Reviews - Leah S. (loveleah)

1 to 12 of 12
Before You Know Kindness
Before You Know Kindness
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 8/31/2009


"Even though it is slow at parts, I loved this book and couldn't put it down. Bohjalian is such an amazing writer that I found myself rereading phrases just to appreciate their complexity or humor."


Belong to Me
Belong to Me
Author: Marisa De Los Santos
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 10/16/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I was enjoying this book and couldn't put it down until about 2/3 of the way through, when the plot took an unexpected and unconvincing twist. However, I fell so much in love with the characters that I am glad I read it.

De Los Santos is an excellent writer, but she has an annoying habit of using about 25 words to describe something before you actually know what in the world she is describing (page 278, for example.) This results in almost-run-on sentences that I had to read multiple times to get.

I would gladly read another book about Cornelia and Teo- but I won't have too high of expectations."


Focus: Elevating the Essentials to Radically Improve Student Learning
Review Date: 2/10/2012


"My principal bought this book for us to read and it changed the way I think about teaching. The projects, worksheets, and hands-on activities that I was taught to use in college can be detrimental to a student's learning. Instead, focusing on select, important standards and teaching students to read and write critically really help improve student learning at any level."


Heaven Is For Real: The Book Isn't: An Astounding Refutation Of A Story About A Trip To Heaven And Back
Review Date: 11/12/2011
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book reminded me of a freshman thesis paper- terribly written, grammatical errors, and not an ounce of evidence to support its claim.

The author makes outlandish assumptions, like the boy's "vision" was of the occult. He also says that there is no Bible verse to support that time is different on Earth than it is in Heaven, but he is wrong.

My respect for the author and the book diminished immediately when I saw that he used the wrong kind of there. Most college freshman know that, at least."


The Lady Matador's Hotel: A Novel
The Lady Matador's Hotel: A Novel
Author: Cristina Garcia
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/18/2010


"If I had more cultural context about the world Garcia describes, I think I would have enjoyed this book even more. Overall, though, it was really well-written and creative."


Love Walked In
Love Walked In
Author: Marisa de los Santos
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 954
Review Date: 10/29/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I almost put it down after the first 50 pages. De Los Santos uses a voice that can be on the verge of annoying. But I powered through and am so glad that I did! The plot (and voice) panned out to be exciting, charming, and intriguing."


A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition
A Moveable Feast: The Restored Edition
Author: Ernest Hemingway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/31/2012


"I like Hemingway and I love Paris, so this book was interesting to me. Towards the end, some of the accounts seemed repetitive, but I guess that's understandable considering Hemingway never really prepared it to be published.

The book is usually passed off as a memoir, but towards the end, he writes about the process of writing in second-person so stories sound believable and make the reader think they really happened- which seems like his way of explaining that some of the "memories" are contrived."


Remember (Redemption, Bk 2)
Remember (Redemption, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury, Gary Smalley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 164
Review Date: 2/8/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I am really enjoying the storyline in these books. They are a little cheesy and don't contain the best writing, but I can sacrifice those for a book that makes me think about God and what's important."


Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs:  A Low Culture Manifesto
Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs: A Low Culture Manifesto
Author: Chuck Klosterman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 231
Review Date: 9/1/2009


"I am not typically a quitter...I usually make it through a book no matter what. But this one was an exception. It was off to a great start, but crashed and burned so quickly."


Through Painted Deserts: Light, God, and Beauty on the Open Road
Through Painted Deserts: Light, God, and Beauty on the Open Road
Author: Donald Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/8/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This might be my favorite Donald Miller book. I loved his descriptions of the beautiful places he visited. I loved his honesty about his struggle with faith and his explanation of how God revealed Himself to Don through friendship and Creation. This is a great read that will make you view your life differently."


A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Author: Betty Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 6/30/2010


"I had been wanting to read this book for year and have finally gotten around to it this summer. I enjoyed the storyline and learning about Brooklyn in a different era, but I didn't think the writing was that great in general. There were lots of repetitive words and phrase- I just didn't like her style.

This is definitely worth the read."


Vanishing Acts
Vanishing Acts
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1688
Review Date: 5/9/2009


"I'm starting to think the Piccoult writes with a specific formula that culimnates in a court trial. This book wasn't my favorite."


1 to 12 of 12