Martha W. - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
A Course Called Ireland: A Long Walk in Search of a Country, a Pint, and the Next Tee
Review Date: 9/20/2011


You must enjoy golf to read this book. I am an occasional golfer and I love Ireland so it was an interesting read for me. It tells a lot about the courses and the culture. Interesting, friendly folks of Ireland are real highlights of the book.


Hitman: Forty Years Making Music, Topping the Charts, and Winning Grammys
Review Date: 8/11/2010


I have not read the book as yet. I asked my husband, who is a reluctant reader to read it first and he is really enjoying it. He says that David Foster is a very low keyed person not wanting a lot of publicity for his musical talent. I look forward to reading the book from his frequent comments concerning how much he is enjoying it!


How Full Is Your Bucket? Positive Strategies for Work and Life
Review Date: 3/21/2012


Pretty practical advice! Geared more toward business relationships.


The King's Speech: How One Man Saved the British Monarchy
The King's Speech: How One Man Saved the British Monarchy
Author: Peter Conradi, Mark Logue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/26/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting book which emphasizes the relationship between the teacher and the King more in
depth. You learn much more about the teacher than was shared in the movie version.


The Madonnas of Echo Park
The Madonnas of Echo Park
Author: Brando Skyhorse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/29/2012


I could not get into this book. Finally gave up and posted it for someone to order who might enjoy it more. I really wanted to learn more about the Hispanic culture in the USA but just couldn't stay with this rendition.


P.S.: What I Didn't Say
P.S.: What I Didn't Say
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/6/2010


This book contains touching stories about women and what they wished they had said to others in their lives. It makes you want to write a touching letter to someone who has influenced you in your own past whom you may not even keep in touch with anymore. A fast read with some very interesting, heartfelt letters.


Seven Seasons in Siena: My Quixotic Quest for Acceptance Among Tuscany's Proudest People
Review Date: 8/29/2013


Having visited Siena I wanted to read more about it. I found this to be monotonous.


South of Broad
South of Broad
Author: Pat Conroy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 4/8/2010


This book is a very fast read. In some places it seemed a bit contrived but overall I really enjoyed reading it. There was a real twist at the end I wasn't expecting. Most of the action happens in and around Charleston. Makes me want to visit the city sometime in the future.


1 to 8 of 8