Tammy B. (RezaliciousK) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
After Dark  (Harmony, Bk 1)
After Dark (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 9/29/2005


I liked this book a lot. Lydia is a strong character fighting to get her life back and fighting the attraction she feels for her new "boss", Emmett. He's everything she thought she didn't want, but - he's also everything she's ever desired. It was cool watching them dance around each other's issues and learn to trust each other and fall in love.

Here is the back cover stuff:

Llife is tough enough these days for Lydia Smith, licensed Para-archeologist. Seriously stressed-out from a nasty incident in an alien tomb, she is obliged to work part-time in Shrimpton's House of Ancient Horrors, a very low-budget museum. She has a plan to get her career back on track, but it isn't going well. Stuff keeps happening.

Take the dead body that she discovered in one of the sarcophagus exhibits. Who needed that? Finding out that her new client, Emmett London, is one of the most dangerous men in the city isn't helping matters either. And that's just today's list of setbacks. Here in the shadows of the Dead City of Old Cadence, things don't really heat up until After Dark.

If, like me, you sometimes relish your romantic suspense with a paranormal twist, welcome to Lydia's and Emmett's world . . . the rules are a little different here . . .


After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 9/29/2005


This is the sequel to After Dark. Another really good read, with strong characters and interesting plot-lines. It was nice to revisit Lydia and Emmett to see what they've been up to and how far they've allowed themselves to fall in love and trust each other.

Back cover:

Life is complicated for Lydia Smith. She's working at that tacky, third-rate museum, Shrimpton's House of Ancient Horrors, trying to salvage a career in para-archeology - and dating the most dangerous man in town. Just when she thinks she might be getting things under control, she stumbles over a dead body and discovers that her lover has a secret past that could get him killed. Just to top it off, there's trouble brewing underground in the eerie, glowing green passageways of the Dead City.

Of course, all of these problems pale in comparison to the most pressing issue: Lydia has been invited to the Restoration Ball and she hasn't got a thing to wear.


Big Guns Out of Uniform: B.A.D. to the Bone / Let's Talk About Sex / The Nekkid Truth
Review Date: 12/11/2005


This book was a pleasant escapist read.


Blood Red Dawn (Vampire Legacy, Bk 7)
Blood Red Dawn (Vampire Legacy, Bk 7)
Author: Karen E. Taylor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/11/2005


Hard to get into this book because it is apparently part of a series and you really needed to know what came before to appreciate this storyline.


By the Book (Harlequin Blaze, No 85)
By the Book (Harlequin Blaze, No 85)
Author: Nancy Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 12/11/2005


This was a hilarious book to read.


Call of the Moon
Call of the Moon
Author: Ronda Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/28/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is the sequel to the story "Midnight Serenade" by Ronda Thompson in the After Twilight anthology with Christeen Feehan and Amanda Ashley. It's a werewolf story. I totally enjoyed Midnight Serenade and was looking forward to the sequel.

However, this sequel just blew big chunks. I didn't even finish reading it because I didn't like the way the author tried to incorporate or make up her own "native american" mythology to backup her storyline.

None of the "native" stuff made any sense at all if you know anything about Native people or even if you did a little research. Other people might like it tho, but I sure didn't.


Carved in Stone (Ranch Rogues) (Western Lovers, No 6)
Carved in Stone (Ranch Rogues) (Western Lovers, No 6)
Author: Kathleen Eagle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/30/2005
Helpful Score: 1


I just remember loving the Native male lead character and his struggles with reconnecting with his culture.


Conan the Barbarian
Conan the Barbarian
Author: L. Sprague De Camp, Lin Carter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 12/10/2005


Not as good as the movie, which I loved campy as it was. *smile*


Couplehood
Couplehood
Author: Paul Reiser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 10/1/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This is a Hardcover edition. Love Paul Reiser. Just lots of funny observations.


Crimson City (Crimson City, Bk 1)
Crimson City (Crimson City, Bk 1)
Author: Liz Maverick
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 9/29/2005
Helpful Score: 3


This is the beginning of a vamp series written by different authors. The first installment was an OK read, but the vamp girl seemed to wimpy to me. But it did hold my attention enough that I wanted to see what happens in the next book.


Dark Seductions: Tales of Erotic Horror
Review Date: 9/28/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Well, I know it said "dark" but I didn't really expect it to be quite as dark as it got! Fine enough stories, just not really my cup of tea.

Back cover blurb:

Passion laced with pain . . .
temptation turned to terror . . .
desire so deadly . . .

Welcome to the savage side of love.

Explore the darkest depths of the human heart in fourteen sensual, sinister stories from today's most respected horror writers. Succumb to the allure of unspeakable love and lust. Discover a world whre impossible ecstasy and forbidden desires are forever embraced by the darkness. And experience erotic horror as you've never dared to dream it before. Enter a realm of twisted terror with tales sure to raise your body heat even as they send a chill down your spine . . . Dark seductions.


Darkest Heart: A Sonja Blue Novel
Darkest Heart: A Sonja Blue Novel
Author: Nancy A. Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/30/2005


After reading and enjoying the other Sonja books, this one just was bad. Bad writing, bad editing - it was like someone tried to copy the style and dialogue of the author and failed miserably. Oh, and it's a hardcover too.


Don't Stand Too Close to a Naked Man
Don't Stand Too Close to a Naked Man
Author: Tim Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 10/1/2005


Tim Allen - he's hilarious!


Eight Things Not to Say to Your Teen
Eight Things Not to Say to Your Teen
Author: William L. Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/10/2005


I skimmed this book and it is full of great advice.


Femme Fatale: Shaken and Stirred / The Get-Away Girl / End Game
Review Date: 12/11/2005
Helpful Score: 2


I loved the strong female characters in this book. Lots hot romance, but lots of chicks kickin' butt too.


Fire and Rain
Fire and Rain
Author: Kathleen Eagle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/30/2005


I just wish it wasn't always a white chick with a Native man. How come it's never 2 natives???


First Knight
First Knight
Author: Elizabeth Chadwick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 12/11/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Loved the movie, loved the book


God's Little Instruction Book for Mom (God's Little Instruction Books)
Review Date: 12/10/2005


Nice little read


Hard Eight (Stephanie Plum, Bk 8)
Hard Eight (Stephanie Plum, Bk 8)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1639
Review Date: 12/10/2005


Stephanie never fails to please!


Heart's Lair
Heart's Lair
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/11/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Prequel to Heart's Surrender, and apparently there is a third in this series called The Knowing Crystal - haven't found that one tho.


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: