Cassie S. (cassie86) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
And Then There Were None (aka Ten Little Indians)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 7/6/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Never have I read a book so articulate! If you can guess the solution before the very last chapter, then you must be a genius. And even then, your questions of how it was done aren't answered until the very last paragraph! Absolutely amazing, and I only hope Agatha Christie's other books are this incredible!


Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure, Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 12/6/2010


This is not your standard erotic novel. It goes above and beyond what would be normal sexually. I enjoyed this sequel to it's first book, only because it told more of what the slaves were thinking, how they stood to endure their punishments and what kept them from trying to escape. These things were not addressed in the first book and it made the whole scenario a little too far-fetched. It still is, but makes more sense as fiction. What would make it more real to the imagination, as I saw another reviewer touched on, would be how the slaves are able to deal with their basic needs, such as needing the bathroom, and women having their time of the month. This may sound weird to request from a book, but for the Sleeping Beauty trilogy, I think it would be nice to know. They can't always be "plugged up".


Beauty's Release (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Beauty's Release (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 213
Review Date: 3/15/2011


So I've finally finished all 3 of the Sleeping Beauty trilogy, and all I can say is wow! Anne Rice goes beyond erotic and goes into messed up and perverse, and they're one of those things that you either love or you hate. Leaves you a bit speechless!


Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Blue Moon (Immortals, Bk 2)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 8/22/2009
Helpful Score: 2


As the 2nd book in the Immortal series, it moved quite slow. The first book was filled with information as we learned about the characters and the story unfolded, but much of the 2nd book repeated what we learned in the first and dwelled on the problem so long and then, so fast, it was solved in a couple chapters at the end. However, I still love the characters and can't wait for the third one, Shadowland, because this series definately has my curiosity!


The Bride Bed
The Bride Bed
Author: Linda Needham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 8/3/2009


A decent historical romance, set in 1145 Devonshire, England. A woman wanting to gain her independence and protection for her family and a man wanting power and wealth, but both struggling with their desire for each other.


Cassie's Fortune (Magical Love Romance Series)
Cassie's Fortune (Magical Love Romance Series)
Author: Linda Shertzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/8/2009


I loved this book and Linda Shertzer's writing was unbelievable. I picked this book up just because it had my name in the title, lol, but I'm glad I did! Cassie is a girl whose world gets turned around when she learns about futures and crystal balls and curses and loses her aunt and inherits a huge house and fortune all in the same night. Not to mention meeting Brent, who will turn her world around once again. This is a must-read!


Changing Times
Changing Times
Author: Marilu Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/29/2009


Not entirely what I expect when reading Ellora's Cave, but it was good. A refreshing book to read after finishing a 600 page, heart-tugging book, and getting ready to start another intense one. Full of interesting shape-shifting, fighting, with only one erotic scene.


The Courtesan
The Courtesan
Author: Julia Justiss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/23/2009
Helpful Score: 6


As I began reading this book, I assumed it would just be another cliche romance novel, but it was so much more than that! The plot was forever diverting when I thought I had it all figured out, right up to the last page. If you love historical romances, definately read this one.


Dark Champion (Dark Champion, Bk 1)
Dark Champion (Dark Champion, Bk 1)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first time reading a book by Jo Beverley and my first time reading a book set in the 12th century. I absolutely loved it. It wasn't so "smushy" as I call some romance novels and I will be reading the rest of this series and more of Ms. Beverley!


Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Dark Flame (Immortals, Bk 4)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 3/3/2011


In this 4th installment of the Immortal series, Ever delves deeper into magic, and her negative personality transforms everything she tries to do into a dark flame inside her. She struggles to stay herself while the monster within draws her toward her enemy, Roman, until Ever discovers the powers of positivity and sincerity.

As always, Noel leaves you hanging, causing you to HAVE to read the next book!


Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 751
Review Date: 12/11/2010


I listened to this book on a playaway and enjoyed much of it, but felt I may have been left out on some parts due to it being audio instead of my actually reading it. Regardless, another fantastic book in the Sookie series. I'm so intrigued with the Sookie/Eric relationship and can't wait to see what happens with that!


The Dollmaker
The Dollmaker
Author: Harriette Arnow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 9/10/2016


I wanted to love this. The story mirrored my own grandparents....leaving Kentucky to go to Michigan. But I just couldn't finish it.


The Dowry: A Novel of Ireland
The Dowry: A Novel of Ireland
Author: Walter Keady
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I picked up on quite a few spelling errors in The Dowry, and also, characters often would not only say the same things, word for word, but they would have the same thoughts word for word as well. Conversations were awkward also. But, as for the story, it was interesting, and funny once we see it all concluded at the end. The dowry is about a priest's determination to have all the young people of the parish marry, to have children and replenish the population. Families are tied together by matchmaking, each couple dependant on another to marry themselves. I almost had to make a list of the characters to keep track of it all.


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 999
Review Date: 4/29/2010


Absolutely LOVED the first book of the Outlander series, but this one was so much about the war. I couldn't keep track of who was fighting who, who supported who, but I have faith that the rest of the series will be wonderful, so reading this book was just a stepping stone to the rest of the enchanting story of Jamie and Claire!


Enchanting the Lady (Relics of Merlin, Bk 1)
Enchanting the Lady (Relics of Merlin, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryne Kennedy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 6/25/2009
Helpful Score: 4


A wonderful mixture of history/paranormal/mystery all wrapped up in romance. I loved how the setting was true to English history, with the major change of being wrapped up in magic. Despite the majic, however, I think this book has something for everyone to relate to...I'll let you decide for yourself what you find.


The Endearment
The Endearment
Author: LaVyrle Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 1/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. I read on wikipedia that Spencer's publisher would not publish this book because it did not mold to the usual romance genre standards....the hero was the protagonist and a virgin, while the heroine was not. It was published by a different publisher later, and I'm glad it was! It's always refreshing to read a book that shakes the standards


Enflame the Night: Silver Fire / Sable Flame
Enflame the Night: Silver Fire / Sable Flame
Author: Arianna Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/15/2009


This book contains two stories, with the same characters. The first one, called Silver Fire, features Thad as the hero and Faylene as the Heroine. They come together, in more way than one, in a fight against the Keepers, a cult out to destroy anyone that's not pureblood human. Thad's friend, Sh'rell, is not a likeable character, which made it difficult to begin reading the second story, Sable Flame, which starred her as the heroine, but you soon fall in love with her as you get to know who more personally. She's a likeable character, just hard and protected on the outside. She becomes oddly attracted, in her mind, to a hot guitarist of a rockband...who later saves her life and they go on a whirlwind of emotions while also fighting against the Keepers. The stories were good enough, but the characters repeated themselves a lot. But as with all Ellora's Cave, what you're really looking for are insatiable intimate scenes, which Enflame the Night has plenty of.


Evermore (Immortals, Bk 1)
Evermore (Immortals, Bk 1)
Author: Alyson Noel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 489
Review Date: 8/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


When I first began reading this book, I thought "This is going to be just like Twilight", but it was so much more! I loved Ever...and wish I could meet Damen for myself! Can't wait to read the 2nd book in the series, and the 3rd needs to hurry up and be released so I can read them all together! I just can't put into words all the things I loved about this book without giving anything away, so pick it up and read it soon!


Eyes of Stone
Eyes of Stone
Author: Tara Nina
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/11/2009


Different for Ellora's Cave I think. It had a good touch of romance to it, and a great story line, instead of filled to the brim with erotica...but don't get me wrong...there were just enough of those scenes that will make your toes curl!


Falling for Gracie (Los Lobos, Bk 2)
Falling for Gracie (Los Lobos, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 7/10/2009
Helpful Score: 10


Do you ever smile when you finish a book? You will with this one. You fall so deeply in love with Riley and Gracie that you get sucked into the book and start hating all the people that are rotten to them so much, that you're tempted to chuck the book at the nearest wall. But as things get better, you can't help but sigh out a little "yay!" under your breath.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: