Ben R. (benrob22) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
Author: Eric Flint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This started a series of books by Flint that seem to have no end at the present time. This was an excellent start and a good read in of itself. A West Virginia town is transport thru time to 1632 amid warfare and social upheaval...of course causing even more social upheaval. Mr. Flint is definitely a pro-labor writer as his main "hero" is the union head and the ideas espoused support this bias. This is only an observation not a real criticism of the storyline. Good characters from both the upstream side of things as well as the normal time characters are used and used well. A good read recommended. Book is also available online.


All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
All the Pretty Horses (Border, Bk 1)
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 3/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Good book but it took a while to get used to McCarthy's non-use of dialogue punctuation--McCarthy does have a great literate style and has some good insights into the border culture between US and Mexico.


Battlefield Earth
Battlefield Earth
Author: L. Ron Hubbard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was an excellent read. I have seen reviews that praise it as the greatest scifi post-apocalypse, alien invasion genre and others that revile it for its shallowness and supposed link to Scientology. I don't know about Scientology or greatest book ever, but this was an excellent read. The book is well paced. The characters are not very well developed but it is an action book--I don't expect great character development. So if you want a fun read that will take awhile (1000 pages), enjoy this one.


The Beautiful Cigar Girl: Mary Rogers, Edgar Allan Poe, and the Invention of Murder
Review Date: 3/9/2008


Not bad but does bog down a bit in some of the connections between the case and Poe--good information on the life of Poe and his works.


Boomsday
Boomsday
Author: Christopher Buckley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 2/14/2009


While not his best, a good read that will make you chuckle at times. If you work for the government or ever worked on a political campaign, you will enjoy this even more.


Burning Bright (Shadowrun, Bk 15)
Burning Bright (Shadowrun, Bk 15)
Author: Tom Dowd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/9/2008


good beginning--I enjoy the whole Shadowrun concept and the author does a good job with the premise, unfortunately the ending seems like the author had a deadline and did not have enough time to properly end the book. Could have been better if the ending was better developed.


The Crossing (Vintage International)
The Crossing (Vintage International)
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 3/29/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed his first book in the Border Trilogy, All the Pretty Horses, somewhat. This one has more than enough sidetracks and suppositions about the nature of life that it distracts from the storyline somewhat. Also, if you do not understand or read Spanish, you may have difficulty as many of the exchanges between characters are in Spanish.


Double Helix Omnibus (Star Trek)
Review Date: 6/25/2011


Overall not bad but as with many of the Star Trek collections, the writing is uneven. The Golden and David stories were better than average and the rest were average or a little below average.


Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 6/26/2008


Standard Reacher novel--good airplane read


Guns of the South
Guns of the South
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/12/2008


A great read...good premise with great historical accuracy and setting. This is Turtledove at this best.


The Historian
The Historian
Author: Elizabeth Kostova
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 982
Review Date: 6/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Slow with not a very interesting vampire--the history is done well but the plot drags at times.


Jamestown
Jamestown
Author: Matthew Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/19/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book sounds better than it actually is. I finished it only because I am a little OCD about finishing books but it did test my resolve. The writing is ok if a little disjointed and the author seems enamored with his ability to write dialogue in a variety of dialects and ethnicities. I can't recommend this one.


Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
Author: Susanna Clarke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 6/26/2008


Long--Much hype about this book so I was dissappointed--writing was good but pacing was slow and book felt longer than it needed to be.


Madame Bovary's Ovaries: A Darwinian Look at Literature
Madame Bovary's Ovaries: A Darwinian Look at Literature
Author: David P. Barash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/17/2011


There are not many books where I felt relief when finishing...this is one of them. Very odd premise looking at literature for bioligical intent and support of biological theories. With the broad expanse of literature to choose from, it is easy to cherrypick stories, characters and plots to support or debunk any theory. The authors do this throughout the book often at times contradicting themselves...altruism, parenthood, evil stepparents, and relationships. Some references are from well known works while others are less well known so are a bit of a reach. I am not sure I woudl include Rebecca Wells as literature, just my thought. I find it odd also, the authors reference the movie The Godfather but do not seem to reference the book. Like I said, odd for a book on literature.
A positive note, both authors love their literature and that love does shine through at points. You may find yourself loooking to find a copy of Madame Bovary or some Faulkner after reading this.


Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher, Bk 12)
Nothing to Lose (Jack Reacher, Bk 12)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 4/13/2009


Pretty standard fare for a Jack Reacher book--decent storyline and Jack is still a cool character--the ending turns out to be a little far fetched but still a good read.


Paying the Piper (Drake, David.)
Paying the Piper (Drake, David.)
Author: David Drake
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/11/2008


I don't know why but I always expect the Hammer's Slammers books to be better then they are...I am constantly dissappointed by them. This one was ok but never seemed to get off the ground and make that big an impact on me as the reader.


The Postman (Bantam Spectra Book)
The Postman (Bantam Spectra Book)
Author: David Brin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/9/2008


Good book--not to be confused with the movie--book makes much more sense and has some interesting insight into a post disaster world.


Promise of the Witch King (Sellswords, Bk 2)
Promise of the Witch King (Sellswords, Bk 2)
Author: R. A. Salvatore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 6/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Fun read--light and quick but good story with a couple of roguish characters.


Resurrection (War of the Spider Queen, Book 6)
Resurrection (War of the Spider Queen, Book 6)
Author: Paul S. Kemp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/1/2008


Not a very satisfying ending to the series that started strong and went downhill from there. Elements of the plot were introduced late in the series--this series and this final book could have used a stronger editorial unifying presence.


Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, Bk 2)
Royal Assassin (Farseer Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Robin Hobb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 12/14/2008
Helpful Score: 4


I started this series with no great expectations. I now have high expectations for any other book by Robin Hobb. The first book of the series was great and this one continued with the storyline. I found the pacing odd but it worked with the story. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a well written fantasy story. I am well into the 3rd book and hope to read more by this author.


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: