Cynthia L. (ceeceelandau) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 278 - Page:
12 Shades of Surrender
Review Date: 12/28/2014


This book is a collection of erotic tales, underlined with BDSM theams. All the stories are by different authors who have a reputation of writing sinfully erotic stories. This book was everything I read about in the reviews and more.

Although the book started off without a back story and finished too soon, the book was still great to read. I only wished the stories were a little longer. You just can't help but fall for some of these characters. The authors did a fantastic job of making you fall for them within the first few pages.

I absolutely loved this book.

12 Shades of Surrenderthe darker side of romance includes books:
Under His Hand, by Anne Calhoun
A Paris Affair, by Adelaide Cole
The Envelope Incident by, Emelia Elmwood
The Challenge, by Megan Heart
Taste of Pleasure, Lisa Renee Jones
Night Moves, by Eden Bradley


About a Dragon (Dragon Kin, Bk 2)
About a Dragon (Dragon Kin, Bk 2)
Author: G. A. Aiken
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 12/16/2014


Another good book by G.A. Aiken. Not as good as her first installment in the series, but still a good read.

Talaith is a Nolwenn witch. Her life has been of much sorrow and little happiness. Her past isn't clear when you begin this story. Her past is slowly reveled throughout the book. The story begins when Talaith is awakened by being dragged from bed by an angry mob intent burning her alive for being a witch. She is rescued by a silver-maned dragon, Brice the Mighty,. According to dragon law, Talaith is now his property, for pleasure... or otherwise. A blood dept that can never be paid. But if Lord Arrogance thinks she's the kind of damsel to acquiesce without a word, he's in for a surprise... \

Briec the Mighty knew the moment he laid eyes on Talaith that she would be his, but he'd counted on tongue-lashings of an altogether different sort. Since the very first moment they meet she's made it clear that she does not want him. Her high spirited nature, argumentative streak and hidden secrets are what draw's him to her and it's the combination that keeps him enthralled. The only problem is, she doesn't want to stay...... or does she?????? Her secrets may be the problem and let's just say.... she can't keep hiding them forever....


After You
After You
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/9/2017


I just can't believe how so much happened in this book. This story had so much pain going on that I had to stop reading it for a full three days before I could pick it back up. I still love Louisa Clark, but because of things ended in the first place you can see why she had such a hard time moving on in her life. Nothing was right in the world after Will. How relateable her story was amazing. This story perfectly captures the essence of how difficult it is to move on when you love someone as much as Louisa loved Will. You can see how some people may not find the will to live again and become the way they do. Will was a wonderful man, but you can't help but hate him a little when you see the devastation he left behind.

I love how Louisa was still the determined woman she always was but guarded because of her loss. Her determination to help those she felt connected and loved was what made Louisa such a wonderful person. The story was harsh in it's truth and reality and yet uplifting in a small degree in the end. You just can't help but wish Louisa well and want the best for her. I loved this book, but make sure when you start that you understand that this book isn't hearts and flowers, but truth and heartache. Have a box of tissue and remember that in the end all turns out well.


After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/9/2017


I just can't believe how so much happened in this book. This story had so much pain going on that I had to stop reading it for a full three days before I could pick it back up. I still love Louisa Clark, but because of things ended in the first place you can see why she had such a hard time moving on in her life. Nothing was right in the world after Will. How relateable her story was amazing. This story perfectly captures the essence of how difficult it is to move on when you love someone as much as Louisa loved Will. You can see how some people may not find the will to live again and become the way they do. Will was a wonderful man, but you can't help but hate him a little when you see the devastation he left behind.

I love how Louisa was still the determined woman she always was but guarded because of her loss. Her determination to help those she felt connected and loved was what made Louisa such a wonderful person. The story was harsh in it's truth and reality and yet uplifting in a small degree in the end. You just can't help but wish Louisa well and want the best for her. I loved this book, but make sure when you start that you understand that this book isn't hearts and flowers, but truth and heartache. Have a box of tissue and remember that in the end all turns out well.


After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 2/9/2017


I just can't believe how so much happened in this book. This story had so much pain going on that I had to stop reading it for a full three days before I could pick it back up. I still love Louisa Clark, but because of things ended in the first place you can see why she had such a hard time moving on in her life. Nothing was right in the world after Will. How relateable her story was amazing. This story perfectly captures the essence of how difficult it is to move on when you love someone as much as Louisa loved Will. You can see how some people may not find the will to live again and become the way they do. Will was a wonderful man, but you can't help but hate him a little when you see the devastation he left behind.

I love how Louisa was still the determined woman she always was but guarded because of her loss. Her determination to help those she felt connected and loved was what made Louisa such a wonderful person. The story was harsh in it's truth and reality and yet uplifting in a small degree in the end. You just can't help but wish Louisa well and want the best for her. I loved this book, but make sure when you start that you understand that this book isn't hearts and flowers, but truth and heartache. Have a box of tissue and remember that in the end all turns out well.


Almost Forever: Almost Forever / For the Baby's Sake
Almost Forever: Almost Forever / For the Baby's Sake
Author: Christine Rimmer, Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/19/2015


I loved, loved, loved this book. I couldn't put this book down. Even though this book took me only a day to read, I place that soul on the fact that I never left the couch to even eat until I finished this book.

This book had nothing to do with anything supernatural. It made this book that much more exciting. I could picture the characters like it was someone I knew.

This book was about an everyday woman named Claire Westerbrook. After only a few years she's come to except the lose of her unborn child and the lost of her marriage. She's learned to live on her own, find a job she loves for a person she respects and live without the financial help from her ex-husband who's rich and remarried with child number two on the way.

Then enters Max Conroy. A man who's more intense then he seems. With the face and body of a model and the intellect to match his drive he's a man to be recon with. He's been sent to find information to help with his company's corporate take over. Then he meet's Claire, the secretary to the company CEO and Vice President.

His job was clear. Gather the information needed by any means necessary. What he didn't expect was to meet a person like Claire. With her silence and facade that cover's the intense and vulnerable person within. Max begins to fall for Claire and peruses her without remorse. When she begins to fall in love with Max and finds out the real reason he perused her she's determined to keep Max at arms length.

Can max break down her walls and get her to believe in him again. Can she trust a man that meet her under false pretense.


Almost Forever (Spencer-Nyle Co, Bk 2)
Almost Forever (Spencer-Nyle Co, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 4/18/2015


I'd like to start by saying that I loved this book so much that now I'm trying to get this book in hardcover so that I can add it to by library. I love books and this one was a keeper.

This book is in a series and I haven't read the other book yet, but I can't wait to read it.

Their were many parts in this book that made me cringe, want to cry, and laugh. Claire Westerbrook is a beautiful woman who feels like she's below average. She feels like she can't compete with the females in her family or those around her. Max Conroy is instantly in love and protective of Claire from the moment he meets her at a party. Those feelings don't diminish if anything they increase.


It's unfortunate that Max is there to gathering information about Claire's boss in preparation for a company takeover. It's surprising and most unwelcome when he finds himself falling in love with Claire. He wishes he wasn't, but he can't deny that from the beginning she was meant to be his. Even after Claire discovers the truth and wants nothing to do with Max, he's not willing to let her go. He knows he hurt her and he' willing to do anything to make amends. He's dominate, protective and at times overwhelming. Still no matter how much she tries to deny him she can't help but still love him.


Alternative Treatment
Alternative Treatment
Author: Claire Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/28/2015


Another great book by Claire Thompson. I simply can't get enough from her. I like reading m/m and m/m/f books. It's hard to find good gay romance novels and many authors don't do them justice, but Claire Thompson always get's it right.

This book is about Nolan Daniel, an EMT worker doing community service for a DUI and Mark Harrison a young doctor working at a retirement home owned by his family. The sexual tension is electrical between them and the storyline is fantastic. I absolutely fell in love with both characters. Mark's alpha tendencies were erotic and Nolan's disturbing childhood broke my heart. I loved reading about these two men who come from different backgrounds and seeing how they fall in love and overcome all the obstacles that life throws at them.

I loved this book and it's on my list of books to read again and again.


Animal Instincts
Animal Instincts
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 182
Review Date: 11/12/2017


I absolutely love this book. It had everything I love in a romance book. The characters were memorable, I just wish the main characters had a little bit more in depth back story.

Royce, the main character, was my all time favorite. He was a successful, romantic, eligible bachelor who fell in love with Naomie the moment he saw her at a party and pursued her even after six months of her saying no.

My favorite part of the book was the ending. This is one of the few books who actually got the ending right. Most authors rush the ending and leave us readers in limbo, but Gena Showalter is a genius and defiantly got this right from theme, sex scenes, memorable characters, ending and so much more.


At Home in Last Chance: A Novel (A Place to Call Home)
At Home in Last Chance: A Novel (A Place to Call Home)
Author: Cathleen Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/30/2015


Although this book comes in a series I found no problem reading this book out of sequence. This book has no age restrictions for those reading and can be read by preteens. The details on the characters only adds depth and makes you love them even more.

This heart warming book about a young woman whose bad decisions make her feel like their written all over her face and being dragged behind her like baggage keep her from moving forward.

After moving to Last Chance to live with her older brother she's been able to face her bad decisions and look to the future. It's also because of her brother that she can never do right and how he can never do wrong.

It's in Last Chance that she meet's Steven a man who appears on the surface to be just like the men she's trying to avoid, but who ends up being just like her. His past mistakes leaves everyone waiting for the mistake to happen and never see him for the man he's become. Together they face their bad choices in life and move forward.


Bad Son Rising
Bad Son Rising
Author: Julie A. Richman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/1/2018


Yet another book of Julie Richman that I just can't put down. Yet, not sleeping is totally worth it. Zac Moor is the son of Schooner Moore and step son to Mia Moore. Initially he's seen as the ultimate entitled, privileged white boy. A boy who on the surface looks like one thing but beyond the surface lays a complex soul whose troubles even his family never imagined.

Living in LA with a mother as selfish as those you see on TV, it never occurs to many to dig deeper to find the real Zac. His troubles started at a tender age when his biggest concern should have been friends and maybe his first kiss. When his mother's (so called) friend initiates him in sex it all changes. It's then that he learns the lesson of using and being used. He uses sex as a release feeling that he isn't good enough for love, only sex. All around him people use him for their pleasure be it for sex, status because of his looks, his family, and even money. It's never about him and in the end he never feels worthy of love.

Lilly is the first person in his life who doesn't fall over herself trying to get his attention. Quite the opposite, she feels intimidated by him so prefers to be anywhere but near him. The way she acts is completely different then how other women have acted towards him and this intrigues him. It's 2 years later that he's put in the same place with her. Just like a game of chess he wins her over, but fate pulls them apart. His lack of self confidence in being worthy of love is the biggest hurdle for Zac and one that isn't so easily overcome.

This book is so beautiful........


Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Beautiful Bastard (Beautiful, Bk 1)
Author: Christina Lauren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/30/2017


This book was hands down the best read I've had in a long time. I'm a fast reader and I can read up to a book a day, so when I say that I loved this book.....believe it. This book had it all..... This story was writes from two points of views, from Chloe's and Bennett's. The book let you in on the insight from both sides. It let you see how easily a person can get the wrong impression or misunderstand a facial expression or gesture.

I loved how both characters were apprehensive about a relationship, but what I most loved was how strong and empowering the author was able to make Chloe into. I love reading stories about women who don't take no for an answer and don't back down even from an boss who barks more than he bites.

If you like a book that has laughing moments, erotic moments, and heartfelt moments then read this book. I can see why this book had 2 million reads. It was amazing.


Beauty's Beast
Beauty's Beast
Author: Amanda Ashley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/19/2014


This is a book worth reading and then reading again. I loved this story from the moment I stated. The grief of the lord loosing his wife and child in childbirth was horrific, but then that lost becomes miniscule when his wifes mother casts a spell on him.

"A rutting beast you were, a beast you will become. Not all at once, my selfish one. Day by day, the change will come upon you, until you have suffered for every tear my daughter wept, for every drop of blood she shed this day. As I have said it so shall it be. When Dominique forgives you, so shall I". 

So the curse began. Four years pass and he has become more beast then man. He comes upon a condemned woman. He marries her in hopes that she will conceive his heir so that he may die in peace. Unfortunately he falls in love with her and she falls in love with him. All this would be wonderful except for the fact that the curse continues and every day becomes more wonderful then the last, exceot he is becoming more animal then human and in fear of hurting her he leaves. Now with his child close to being born he tries to find a way to save him. 

There are many twists and turns in this book and they all tug at your heart. All he wants is to have her hate him so that when he died he can find some peace. He never expected her to fall in love with him and for him to crave her touch. This book was beautifully written and makes you want to cry in many parts.


Beg for Mercy (Dead Wrong, Bk 1)
Beg for Mercy (Dead Wrong, Bk 1)
Author: Jami Alden
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 6/28/2018


This is my first time reading a thriller by Jami Alden and I'm thoroughly entertained. I loved the characters and the story line. I devoured this book in days trying to find out who the real killer was and if Sean would be set free. I loved how the author was able to put down all the gruesome details of what a serial killer would feel when he did the things he did. I was horrible in a fascinating way.

I only wish the story didn't rush some of the story in the attempts to shorten it. Some of the parts jumped and felt quite rushed. Still I think I'll continue the series and hope that the following books are also good.


The Bid
The Bid
Author: JAX
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/24/2015


This book was very different from many of the books I've read. The primes of this book was about slavery. I loved this book in many ways and chilled by many others. It's worth reading, not just for the steamy parts but for the harsh ones as well.

This book begins with a male slave being strapped and chained to a block for auction. He's the most exotic and beautiful naked flesh to ever be seen. The noble men and women start a bidding frenzy that finally ends when, Najir, a slave from the house of Drakoulous makes a bid so high that no one can counter. It's luck that seems to have been pushed by fate that Najir happen to have attended this auction for his master, Lady Hanna. This new slave looks very much like himself, platinum hair, muscles that show how fit he is and most importantly green eyes like a cat. Najir believes he's found what his master has been looking for, he finds slave Vejhon. He offers a price so high that no one else can outbid. He purchases him right under one of their most hated rivals.

Najir purchases Vejhon and the new slave is delivered Lady Drakoulous, only it's not for what he believes. It takes her only a few days to convince him that in her home he is equal. She proves in many ways and soon he realizes that his fate could have been much worse.

The spin in this story is that she gives him many choices without truly informing him of his options. He's free up to a point and only in private like a dirty secret. Case in point is when he accepts that she holds his fate only to walk into an animal enclosure and be mulled by her pets, which turns out, are her family. He comes to find out after he survives that the master of the house descends from a bell-cat shape-shifter extinct species whom only the first born from any litter can change back and fourth. The second in the litter can be released and change freely only when the first born finds their true mate and bond while in bell-cat form.

Lucky for Vejhon he seems to be the masters mate. Unfortunately he cannot live a half life where in private they can show their love and be with one another and in public where he must walk behind her and be silent. It's a harsh lesson on what love truly is.

She must make a stand and try to push forward new laws to abolish the slavery that has become the norm.

Their's more than this in the story. It includes a fierce war between two houses, The House of Drakoulous and Baron Majum from The House of Majum. The Baron, a sick rapist who enjoys raping young boys and the Baron's Majum second in command who enjoy's rapping girls younger than 13. The Baron is also responsible for murdering Lady Drakoulous's parents and because of a current law she's been unable to seek justice or revenge.

Like I said this book was fabulous on many fronts and I'm already looking into some other books by Jax.....


Black Blood (Last Vampire, Bk 2)
Black Blood (Last Vampire, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/7/2016


Well the second book wasn't much different than the first. I continue to see why teens might enjoy this book, yet I'm still waiting for the characters to develop. Sita's story continues to travel from past to present, from dreams and memories to present day. Her character has steadily developed, but not by much.

I'm a bit disappointed by how the secondary characters are killed off so easily. Just when I began to like a new character I'm dismayed to find out they're expendable and won't be around for long. It makes reading on hard when you have no common characters carried over.

Again I can see why teens might like this series, but I'm the kind of person who likes characters to develop. Well I'll keep trying....


Black Blood (Last Vampire, Bk 2)
Black Blood (Last Vampire, Bk 2)
Author: Christopher Pike
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 3/7/2016


Well the second book wasn't much different than the first. I continue to see why teens might enjoy this book, yet I'm still waiting for the characters to develop. Sita's story continues to travel from past to present, from dreams and memories to present day. Her character has steadily developed, but not by much.

I'm a bit disappointed by how the secondary characters are killed off so easily. Just when I began to like a new character I'm dismayed to find out they're expendable and won't be around for long. It makes reading on hard when you have no common characters carried over.

Again I can see why teens might like this series, but I'm the kind of person who likes characters to develop. Well I'll keep trying....


Blood Memories (Vampire Memories, Bk 1)
Blood Memories (Vampire Memories, Bk 1)
Author: Barb Hendee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/4/2018


This is a new author for me and I simply adored this book and the way the author wrote it with so much individual character history. I loved how each character had a unique back story with twists and turns that inevitably brought them together.

The book ended with a jaw dropping finally that left me reeling because I never saw it coming. I also loved the cliff hanger that leaves you wanting more and looking for the next book.

I fell in love with the characters and devour each page. I would recommend this book for anyone, be it, adults or teens about 16 years plus.

I have no favorite character because I loved them all. Please take my advice and read this book. The beginning might come across as slow but stick with it because it's a fantastic story


Bride of a Wicked Scotsman (MacBride Family , Bk 3)
Bride of a Wicked Scotsman (MacBride Family , Bk 3)
Author: Samantha James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/22/2014


Unfortunately I read the last installment to the series first, but after reading this book I'm now trying to get the first two books to read as well. This book was also a fast read with a bit of a magical twist.

This book is about Lady Maura O'Donnell. Upon her fathers death bed she makes a vow to find and bring back the circle of light. A magical stone that was taken by the pirate "The Black Scotsman" two hundred years ago. Alec McBride, the Duke of Gleneden, also known as the Black Scotsman is believed to poses the circle of light. During a Mascaraed Ball she seduces the Scottish man and drugs his wine in order to make him believe he has taken her maidenhead. Forced to marry the Irish Lady Mauran he keeps himself aloof. He does not trust her. How can he when he cannot recall the bedding which lead to marriage.

After weeks of searching, and nights of trying to keep her husband at bay they circum to their desires only to realize he was truly duped. Not only does his suspicion lead to the truth, he never did bed her, but he finds that he now truly did take her virginity. To make matters worse he finds that the real reason for her deception doesn't change the fact he truly does love her. She's everything he's ever wanted. She's fiery and spirited. Now how to make her see.


Broken Boundaries
Broken Boundaries
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/12/2014


OMH!!!!! This is one of the best books I've ever read. It had it all, an intense attraction between M/M action, sex, boundary testing, a back story that tugs at your heart, a life and death situation with tad of heroics, underlying tension, and two of the most heart wrenching male characters. I read this book in two days because I couldn't put it down and now I just have to tell everyone. If you don't become squeamish with M/M action and you love a story that keeps you on your toes then this book is for you.

This book is about a young new recruit called Chaz. He was blessed with godlike reflexes and hawk eyes that make him a natural born gunner assigned to fly a futuristic ship with technology so advanced its still classified. Unfortunately it takes a two-man crew and Chaz, loner, must have a partner.

On his first day on the ship, everyone calls the "shit-house" he meets Ferron, the most dangerous man at the Academy. The ice blue eyes and scarred face of the older cadet aren't enough to scare Chaz. Nor are the rumors that Ferron killed his last partner. But when he finds out they are to be a team, anxiety takes a hold of him.

Tension climbs to a breaking point when Ferron informs him that in order to fly the Needle he and Chaz must have their naked bodies pressed together in a dance of sensual intimacy that makes the sexually straight Chaz angry and uncomfortable, at first.

Ferron must master Chaz completely and break down his physical and emotional boundaries if their to become the top flyers. The only thing that will keep them alive is their partnershipany space between them means certain death.

Can Chaz deal with his homophobic views and deal with his need to keep a distance between him and his partner or will he finally give in and take what Ferron has to offer.


1 to 20 of 278 - Page: