Tonya C. (tonyac7478) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4) (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 12/26/2012


Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer is called away from a get-together with her friends Claire and Cindy to follow-up on a crime-scene investigation. Lindsay and her partner Warren Jacobi trail a stolen black Mercedes, seen at two other crime scenes. Their apprehension of the young suspects goes horribly wrong. Lindsay and her partner are shot; in self-defense Lindsay kills Sara Cabot and maims her younger brother. Lindsay goes over and over in her mind what happened. She is assured that she did nothing wrong but then the Cabot family hires a hotshot lawyer and sues Lindsay for $150 million in damages. Lindsay is forced to take time off from the job and goes to her sister's house in Half-Moon Bay to recover. Lindsay's lover Joe Morelli, who works for the Department of Homeland Security, drops in on her and her beloved dog Martha from time to time. Lindsay buys an old Pontiac Bonneville from the local garage to put back together on her time off. She is amused by her sister's family pet pig. Lindsay even makes friends with her neighbors, Carolee and her daughter Ali from down the street. Lindsay is quite aware of her trial coming up but cannot help herself by getting involved in a local string of unsolved murders. Fortunately for Lindsay, the jury in her trial decides in her favor. Before heading back to work for the SFPD, she heads back to Half-Moon Bay to finish what she started. Lots of twists and turns at the end as the multiple suspects are discovered. Lindsay Boxer is a strong, intelligent cop who is not afraid to show her vulnerable side to the ones she loves. A terrific addition to a great series!


The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/26/2012


Police Lieutenant Lindsay Boxer is caught up in two sets of serial murders in the 5th. book of the Women's Murder Club Mysteries. In the first, young women are murdered, dressed in expensive clothes, and placed in luxury cars. In the second, patients in a local hospital seem to be doing well, and then they die mysteriously from medicine which is wrongly administered. The second case results in a courtroom battle which produces some of the best action in the book. Although the pages turn quickly and the action is sustained, there are some flaws in this book. First of all, when the perpetrators are identified, there is very little explanation as to their motivation for committing the crimes in the way that they did. There are a few threads left hanging, especially at the end which comes abruptly and without explanation as to how the murderer was apprehended and how the hospital computer system was entered in order to commit the crime.


The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/4/2013


If you are a James Patterson fan, you will recognize the Patterson style, with its short chapters and terse dialog. The difference this time is that Lindsay Boxer deals with three different crimes, so the story hops from one to another. We have an insane killer of many persons, a set of weird kidnappers, and a bad-tempered killer who has what we might call apartment-rage instead of road-rage. We also have Boxer demoted from lieutenant to sergeant for what strikes me as a poor reason, and we have a brief continuation of her romance. These all work together to make a story. It is nowhere as good a Kiss the Girls, for example, but it should keep Patterson fans entertained until their plane lands in New York, or Los Angeles, or somewhere.


Always Dakota (Dakota, Bk 3)
Always Dakota (Dakota, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/28/2009


I quickly read all 3 books. The anticapation of the third killed me. This was my first experiance w/ this author and have now read most of her books. Always Dakota wrapped up everything you learned about everyone in this quaint little town of Buffalo Valley. A town I enjoyed so much i longed for a Buffalo Valley of my own! I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. Im sure they will leave you longing for the series to continue. They are a great escape into an imaginary town with people I wish I knew.


Are You the One for Me?
Are You the One for Me?
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/9/2012


I recently ended an engagement from a relationship that was initially very fulfilling but ended up being unfulfilling for both of us. I knew I needed to end the relationship, but the reasons for doing so weren't exactly clear to me. Reading this book I realized a multitude of mistakes that I made getting into the relationship in the first place and how I compounded those mistakes later.

The exercises in the book made things very clear and I now am aware of my bad habits in forming relationships and can also look for bad habits out of potential partners. It helped ease some of my heartache and I am now better prepared for finding that special someone and choosing her for the right reasons, not the wrong ones as was my trend in the past. I also have identified some things I need to work on myself that I wasn't fully aware of before.

I especially liked the compatibility rating exercise, made me realize how I was letting a couple areas of very strong compatibility overshadow many areas where we weren't compatible.


The Butterfly Garden: Surviving Childhood on the Run with One of Americas Most Wanted
Review Date: 2/23/2010


This book is an intimate chronicle of a man's journey through abuse as a victim and his metamorphosis into an amazing man who conquers his demons on by one with his partner Lisa by his side. It is a sad story with a satisfying ending. It is a quick and easy read, in that it is well written. Recommended!


A Cedar Cove Christmas
A Cedar Cove Christmas
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 12/16/2009


Another simple Christmas read, I always love sappy romances at the holidays. This one is a carry on from some previous stories she has written, but I had not read, didn't seem to matter though. Story was a little too cheesy following too closely the story of the birth of Jesus, but it was still a fun read.


Comanche Moon (Comanche, Bk 1)
Comanche Moon (Comanche, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 11/25/2009


This is one of the best books by far that Catherine Anderson has written! Be prepared for a rollercoaster of emotions as C.A. brings our past history back to life. She had created a story that will pull you in and keep you hanging on until the very last moment. I couldn't put this book down and when I was finished I was ready to read the book again! Wow!


Comes the Dark
Comes the Dark
Author: Michael Prescott
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I started this book when my husband saw it in a store and thought I'd like it. Wow, was he right! I started it, then read whenever I could. It was an easy read, by by no means a boring one. The plot was gripping, and I found myself saying "Just one more page," or "one more chapter," only to find that I couldn't put it down at all. It was a continual cliff hanger. I'll definitely look for more of Mr. Prescott's books!!


Dakota Born (Dakota, Bk 1)
Dakota Born (Dakota, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 335
Review Date: 10/28/2009


This book was heart warming, makes you wish you were born in such a town where everyone knows everyone.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 11/17/2009


I really enjoyed this book overall. Their were a few parts that were kind of slow,especially in the beginning. But once the story progressed, it got better.
The story starts off as John is a troubled kid, with a father he does not relate too. He is at the beach and falls in love with a girl named Savannah. They hit it off, and hang together for awhile, until he has to go back to Germany where he is stationed. He is about to get out of the military and then 911 happened. He wants to do his country a favor or the right thing and reenlist. After he does this, the couples problems start to happen.
The end is good, if you love someone, you do anything to make them happy. No matter what that is.


Dockside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 3)
Dockside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 11/17/2009


The third in the Lakeside Chronicles was the story of Greg and Nina, both past and present. They'd loved each other subconsciously for most of the lives but it wasn't until Greg returned to Willow Lake after his divorce that they acted on it consciously. This was a very good book, with a sweet love story and I enjoy Susan Wiggs's writing.


Eddie's Bastard
Eddie's Bastard
Author: William Kowalski
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/17/2009


I really didn't want this book to end. The storytelling is so amazing and addictive! The characters are rich, beautiful, and tragic. Stories like this one remind us how strange and wonderful life can be all at once. Read this!


Everything Parent's Guide to Children And Divorce: Reassuring Advice to Help Your Family Adjust (Everything: Parenting and Family)
Review Date: 11/20/2009


For parents, the hardest part of divorce is how it affects the kids. How do you explain to your child the reasons for choosing to divorce your spouse. How do you avoid creating feeling of guilt or blame, and let them know they are not responsible for the decision? The Everything Parent's Guide to Children and Divorce, written by expert author, psychologist, and child of divorce, Carl E. Pickhardt, Ph.D., provides you with the support you need to prepare your children for this adjustment.


Fireside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 5)
Fireside (Lakeshore Chronicles, Bk 5)
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 293
Review Date: 11/17/2009


This was a perfect comfort-read with a lot of depth and interesting characters. Like all Susan Wiggs books, Fireside is both well-written and thoroughly entertaining. For a Susan-Wiggs fan, this book delivers everything we've come to expect: fantastic writing, rich characters, and a captivating plot. For a new reader, this is wonderful introduction to a phenomenal author.


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2508
Review Date: 2/4/2010


The magic to Mitch Albom's approach is that he touches upon something that we all think about - What happens after we die? No one has definitively been able to answer the question and what Albom has done is to take the comforting reply to that question (we go to heaven), and add A Christmas Carol story-twist to it. Heaven isn't necessarily filled with rolling hills and bon-bons. It's about making sense out of your life and bringing it to its natural closure. And in many ways, Albom's way of dealing with death is quite comforting for me. I've always had a fear about dying. At one time in my life, it was about the act of dying. Would I be in a lot of pain? Would I be by myself? Would I die of natural causes? Would something horrible happen to me? Then, it proceeded to this helpless feeling of never being able to be again. I couldn't imagine not being. Not touching. Feeling. Hugging. Kissing. Smelling. Death - before, during, and after - is scary. Albom's approach isn't totally unique but it is therapeutic. He has a way of making sense of it all.


Hard Truth (Anna Pigeon, Bk 13) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/19/2009


The story opens with Heath Jarrod (a paraplegic forty-one year old who has not come to terms with her disability that left her dependent on a wheelchair for her mobility) setting up camp with her aunt Gwen and dog Wiley.

Anna Pigeon is a Ranger in Rocky Mountain Park, where three middle-school-aged girls have gone missing. In the opening chapter, two of them walk out of the backcountry barefoot, terrorized and stripped to their underwear.

Clearly, we're looking at here is a sexual psychopath.

But the girl's parents are members of a religious sect and the girls are quickly taken back to the commune before they reveal anything but a few details.

The story is well written even it is based about graphic child abuse and cruelty by the kidnapper. Anna Pigeon has developed into a caring Ranger trying her hardest even risking her own life to rescue these children.


Home Before Dark
Home Before Dark
Author: Susan Wiggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/19/2010


Home Before Dark is a romantic story about the difficult choices we face in life and about family reconciliation. Filled with love, joy, and heartache, this is a book that simply cannot be put down.

When faced with impending blindness, Jessie Ryder returns home to her family to get to know the daughter she gave up to her sister. 16 years earlier her sister left college early to adopt Jessie's child, marry and raise a family, giving Jessie the opportunity to fulfill her dream of becoming a photojournalist and traveling all over the world. Each, however, longs for the life of the other-Jessie envious of the secure family life her sister has had while Luz pines for the seemingly exotic and exciting life Jessie has led. Secrets abound, and a tragic accident makes this book a real heartwarming page-turner.


If I Am Missing or Dead: A Sister's Story of Love, Murder, and Liberation
Review Date: 11/17/2009


This book should have been titled "The Janine Latus Story" By : Janine Latus
I would strongly encourage you to read the one and two star reviews before wasting your time on this one. The reviews are accurate. The title is mis-leading, Janine Latus cares only about herself and wants to tell you all about her pitiful life, not Amy's. Amy's murder was used as a springboard for Janine to author this story about herself. If you want to read 300 pages of whining from a self centered, extremely selfish woman, look no further.
My advice? Don't waste your time.


In the Dark of the Night
In the Dark of the Night
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/15/2009


This was a good book.. kept me turning the pages, however, it had much more potential.... overall a good book by Saul, but not his best one.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: