C.M P. (selkie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 404 - Page:
501 Low-carb Recipes
501 Low-carb Recipes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/24/2016


Most of the recipes in this book are.for either salads or kebobs.There are no quick recipespesso, nor are they very low carb. I call low-carb one to two, five at most---but the three chapters list recipes for an average twelve, twenty-four, and forty-three carbs! For that many carbs one would expect more varied recipes..


83 Hours Till Dawn
83 Hours Till Dawn
Author: Gene Miller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/29/2016


This is a book about what is now a little known kidnapping case (despite the fact that two movies were made dealing with the circumstances) of Barbara Jane Mackle in December of 1968. Due to a serious case of the flu, she had opted to leave her dorm room to check into a hotel where her mother met her to care for her during her illness. In the early hours of the morning her mother opened the door to a man claiming to be a police officer, and with the help of an accomplice, Mrs. Mackle was chloroform edition, tied up, and her daughter taken away and buried alive in a box measuring eight feet long and two feet square until ransom would be made. Her ordeal was to last over eighty-three hours.

The book is meticulously written. It describes all details of the crime and insights into all characters involved, especially Barbara's bravery and her ability to control her emotions in able to survive such a harrowing experience. Her fortitude was amazing; upon her return examination by her family physician, he exclaimed she was "one hell of a woman!" for having survived it with so little emotional trauma.
Nor did she express any animosity toward the perpetrators.
Few of us could say we would have done the same.

I was disappointed (and surprised) that there was not more information available on the internet as to her later life, but as related in the last chapter, in helping to write the book it was the only time she got truly upset about the kidnapping and that when she was done with the book she wanted to put the incident behind her " once and for all, I want it to be over. For ever and ever".
It seems she got her wish, and there could not have been a more deserving person to have their wish granted, especially after all she had gone through.


Ace's Exambusters English Vocabulary Study Cards (Exambusters)
Review Date: 8/14/2014


Somehow I expected these to be more challenging. I do not consider myself a very learned person, but going through these I knew approximately eighty-five perfect of the meanings. The only thing I can think of is that it can be attributed to reading all those classics!


Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Author: Steven Callahan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/10/2008


After the wreck of his ship, Steven Callahan escaped drowning by the use of an inflatable raft. But the hardships he suffered by surviving may have been worse.
He was without clothes, sufficient food, water, or equipment, & had only the anguish of seeing ships passing several times, but overlooking him. Using his meager resources miraculously survived against incredible odds.


Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Adrift: Seventy-Six Days Lost at Sea
Author: Steven Callahan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/10/2008


After the wreck of his ship, Steven Callahan escaped drowning by the use of an inflatable raft. But the hardships he suffered by surviving may have been worse.
He was without clothes, sufficient food, water, or equipment, & had only the anguish of seeing ships passing several times, but overlooking him. Using his meager resources miraculously survived against incredible odds.


After
After
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/15/2014


A great book---A modern-day 1984.


After
After
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/16/2007


A great book---A modern-day 1984.


Afterlands
Afterlands
Author: Steven Heighton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/11/2007


Since I have more interest in polar exploration, & none at all in the Spanish-American war, which is what the majority of this book pertains to, I did not even finish reading this book. I found the title, cover, & marketing of this book very misleading, & the book itself extremely boring.


Airbrush How-to with Mickey Harris (Air Skool)
Airbrush How-to with Mickey Harris (Air Skool)
Author: Mickey Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/3/2015


Everything you need to know to get started airbrushing---from tees to vehicles, to signs/murals, this book offers not only step-by-step instuctions on cool designs (love the shark!), but also provides tips on setting up shop, whether it be a physical shop, or online.


Alfie
Alfie
Author: Bill Naughton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/3/2014


If you thought he came across as a jerk in the movie, he comes off even worse in the book. Not only a womanizer, he was also a thief, and altough insisting that he does not usually hit women, does it at least twice in the book.
Pretty disgusting book, actually.


Alfie
Alfie
Author: Bill Naughton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2014


If you thought he came across as a jerk in the movie, he comes off even worse in the book. Not only a womanizer, he was also a thief, and altough insisting that he does not usually hit women, does it at least twice in the book.
Pretty disgusting book, actually.


Alfie
Alfie
Author: Bill Naughton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2014


If you thought he came across as a jerk in the movie, he comes off even worse in the book. Not only a womanizer, he was also a thief, and altough insisting that he does not usually hit women, does it at least twice in the book.
Pretty disgusting book, actually.


The Alice Behind Wonderland
The Alice Behind Wonderland
Author: Simon Winchester
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/7/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Although the book implies that this is specifically about Alice Liddell, it is really only about the photograph of her as the beggar girl that Dodgson had taken of her, and of Dodgson's photography in general, in addition to a brief history of photography. Unfortunately,however, that is the only photo in the book---especially since it is constantly being compared to the other picture that had been taken of Alice that day in which she was in typical (and formal) VictoriaN attire. It is also later mentioned that Alice had posed for a similar picture years later for Julia Margaret Cameron, but again it is not shown.
I think that the author over rates her book in the suggestions for further reading section by stating that it: "adds minutely to the patina of knowledge".
Very little new information is contained in it at all.


Alice in Stitches
Alice in Stitches
Author: Kathleen Thorne-Thomsen
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/8/2017


I absolutely love Alice's Adventures Underground, and am so used to moviemakers consolidating the two stories that I took it for granted that this would have both. Sadly, it only had projects for the Wonderland book, and none at all for Through the Looking-glass. It is still a nice book, and I like how the story is condensed on the margin with [the instuctions/chart for] the corresponding project.
The book could have been a little better if all the projects had been pictured as finished items. A few are shown in the back, which are also the only pages with colour.


Alice In Wonderland
Alice In Wonderland
Author: Lewis Carroll, Susan Linney (Adapter), Rex Schneider (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/31/2017


With large print and delightful black-and-white illustrations by Rex Schneider, this edition is adapted/geared toward younger readers without losing any charm of the original story.
Part of the Treasury of Illustrated Classics issued by Modern Publishing.


Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland
Author: Lewis Carroll
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/29/2016


Once again, Nancy Wiley has beautifully illustrated another children's classic by photographing her posed unique, handmade dolls. This time Alice in Wonderland...do we dare hope she will do Through the Looking-glass next?


Alive: The Story of the Andes Survivors
Alive: The Story of the Andes Survivors
Author: Piers Paul Read
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/1/2007


When I first picked this book up, I thought that it would start slow & pick up only after long drawn-out accounts of the background of the people involved. I could not have been more wrong. Rather it moves along quickly, so much that I could hardly put it down, & the characters' lives are gradually revealed as they struggle to cope with their situation, the environment, & each other, as well as their own beliefs & consciences.
Although there are a few grisly details involving the cannibalistic habit, they were forced to adopt, the book as a whole is written in such a matter-of-fact attitudes to spare the reader disturbing mental images.
The book not only dealt with their survival & rescue, but also details the psychological & spiritual effects---something that was drastically understated, if not totally ignored in the movie.
It truly is a "heartbreaking & inspiring work" & one that is well worth reading.


Am I Still Visible: A Womans Triumph over Anorexia Nervosa.
Am I Still Visible: A Womans Triumph over Anorexia Nervosa.
Author: Sandra Harvey Heater
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/14/2016


This book is interesting in the fact that the author fell victim to anorexia nervosa as an adult rather than as a teenager, & before anorexia nervosa became a household word.
The author's writing is rather flat however, & leaves much to be desired. The last chapter of the book could prove helpful to the families of anorectics as it stresses that just getting the sufferer to eat will not going to solve the problem. So many "specialists" at the time were just concerned with getting the patients to eat & gain weight that they did not deal with the underlying issues that caused the disorder.


Am I Still Visible?: A Woman's Triumph Over Anorexia Nervosa
Am I Still Visible?: A Woman's Triumph Over Anorexia Nervosa
Author: Sandra Heater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/30/2008


This book is interesting in the fact that the author fell victim to anorexia nervosa as an adult rather than as a teenager, & before anorexia nervosa became a household word.
The author's writing is rather flat however, & leaves much to be desired. The last chapter of the book could prove helpful to the families of anorectics as it stresses that just getting the sufferer to eat will not going to solve the problem. So many "specialists" at the time were just concerned with getting the patients to eat & gain weight that they did not deal with the underlying issues that caused the disorder.


Anatomy of Anorexia
Anatomy of Anorexia
Author: Steven Levenkron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2007


This book deals too much with the cliches of anorexia to be of much interest. Of the case studies presented, only one male example was provided. In his case he had stopped eating due to a digestive disturbance he had been suffering from, & not any conscious desire to stop eating. The other case studies fell under the perfectionists, &/or incest victims.


1 to 20 of 404 - Page: