Stacie F. (staceid) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 66 - Page:
Girls' Night In (Red Dress Ink)
Review Date: 8/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This collection of short stories is a fun read. With the wide variety of author styles, you're bound to find at least a few that you just adore.


Goldilocks and the Three Bears
Goldilocks and the Three Bears
Author: Jane Jerrard
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 3


We all know the story by now... why not let our kids enjoy the tale as much as we did? The pictures are sure to keep the little ones interested as they follow Goldilocks through the adventure.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2858
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I don't think this book lived up to all the hype that it received. As a plus-sized girl myself, the main character just annoyed me with how much she complained about her size and blamed her problems on it.


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 791
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book was something of a break from the usual JW book. While the main character is her typical plus-sized heroine, the book wasn't all about getting a guy or keeping one.

It was a little unbelievable in parts (Why, for example, would a bored suburban housewife decide that it was her job to solve a murder mystery?) but overall I really liked this one. Even the "perfect" neighborhood moms grabbed my interest and kept my attention through-out.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 3/22/2010
Helpful Score: 1


While I'm normally not a fan of books that are composed entirely of letters back and forth, I absolutely loved this one.

The characters quickly became friends (both to me and to one another) and their words transported me back to a time where good friends and laughs were hard to come by.

The novel is a fantastic work of fiction, but it takes place on a real island during the aftermath a very real war... it portrays a view of the war not often seen in the history books.


Here I Go Again
Here I Go Again
Author: Jen Lancaster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/26/2013


Lancaster's second attempt at fiction is at least twice as good as her first attempt.

While quintessential mean girl Lissy Ryder (all grown up) was a bit over the top in the beginning, her journey to become a new and improved version of herself was a comedy of errors in time travel that was generally fun to read.


The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse
The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse
Author: Robert Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 3/30/2013


This book is as funny as.

With a city full of talking toys and nursery rhyme characters being murdered left and right, how can you go wrong? Throw in more plot twists than a person can easily count and you've got the makings of a great book that's only hard to follow in a few places.


Holly (Taggert, Bk 6)
Holly (Taggert, Bk 6)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't go into this book expecting to like a romance, but that's exactly what I got. The characters actually seemed real to me which made the ending that much more sweet.


The Hostile Hospital (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk  8)
Review Date: 9/3/2006
Helpful Score: 7


This was a disappointing installment, in my opinion. I guess because the children were more "on their own" than in previous books, it just seemed more far fetched than the others and left me with a bad taste in my mouth.


Jemima J
Jemima J
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1079
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 13


I picked up this book because most of the reviews said it was great. I continued reading it because several of the reviews said it would pick up after 150 pages or so.

It did indeed pick up, but the writing style continued to grate on my nerves until the very last page. The way the story jumps continually from first to third person made it read more like a play manuscript than a novel.

I also had issues with the description of the main character both when she was "fat" and "skinny". Being told at one point that a size 10 "is no longer skinny" sealed the deal on my dislike.


Review Date: 6/11/2012


As a long time follower of Jen's blog, I was a little disappointed (at first) to see several stories that I'd already read... but that didn't stop me from reading them again and laughing out loud (again) at them. Plus the recycled ones were very heavily outnumbered by brand new stories that earned me funny looks whenever I was reading in public because I couldn't stop laughing!


Julia's Chocolates
Julia's Chocolates
Author: Cathy Lamb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 5/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is easily one of the best books I've read since joining PBS. The characters are so real that your heart breaks (and soars) with them every step of the way.

The plot does cover some pretty heavy material (abuse and serious illness) and it does so in such a straight-forward manner that you can almost forget you are reading a work of fiction.


Kiss Hello, Kiss Good-Bye (Marc Brown's Arthur Mini-Play Books)
Kiss Hello, Kiss Good-Bye (Marc Brown's Arthur Mini-Play Books)
Author: Marc Brown
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


The little paper puppets make this book a little hard to get through as the kids tend to play more than pay attention. It's a cute Arthur story though, and worth the hassle if your child is a fan.


Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 21)
Kiss the Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 21)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/2/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This may be the book that finally convinced me to officially give up on the Anita Blake books.

It's repetetive in an almost obnoxious sort of way and the "final fight" was wrapped up neatly in less than one page of the 359 page novel.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5708
Review Date: 8/30/2006
Helpful Score: 3


A powerful story of friendship, betrayal and the ultimate love of family.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 914
Review Date: 1/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is, by far, my favorite of Weiner's books so far. The group of friends was so real to me that I felt like I was right there with them, going through the same growing pains.


Live a Little
Live a Little
Author: Kim Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I could not finish this book. I pretty much hated Raquel (the main character) and found her family to be completely unrealistic and annoying.


The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
The Magicians (Magician, Bk 1)
Author: Lev Grossman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 9/24/2015
Helpful Score: 1


So imagine if you will that you are a teenager who grew up LOVING the Narnia books and wanting nothing more than to visit Narnia yourself some day... and then *poof* you discover that Hogwarts is real (only called Brakebills and for older teens rather than 11 year olds)... except the headmaster isn't fun or whimsical at all and Magic is HARD.

That pretty much sums up the part one of this book... and then the kids find Narnia (Fillory) and it's not at all what they all secretly dreamed it would be.

Part one of the book dragged like mad for me, but I found it interesting enough to keep reading. The latter parts were more fun and quicker to read, but couldn't really redeem the boring beginning.


The Man Who Ate the 747
The Man Who Ate the 747
Author: Ben Sherwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/11/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is a cute story with a very entertaining premise. It's great for those days when you really want to just get lost in a book, no deep thinking involved.


Mathemagics (Chicks in Chainmail)
Mathemagics (Chicks in Chainmail)
Author: Margaret Ball
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This one was a little tough for me to get into, but the quirky chapter numbers amused me so I kept on reading. After the first few chapters, I found myself not wanting to put the silly thing down. From paper-thin damsels in distress to misplaced Star Trek characters, there's a new adventure on every page in a book that keeps you guessing almost to the very end.


21 to 40 of 66 - Page: