Vol 14)
But I Trusted You (Ann Rule's Crime Files, Vol 14)
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 1/15/2010


But I Trusted You is another great book written by Ann Rule.
The people in this book put their trust into others who went to the maximum limit to kill and destroy. Of course, the killers were charismatic and sought the weak or those who were easily trusting.
I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an excellently written true crime book!


The Christmas Candle
The Christmas Candle
Author: Max Lucado
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/1/2010


The Christmas Candle is a quick read and is absolutely wonderful!!! I enjoyed it emmensely!!!! I give it a 5 star rating! The element of surprise at the end was also an added enjoyment.
I recommed this book to anyone who is wanting a "story" rather than preaching/teaching and enjoys Christian reading.


Closer Than You Think (Cincinnati, Bk 1)
Closer Than You Think (Cincinnati, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Rose
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/1/2015


Another great novel by Karen Rose!! I hated to see it end, I was that involved with the characters and the storyline.
I highly recommend Closer Than You Think!!!


Cold-Blooded
Cold-Blooded
Author: Carlton Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/17/2012


I forget how Carlton Smith writes...........then I will read one of his books and remember. Too much repetition for my taste. Mr. Smith jumps from one place to another in time........it would be nice if he learned to write in sequence rather than all over the place. He begins to tell something and then jumps back and forth with the subject.
I enjoyed the book, but not the way it was written.


In the Blink of an Eye (Lily Dale, Bk 5)
In the Blink of an Eye (Lily Dale, Bk 5)
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 6/7/2012


Another great book by Wendy Corsi Staub. I enjoyed this book very much. I don't usually enjoy books about the paranormal; but made an exception with In the Blink of an Eye and am very glad I did.
This could actually happen in todays world.


Into the Water
Into the Water
Author: Diane Fanning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 7/26/2012


This book is very well written and doesn't go off into things not connected with the subject.
I highly recommend this book.
I am now an avid reader of Diane Fanning.


Johnny Angel
Johnny Angel
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/13/2007


A very sweet story about a mom and her deceased son. If ever you have lost a child to death, you will fall in love with this book. It's a very easy read.


Late Edition (Godmothers, Bk 3)
Late Edition (Godmothers, Bk 3)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/26/2012


I couldn't get passed all the cussing in this book. I am sure it would have been a great read without taking the Lords name in vain.
I love Fern Michaels, but not this one........too much bad language.


The Locket
The Locket
Author: Richard Paul Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 4/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I highly recommend The Locket by Richard Paul Evans as well all of his other books. There is no vulgarity in them nor are there cursing.
Mr. Evans writes a very interesting.......page turning book! I couldn't put it down......kept thinking "Just one more page".


The Lost Years
The Lost Years
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 7/28/2012


Another great page turner from the mistress of words!! Couldn't put it down!!! I highly recommend!!!


The Penny
The Penny
Author: Deborah Bedford, Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 2/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the very best fiction book I've read in years!!! I highly recommend this to anyone, Christian or none.
The Penny will bring tears to your eyes and you will cry your heart out one minute and laugh your head off the next.
EXCELLENT BOOK!!!!


The Prayer of Jabez (Leather Edition)
The Prayer of Jabez (Leather Edition)
Author: Bruce H. Wilkinson
Book Type: Leather Bound
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/14/2013


For anyone wanting more from their prayer life.....this is a must to read!!!
I highly recommend it!


To The Last Breath : Three Women Fight For The Truth Behind A Child's Tragic Murder
Review Date: 8/28/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is an excellent writer. He tells the story in a way to keep one's interest, yet the facts are intack. I rate Carlton Stowers as a crime writer right up there with Ann Rule.


Two-Dollar Bill (Stone Barrington, Bk 11)
Two-Dollar Bill (Stone Barrington, Bk 11)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 3/19/2010


I was not impressed with this book. The storyline just went along, nothing real exciting or out of the ordinary. Just when the drama began to build, it seemed like the bottom must have fell out of Mr. Woods thoughts, because it was hum-drum.
If you are looking for a book to read, this one is fine. If you are looking for lots of excitement and a great storyline, this isn't the one for you.


While She Slept (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
While She Slept (St. Martin's True Crime Library)
Author: Marion Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/17/2012


This is a well written book and I enjoyed it very much. It goes into the depth of the circumstances and I always enjoy that. Do people actually "break" or are they just psycho-paths with an excuse.......
I recommend it!!


1 to 17 of 17