Julie B. (badgoat) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Cadillac Beach
Cadillac Beach
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/25/2006


Hard to believe, but Dorsey's Serge and Lenny adventures get wackier, funnier and better with each book. Read 'em and weep tears of hilarity.


Drawing Blood
Drawing Blood
Author: Poppy Z. Brite
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 1/14/2006


I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Since it takes place in the early 90s, the computer technology is quaint in comparison to today -- 2400 baud dial-up was the bomb, woo hoo! Brite's characters are fascinating and compelling, and I missed "being" with them at the book's end.


Drinking Coffee Elsewhere
Drinking Coffee Elsewhere
Author: ZZ Packer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 9/14/2005
Helpful Score: 1


These stories made me say, "Man, I wish I could write like that!" What a talented writer.


The Favored Child (Wideacre, Bk 2)
The Favored Child (Wideacre, Bk 2)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 1/14/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I liked "Meridon" the best in this trilogy, but this is still a worthy read.


The Good Book:  Reading the Bible with Mind and Heart
The Good Book: Reading the Bible with Mind and Heart
Author: Peter J. Gomes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/21/2006


Excellent, refreshing book on reading the Bible without using it as a weapon to thrash others (or oneself). I highly recommend it.


How All This Started : A Novel
How All This Started : A Novel
Author: Pete Fromm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/5/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I spent some kid years in Texas and Fromm's dirt-dry desert depictions are spot on. His characters are highly memorable, especially high-flyin' Abilene...made me grateful that I've only got the depressive side of "manic-depression". Whooo doggies. There were times when even I felt trapped in her careening beater of a truck (poor thing), times when I nearly said, stop this book, I gotta get out! If you've ever lived with a bi-polar, you'll know the feeling.

Life in the middle of nowhere in the middle of the desert..."but it's a dry heat", my tail. Sometimes I think folks in hell find themselves saying, "heck, it's hotter'n Texas in here!" Be sure to settle in to read with a tall glass of sweet tea...you'll feel parched and wind-blown by the end.


The Last Good Kiss (C. W. Sughrue, Bk 1)
The Last Good Kiss (C. W. Sughrue, Bk 1)
Author: James Crumley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/23/2006


Hard-boiled PI novel...good stuff. Especially if you like part-time alcoholic main characters.


meridon
meridon
Author: philippa gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/14/2006


Of the three "Wideacre" books, I enjoyed this one the most. All were good, but this one had some fascinating twists and turns in the plot, and our heroine was quite an amazing young woman.


Survival of the Fittest (Alex Delaware, Bk 12)
Survival of the Fittest (Alex Delaware, Bk 12)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 8/3/2005


Great page-turner!


1 to 9 of 9