Reviews - Sheri R.

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7) (Abridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 6/21/2009


"Loved this book and the narration in the abridged audio cd version.
I am now wanting to read the book again and see what is abridged about
the book. I loved the story and getting to know the 4 main characters
with Yuki still taking the place of Jill.
Has several different stories in one but worth the read and well
recommended."


Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 2/4/2014


"I like this mystery series about the White House kitchen help and the secret service interaction with the First Family. This on was about finding out who and why someone killed the Chief of staff and the First Ladies liason. Ollie the white house chief chef looks into things with the sensitivity director, Sargent who usually just gives everyone a bad time. They are also planning a birthday dinner for the Secretary of State and all this makes for an interesting mystery. I would recommend it to mystery lovers with food recipes in the back. I learned a lot about handling puff pastry."


The Best of San Francisco (Best of San Francisco & Northern California)
Review Date: 6/20/2007


"Helpful travel book for San Francisco and northern cities and counties. Will help plan your trip and cover what is best to see when traveling by car there."


Bridge to Terabithia (Summer Reading Edition)
Bridge to Terabithia (Summer Reading Edition)
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/29/2008


"I really liked this book and it is nothing like the movie trailers. There are no monsters or creatures in this story just a great story about friendship. Had read it in the past with 4th grade students but re-read it after the movie came out to see how they compared. Great Newberry winner story about friendship."


Buffalo West Wing (White House Chef, Bk 4)
Buffalo West Wing (White House Chef, Bk 4)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/15/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Loved this book and the new mystery author I discovered at Goodreads and the book I traded for here. The m.c. is a female white house chef who ushers in a new first family with young children. They decide to bring in their own family chef for their meals. I learned so much about the white house protocol for meals, state dinners and chefs. And the plot of this male chef wanting to take over the head chef job was interesting. The secret service presence and the interactions among the staff was interesting, too."


Dancing in the Dark (KEY News, Bk 8)
Dancing in the Dark (KEY News, Bk 8)
Author: Mary Jane Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 11/2/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was quite an interesting mystery with lots of twists and a real surprise at the end with the kidnapper being a whole different suspect. I thought I was reading a book by Carol Higgins Clark but liked this Clark better. She writes very well and kept me turning the pages as each chapter was short as in James Patterson books. Kept me reading and wondering what would happen next."


Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 1/29/2008


"This book was fun and a part of the Goldy Shulz collection. I read the first one Dying for Chocolate and this one. This has several other books in-between the Dying for Chocolate and Dark Tort but the characters are on-going with Goldy married again and things have happened to her ex and her family since the first book. This was suspenseful and a quick read with the recipes at the back instead of in each chapter like Dying for Chocolate. I think these are as fun as the Janet Evanovich series."


Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Dark Tort (Goldy Shulz, Bk 13)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 1/29/2008


"This book was fun and a part of the Goldy Shulz collection. I read the first one Dying for Chocolate and this one. This has several other books in-between the Dying for Chocolate and Dark Tort but the characters are on-going with Goldy married again and things have happened to her ex and her family since the first book. This was suspenseful and a quick read with the recipes at the back instead of in each chapter like Dying for Chocolate. I think these are as fun as the Janet Evanovich series."


Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Death by Darjeeling (Tea Shop, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 279
Review Date: 7/2/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was an interesting read and I never knew there were so many kinds of tea and they had so many ways to enjoy them. As an ice tea lover I hadn't known that tea came from so many different countries and could be sipped for calming you, for perking you up, for giving you energy as these are explained or woven into the story.
There is no romantic back story and the main character is introduced and given a back story but the other characters are given less detail and you know very little about the victim of the death by darjeeling tea. I would recommend it as a good mystery with lots of details before the one who did it is found out at the end. I never figured out the killer until I read it in the last chapter.
I would have liked more recipes for the muffins or pastries in the tea shop and the one recipe given is a tea recipe."


Espresso Shot (Coffeehouse, Bk 7)
Espresso Shot (Coffeehouse, Bk 7)
Author: Cleo Coyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 12/2/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I love reading books from this series about the Village Blend Coffeehouse and Claire Cosi. This one was about the Breanne Summour who is her ex-husband's fiance and the wedding preparations. Someone is trying to kill Breanne and it is up to Claire to solve it. I loved reading this one and each book has some small tidbits about coffee and its storage and care."


The Goddesses of Kitchen Avenue
The Goddesses of Kitchen Avenue
Author: Barbara Samuel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/13/2008


"After I got into this I really liked the way the author treated the subject of divorce and being widowed. All the women realize their dreams and each have a different story. Really nice book for women."


Hide & Seek
Hide & Seek
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 6/20/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great story about a songwriter and her loves and problems with being accused of a murderer of several husbands. How she comes to be a songwriter and singer while raising her daughter and the men she meets and loves. Very interesting how he weaves in a soccer star from England. Good story by Patterson."


How to Babysit a Grandpa
How to Babysit a Grandpa
Author: Jean Reagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/2/2012


"New for 2012, Jean has written this to show how the little boy really babysits the Grandpa instead of the other way around and what he lists you can do. Loved the illustrations and the story. Would consider buying it so Jean could sign it. Great for 4-8 year olds or read alouds."


Hugless Douglas
Hugless Douglas
Author: David Melling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2013


"Cute book about this hibernating bear who wakes and looks for someone to hug. I love the illustrations and bought traded it for my granddaughter. Bear is a loveable character and not scary at all. Love it for 2-6 year olds."


In a Class by Itself
In a Class by Itself
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 1/29/2008


"I loved this book, beautifully written love story. Was short and quickly read and really had a great story line."


Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus (Junie B. Jones, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/2/2014


"This is a fun early chapter book with Junie B. as the main character and her fear of kindergarten and going to school on a stupid smelly bus. And after finding a friend to go to school with on the bus her fears disappear. Junie is a nutty character with her own form of the English language. She is only 5 so her grammar is interesting. This is a beginning chapter book or emergent reader for kindergarten through 2nd grade children to be read to or read by themselves."


The Little Lady Agency (Little Lady Agency, Bk 1)
The Little Lady Agency (Little Lady Agency, Bk 1)
Author: Hester Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 4/30/2013


"This was a fun read and very British. I had to look up several words to see what they referred to. But the story is fun with starting with Melissa getting sacked at her job as a redundancy when another company takes over the estate agency. And how she tries and succeeds at her own agency and find romance and validation at Honey. But her family is terribly mean to her and she triumphs over all the slights in the end."


Murder Is Binding (Booktown, Bk 1)
Murder Is Binding (Booktown, Bk 1)
Author: Lorna Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 7/29/2012


"This is a new series for me and I enjoyed the suspense and the bookshop staff in a small New Hampshire town. A cookbook shop owner is killed next door and the owner of the mystery bookshop "Haven't Got a Clue" has to solve it for everyone. I liked all the subplots, too. Tricia the m.c. has to find clues mostly by herself and with the help of her sister Angelica. In a subplot she rescues an old woman from an assisted living center was great. There are Angelica's recipes in the back."


The Night Before First Grade
The Night Before First Grade
Author: Natasha Wing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/2/2012


"The text of this book goes along with the poem the Night before Christmas and take Penny and Jenny to first grade after preparations are made the night before. Is a challenge to keep with the poetry and read it. Rhyming names of the kids and their new friends. Some of the original phrases from the Christmas poem. Cute for 6 year olds."


Over the Edge (Alex Delaware, Bk 3)
Over the Edge (Alex Delaware, Bk 3)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 6/26/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Really intriguing book with the main character of Alex Delaware the child psychologist working with gifted or very gifted children and the problems of one years later. Brings in lots of family problems in rich family with gifted nephew and what family history and business has to do with him. Alex's police detective friend Milo Sturgis is very helpful to solving the case after young gifted boy is charged with murder and psychotic problems. Good read and very interesting. One of Jonathan Kellerman's first three books."


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: