Dana L. (daltonryan) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
All by Myself (Little Critter, A Golden Look-Look Book)
All by Myself (Little Critter, A Golden Look-Look Book)
Author: Mercer Mayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 3/9/2007


My son loves all these books. This is a duplicate from his collection.


American Icon
American Icon
Author: Pat Booth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/21/2008


This book was not quite what I expected. It took a long time to wade through all the background information on the major characters (and several of the minor ones) before we got to the present day, main plot of the book. Probably a third to half the book is background information. Once the meat of the story began, though, it was hard to put down. I read this book in less than two days, in spite of its nearly 400 page length. The ending will surprise you, unless you do as I did and peeked because I couldn't wait to see how things ended.


Bad Heiress Day
Bad Heiress Day
Author: Allie Pleiter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 5/29/2007


Loved this book! Makes you wonder just what you would do in her situation.


A Bed Of Sand (Desire)
A Bed Of Sand (Desire)
Author: Laura Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Good book.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 5/10/2007


I really enjoyed this book. Could not put it down! Hope to read the sequel soon.


Blonde Heat
Blonde Heat
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 4/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book is very racy. In fact, it was a little too racy for me. The language used in it was a little bit more raw than I would have liked.


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 268
Review Date: 3/5/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I finished reading this book several days ago and I still want to go back and pick it up to see what happens next. I would love to read a sequel to this book, because I would love to see what happens next in the lives of the characters. All of them seemed so real. I grew up in a small town very much like the one Winnalee and Button were growing up in. Maybe that is why I could identify with this story so much.


Castles in the Sand (Beach House, Bk 2)
Castles in the Sand (Beach House, Bk 2)
Author: Sally John
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/21/2008


I enjoyed this book much more than I did book one of the series, The Beach House. I was touched by the depiction of a family in crisis which was transformed by God's touch and the concern and prayers of God's people. I had this book on my Wish List but could not wait and finally bought it myself. I'm so glad I did!


Child of Mine (Rosewood, Texas, Bk 5) (Love Inspired, No 348) (Larger Print)
Review Date: 3/31/2007


A good, quick read. I really enjoyed it.


The Dead & the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
The Dead & the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 12/15/2013


After I read "Life as We Know It" I could not wait to read the next book in the series. I was not disappointed. Once I picked it up, I could not put it down and read it all in one sitting. The story is gritty and difficult to read sometimes but you are compelled to keep going just so you can see what happens. I will be thinking about the characters in this book long after the book is done, just as I did in Miranda's story, "Life as We Know It." Can't wait to read the next installment.


Disobedience
Disobedience
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 5/27/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Just could not get into this book. Finally gave up after four chapters. I guess this is just not my kind of read, but fans of her books will enjoy it.


Fifth Born
Fifth Born
Author: Zelda Lockhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I was surprised by the ending of this book. A difficult read at times, but well worth it in the end.


First Mates (Love Inspired, No 288)
First Mates (Love Inspired, No 288)
Author: Cecelia Dowdy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/2/2007


This book was good, but it seemed like it took too long to get to the culmination of the story. You knew how it would end all along (like all romances do) but this book seemed like it took a very long time getting there. Has a couple of underlying plots which could have been done without, too.


The Forever Year
The Forever Year
Author: Ronald Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/28/2007


A touching book. Could not put it down!


Hospital: Man, Woman, Birth, Death, Infinity, Plus Red Tape, Bad Behavior, Money, God and Diversity on Steroids
Review Date: 6/16/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Dry and boring. I guess I was expecting a little more case studies and more patient-doctor interaction but instead this is mostly about the people who run a hospital and how it is run. Not what I was expecting at all. If you are looking for a book about the ins and outs of hospital administration, this would be a good book. Not what I was looking for, though.


Just Do It: How One Couple Turned Off the TV and Turned On Their Sex Lives for 101 Days (No Excuses!)
Review Date: 2/3/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I can sum up this book in one word -- BORING!! I don't see what all the fuss is about. I read the book about a third of the way through and couldn't take any more. If I had read one more bad euphemism for penetration (like "entering the castle") I would have thought I was reading a bad romance novel instead of something that was supposed to be informational. Perhaps this would have been better had it been written by both of them and we could have gotten some insight from the wife's point of view as well.


The Last Word on First Names: The Definitive A-Z Guide to the Best and Worst in Baby Names by America's Leading Experts
Review Date: 3/5/2007


Was not much help to me, but it might be to you!


Life as We Knew It
Life as We Knew It
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 9/22/2013


This is a very compelling story. I sat down and read it all in one sitting. It drew me in and I couldn't quit reading it. I finished the book but can't quit wondering what happened to the characters in the story. It makes you more grateful for the little things in life we often take for granted, because they could be taken away from us just like that.


The Long-Awaited Child
The Long-Awaited Child
Author: Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. In fact, I passed it along to my sister who is suffering from infertility and contemplating adoption. But I asked her to get the tissues out before reading, because she'll need them!


Love's Pursuit (Against All Expectations, Bk 2)
Love's Pursuit (Against All Expectations, Bk 2)
Author: Siri L. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 1/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first of Siri Mitchell's books I have read. I wasn't sure what to expect, but Wow, was I impressed. Once I got into Susannah's story, I could not put it down. The story pulls you in and you don't want to leave. And there is a somewhat unexpected ending as well. The characters aren't cookie cutter stereotypical characters and that is part of what makes this story come alive.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: